Customer Reviews


561 Reviews
5 star:
 (456)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics
It's a real pleasure to be able to own the BTTF trilogy on DVD, not just because the films are so good, but also because the extras are tremendous.
By now, no one needs to be told the plot, but Zemeckis tells a brilliant tale throughout as our hero Marty zips forward and back in time righting wrongs and making sure all goes smoothly for his parents and his children...
Published on 25 Dec 2002 by N. D. Maidment

versus
47 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate box set.. until they release another to cash in
Once again UK viewers get a rough deal. There is nothing wrong with this box set - the films are all classic family adventures and this box set will include a wealth of extras - all that was included on the original trilogy box set and a whole disc extra. The problem is that is has arrived so late. For years this has been on sale in America yet all we got was a 3 disc...
Published on 17 Oct 2005 by The Fault


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics, 25 Dec 2002
It's a real pleasure to be able to own the BTTF trilogy on DVD, not just because the films are so good, but also because the extras are tremendous.
By now, no one needs to be told the plot, but Zemeckis tells a brilliant tale throughout as our hero Marty zips forward and back in time righting wrongs and making sure all goes smoothly for his parents and his children whilst trying to avoid destroying the Universe by creating a time and space paradox.
It sounds confusing, but Zemeckis makes time travel fun and it's not worth trying to think too much about it and spoil the enjoyment.
The acting is tremendous throughout, with Christopher Lloyd the real star as the crazed Emmett Brown but there's not a dodgy performance to be found. My personal fave is BTTFII, where Marty has to retread his own steps in 1955, visiting the same locations where he is already in place and trying to avoid running into himself - terrific stuff.
The brilliant extras (over five hours worth) consist of cut scenes and wonderful making of documentaries from the time the film was made and also more recently filmed look-backs from the cast and crew. These are worth investing in the package for alone and the extras put shame on other releases that really don't go anywhere near enough to town on them.
These films are what movie-making should be all about; a great tale, excellently played out with top performers and a whole load of fun to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to The Future All Over Again, 10 Nov 2005
By 
I can remember when Back To The Future (1985) first came out. It seems like an eternity ago but really its just 20 years ago. Then after what seemed an age came the other two films which finished the trilogy - Part 2 (1989) and Part 3 (1990). The films were well made, fast paced and great family entertainment. To appreciate these films you have to get into the spirit of them and play along with everything in the plot that seems so perfectly dovetailed together. These DVDs have been produced to a high standard that allows you to view the films in all their glory. If you have seen the many substandard television pan and scan versions over the years, you will love watching these widescreen presentations, with their clarity and vivid colours. You will find the three films on the first three DVDs - along with the extra features for each film on their DVD - and the bonus DVD features more Back To The Future stuff, including the Huey Lewis and The News 'The Power of Love' music video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly entertaining!, 1 Mar 2006
Sometimes a film comes along that weaves magic at the box office, but even rarer is a set of films that do it. The Back To The Future Trilogy is one of these. There are so many great moments - I think instantly of 'Mum, Mum... you're so... thin!', meathead bully boy Biff's encounter with the dung truck and 'I am Darth Vader! From the Planet Vulcan!'. MJ Fox's own rendition of Johnny B Goode is also a highlight - who'd have thought he could play like that?
BTTF on its own is absolutely essential in anyone's DVD collection. The script sparkles and the plot is admirably handled and tries hard to maintain some kind of logic. I am sure the science is questionable but who cares? The films are not about the science, they are about cause and effect, action and consequence. Not to mention a great look back at the seemingly innocent American 50's from an 80's perspective. This element actually gets more interesting now that we can look back at the 80's with the same fond irreverence as they did back at the 50's. It is cute to see the (what we could call huge) 'portable recording studio' with Doc Brown's astute observation that 'of course your President has to be an actor, he has to look good on television!' Not to mention the choice of a Delorean as a Time Machine (this was a quirly choice even in 1985). Michael J Fox displays impeccable comic timing and brings real depth to his character of Marty and his relationship with mad genius Doc Brown is touching. Though the whole production is slick, well-crafted and the cast has an amazing chemistry - this really is Michael J Fox's finest hour. I am not sure this film could have worked with anyone else in the lead. He truly makes it his own - and adds a heartfelt realism and quirkiness to his character that make him absolutely believable.
All the films have merits but in my opinion get progressively weaker as they rely more and more on the revisited gagline. Though this in itself is done well and give the set of films a consistency that they need, by the time we get to BTTF3 the appeal is starting to wane so they wrapped up the series at the right time. BTTF2 & 3 are entertaining and make the series complete - but for me do not withstand as many repeat viewings. But even so are still head and shoulders above most of their peers in the family movie market.
The extras on the DVDs are great, though perhaps there could have been more in-depth and more modern, retrospective interviews with the cast. But to be honest, this is a set of DVD's you don't buy for the extras, you buy it for the films because these are the kind you can watch over and over. If you loved them in 1985, show them to your kids, they'll love them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Transfers I've Ever Seen To Blu Ray...And With Properly Great Extras Too..., 30 Dec 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
*** A REVIEW OF THE 2010 BLU RAY REISSUE OF THE "BACK TO THE FUTURE" TRILOGY ***

There's little prepares you for the quality of the print on this Blu Ray reissue - it's absolutely gobsmacking. I've seen great restorations before ("Goldfinger", "North By Northwest", "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang", "The African Queen", "The Italian Job". "To Kill A Mockingbird" - see reviews for them all) - but this is exemplary.

