Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like the 'drugs and cops' theme...
If you like the 'drugs and cops' theme... then you should enjoy this film. While it isn't highly original, it is still engaging. The roles a played well by a good combination of actors. However, I'm a fan of both Eva Mendes and Joaquin Phoenix, maybe i'm somewhat biased.

In reality I'd probably give 3 and a half stars, but thats not possible. Not outstanding...
Published on 18 Sept. 2008 by taylzo

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Saturday night at the movies...
This is a 'traditional' kind of New York police movie which tries hard to capture the flavour and tension of films like 'Heat' and 'Taxi Driver'. It doesn't quite make the Scorcese / Pacino / De Niro grade, despite a couple of excellent acting turns from Wahlberg, Phoenix and Duval. But it's decent entertainment; intelligent and with just enough action to hustle the plot...
Published on 25 Sept. 2011 by Rowena Hoseason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Saturday night at the movies..., 25 Sept. 2011
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is a 'traditional' kind of New York police movie which tries hard to capture the flavour and tension of films like 'Heat' and 'Taxi Driver'. It doesn't quite make the Scorcese / Pacino / De Niro grade, despite a couple of excellent acting turns from Wahlberg, Phoenix and Duval. But it's decent entertainment; intelligent and with just enough action to hustle the plot along. Once scene in particular -- a hit which takes place as the heroes drive through soaking rain on busy city streets -- is especially atmospheric. It managed to add a layer of confusion, desperation and reality to what might otherwise have been a typical Hollywood car chase. Nice trick!
Where 'We Own The Night' lost points for me was in its portrayal of a full-on Russian mafia vendetta against the NYPD and officers' families, which seemed incredible. We also found it very hard to hear a lot of the dialogue -- no doubt it was all very heartfelt and beautifully acted, but we often struggled to understand what was being said over the soundtrack.
So not a classic, but worth viewing.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like the 'drugs and cops' theme..., 18 Sept. 2008
By 
taylzo "dvd addict / bookworm" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you like the 'drugs and cops' theme... then you should enjoy this film. While it isn't highly original, it is still engaging. The roles a played well by a good combination of actors. However, I'm a fan of both Eva Mendes and Joaquin Phoenix, maybe i'm somewhat biased.

In reality I'd probably give 3 and a half stars, but thats not possible. Not outstanding but definitely worth a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close But No Cigar, 10 Aug. 2008
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This film should have been a corker; good main leads, lots of good supporting actors and an interesting plot. Yet it came over as slow and pedestrian with the occasional burst of action (the bit in the stash house must have been done by a different team). At times the plot creeked as the Bad Guys Get Inside Knowledge device appeared, or we had the Men Beating Chests scenes, and we even had a You Killed My Pa scene. The Russian Mafia seemed oddly subdued, why weren't the girlfriend and her family clipped? It remains an undemanding action film, better (just) than watching re-runs of Friends on E4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than it deserves to be, 18 April 2008
This blatant propaganda film for the New York Police Department, complete with the obligatory overladen police funeral scene, should have been a duck. Apparently it was panned by many critics and I can see why they might not have liked it.

Yet despite the formulaic all-American hero theme, there is an impressive understated central performance from Phoenix and the action scenes create genuine tension due to the clever use of sound effects.

Duval may well have been coasting in this movie, but nevertheless he's always watchable (apparently Christopher Walken was supposed to play his role). The rest of the cast looked convincing enough and Wahlberg performed the undemanding role of the favourite son with little difficulty.

Yes we've seen it all before, but for sheer brainless entertainment it passes a way of couple of hours very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a night, 3 May 2008
This is an enjoyable film, not a ground breaker but entertaining, well acted and a very good car chase sequence. Recommended as a nights rental, feet up n a glass of wine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 17 Feb. 2009
By 
Richard Messitt "Udesky" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just watched this for the first time, only had a passing interest before. But I was very surprised at how good this film was.

Both the main leads played there roles very well, I was especially impressed by Whalberg who usually grates me.

I would recommend this film to anyone who wants a gritty dark drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars oh brother, 10 July 2008
By 
2cleverbyhalf (somewhere in the future) - See all my reviews
It's not a bad film, it's well made and acted, but it's slow, predictable and the first half is based on the ludicrous idea that no one in a neighbourhood would know that the local big shot club manager was the son of the police chief....
The second half gets better, there's a brilliant, brilliant car chase. Maybe for the first time in cinematic history you get an impression of what it would be really like if you were driving. But the ending is dull and the plodding 'blood is thicker than water' morality is, in the end, really, really boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal BD specs, 21 Jan. 2011
By 
D. Vitale (Rome) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We Own the Night [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Astounding Blu-ray from Universal, folks. Here are the specs:

Region A, B, C.
Video codec: VC1, 1080p; video (file size): 25, 5 GB.
Aspect ratio: OAR 1.84:1
Audio: DTS-HD 5.1 (Eng), DTS 5.1 (Ger, Spa).
Languages: English, German, Spanish.
Subs: English (HoH), German, Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the alternatives that year, 8 Mar. 2009
We Own The Night (WOTN) is stylishly shot in fact it would remind of the kind of cinematography that Ridley Scott would/could have used, which sadly was lacking in Ridleys American Gangster. Also in America gangster we see some cliche characters, the burnt out cop as seen in so many US cop movies. In WOTN the cliche is ripped up, when a cop gets shot he feels it and loses his nerve, unlike other moviews where he would bounce back after a simple bandage and take out all the bad guys.

WOTN is also better than the over-rated Departed. Scorsese should have won the Oscar for Raging Bull, King of Comedy or Taxi Driver, but giving it for this rip-off movie (see the original infernal affairs instead) is a clear token gesture. The performance from WOTN are in my mind better than Departed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so film with a great cast, 29 Aug. 2008
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Joaquim Phoenix's brooding looks tend to light up the screen, so I rented this thinking it would be a decent thriller, but I was sorely disappointed. It's the story of Bobby Green, a nightclub manager with dodgy Russian Mafia backing, the trouble is, Bobby's the son of the local police chief and his brother's fast rising up the ranks too. Although it envokes the spirit of 1980s NYC, it tends to be rather unbelievable because of a plot device used towards the end of the film.

4 stars for acting, sadly the screenplay lets this film down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We Own the Night [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
We Own the Night [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by James Gray (Blu-ray - 2010)
£6.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews