Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars56
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2011
Must read romantic persuasion studies to treacherous seduction, Greene's historical tale here is a work of art. This is a sardonic, yet often profound view of the use of persuasion, influence and manipulation for personal benefit. This book is a synthesis of philosophy and psychology, and is paradigm breaking. Freud must have had a similar unnerving effect on his contemporaries when he discussed premises for behavior that were previously not part of social discourse. The author expands his global metaphor of "life as war" from his book the 48 Laws of Power into love and spirituality. This piece may be the most effective tool in today's culture, but it certainly is an interesting study. Numerous conflict and struggle analysis, and subliminal persuasion techniques to exploit situations.

The first half of the book identifies a number of infamous seductive characters over the centuries, and identifies the unique characteristics of each personality. The second half describes the seduction techniques they used, and the likely personality types they would most effectually be used against.

For the modern Casanova, Greene's seduction stories are a bit dated and chivalrous to translate into a modern day pick up artist, but highlights how the great seducer's of the past used their persuasion and charms to their advantage.

As far as the modern era, a comparable effective book for sexual influence, toying and subconscious steering of ones emotions to lure in women, I suggest The Professional Bachelor Dating Guide - How to Exploit Her Inner Psycho. Besides being a funny analytical satire, it encompasses very effective persuasion tactics and NLP to seduce the subconscious of each of a dozen personality types, who, let's be realistic, want to be seduced, or they wouldn't allow it to happen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2008
This nothing like the 'Mystery method' and the like.

It is more like a tabulation of historical facts.
If you've liked the '48 rules of power' then you may like this one too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I really got bored of this very quickly, and didn't get more than half way.
Its repetitive and uninteresting. Dont bother.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
I made the mistake of not actually researching what this book was. I had heard of Robert Greene and wrongly made the assumption that this book was regarding the art of seducing people and getting them to like you. It turned out I was very wrong. This is a book about manipulation and the objectification of women. I am a man and I found this book disgusting and I only bothered too read the first and second page. If you are insecure, have the need to feel powerful and are incapable of being a genuine nice person then this book is for you. Disgusting book by a disturbed author.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
pros: lots of material and different topics covered, many many examples

cons: too much theory and storytelling, it becomes tedius to go through 400+ pages when more than 50% is anecdotal material
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2007
Good one. It provide you with a lot of good facts, so you can make good opinions about what's going on.

But for dating "starters" I recommend any easier book. That one can make you bored very soon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
Yes, this guy gets things and have good insights, but there something more than that in this book. It's so direct in narration, so "politically incorrect" - he tells things as they are, with no euphemisms, with no softeners. Pure, direct logic. Also, there is no psychology in there - not in sense that "research proves that 87.4% of such people prefer such behaviors" etc, no hard-proof footnotes. This is no science, this is no research. This is the elementary common sense logic, with all its drawbacks (primarily in terms of generalizations), but still it's THAT very common sense logic that drives the most successful individuals, those we call "naturals". And there's no sweet-talk about human nature. We all feel naked before author's eye. It's said as it is. Sometimes I wonder why are books like this on the free market.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Very good and many angles explored
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Good book at great pricr
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 December 2010
This book could change your life. I bought it as a business book, but soon relaised it could also be used to help you get any lady you want. Be careful! It touches the boundaries on occasion but I think thats what makes it so readable. Worth reading as it will teach you many things in life and how to get what you want.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)