The full run of extras is dealt with in detail in Amazon's thorough description above, but it's worth highlighting that among the superb new extras is Michael J Fox not afraid to show his present-day medical condition in the 6-part making-of that is spread across the whole set. There are contributions from almost all of the cast, Director Robert Zemeckis, Producer Steven Spielberg etc - and great on-set footage too. It's also been pitched at a reasonable price. In short, this is properly good value for money for 3 hugely entertaining films that don't seem to have dated at all.

I can only add to the chorus of approval for this - a fantastic presentation.

Onwards and upwards to the "Indiana Jones" Trilogy and the remaining Bond films (which were all Lowry Digital Restorations and look as awesome as this)...

VIDEO: 1080p High-Definition 1.85:1
AUDIO: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, German DTS Surround 5.1, Turkish 5.1 and Japanese 2.0 Master Mono
SUBTITLES: English SDH, German, Japanese, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Portuguese, Swedish and Turkish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RE-E-WIND, a classic masterpiece on a futuristic DVD!, 8 Aug 2002
By A Customer
At last Back to the Future is available on DVD! Hurrah! And not only that, but its in an amazing 3 disc box set! All three films are superb. Robert Zemeckis and his returning cast out do themselves each time. All three films, especially my personal favourite, Part Two, are not only ingenious but severely entertaining! Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd are brilliant together and tackle a very hard movie with ease and grace, making it seem effortless and more realistic than possible. The storylines are something from the imagination of a genius, and this DVD Box Set is a must for any Zemeckis or Sci-Fi fan. I myself am not that big a Sci-Fi fan, but these films have something for everyone. Part Three is set in the Wild West after all!
The special features include a good set of featurettes, a Making Of documentary in 3 parts, one for each film, interviews, trailers, deleted scenes, on location shoots, outtakes and much more, so you can see it is worth the money. The movies alone would be!
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Future Trilogy, 18 Sep 2009
Nice collectors set of a classic trilogy. The steel book case adds a nice dimension and means a more durable collection too. All three films are in their original theatrical format with the extras in the bonus sections of which there are loads. A real value for money set that means you can have a real marathon and watch each after each other to make the full story or just watch your favourite. Some nice in sight into the making of each film and will show how much more difficult it was to make a film 'back then' than it is today with all the CGI effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I came here in a time machine that you invented ...., 9 Dec 2002
I've been a fan of the Back to the Future films ever since the first one hit the cinema's way back in 1985. I actually wore out my VHS tape of the first film, and have essentially memorised every line of script. I did my revision for both A-levels and my degree with Back to the Future playing in the background. But enough about just how sad I am ...
The DVD release has been very long awaited - I'm not sure why it took so long to get it together. However, the results are nothing short of breathtaking.
If you've seen these films only on broadcast television on a small TV set on a rainy Saturday afternoon, then you're missing out - buy the DVD's, play them on a big screen, crank up the volume of your DTS receiver amplifier to 1.21 gigawatts per channel, and relive the cinema experience. It will have you glued to your seat.
To summarise, I can't recommend these films highly enough, and the DVD release especially so. There is a little bit of magic in these movies, rarely seen in anything made after 1990. So many other shows have used bits of the film it is staggering - even the character in Family Guy invented a time machine which featured a Flux Capacitor !
But the chances are, if you're reading this, your a fan too, and already have the set on DVD, and you probably bought the Australian region 2/4 version of it on e-bay a month ago....
If you're not yet a fan, buying the DVD's will convert you for sure.
The 'bonus' material is nice to have, but to be perfectly honest, it's just such a pleasure to have high quality picture and sound for the movies, that the bonus stuff really doesn't matter. If the discs had not had the bonus material, they would still be worth every penny of the ... price.
Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better in the UK, 6 Jan 2006
I've been looking for this new release in the states for awhile and just tonight realised we may not get it.
I began looking here on Amazon.co.uk and was a little surprised to see this feeling that UK viewers are again getting a raw deal with this repackaging of the films.
As a HUGE fan of these films I wanted to let UK viewers know what you've got that Americans haven't yet.
First, dts. Left off the region 1 release to squeeze the bonus material onto three discs.
Second, A much more attractive package, again.
I ordered the UK version of the first release because the American box is plain ugly.
Third, as I understand, this release has more bonus material than the American version and because it is all contained on one disc it makes a more organized viewing.
We also still don't know for sure if it's safe to buy another copy since none of the packages have v2 on the box.
At least you know with this release bttf 2 and 3 are framed correctly, and you still have the better sounding dts soundtrack.
Us Americans are still surrounded in the muck of dolby.
Your friend across the pond
Danny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much great bonus content, and the films will always be classics, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Pedram Saleh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's so much great bonus content on there. From what I can tell, it's basically the same as what's on the US 25th anniversary edition, but costs less, and works fine on my North American Blu Ray player.

The films will always be classics, and while they don't look as slick as recent productions, you watch them for the content and not the look. The bonus features are where this really shines though, and with recent interviews in 1080p, along with older footage from the DVDs, I got a good amount of viewing just out of the bonus features. Much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most entertaining trilogy ever, 23 Feb 2004
Ive grown up watching these films on terrestrial t.v over numerous bank holidays or sunday afternoons and the trilogy is without doubt an absolute classic, My personal favourite thought has to be the second film. The general storyline of is complex and it may take a few viewings to truly understand and appreciate the concepts. Im currently at university and whenever anyone asks , "whats your favourite ever film?" these films instantly come into my head. All i can say is, for some reason if you havent seen these films you dont know what your missing !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back to the Future Trilogy [DVD] [1985]
Back to the Future Trilogy [DVD] [1985] by Robert Zemeckis (DVD - 2010)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews