Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars13
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2015
A Good Film is complimented by its Good music score The Deep is no exception. This Lavish 2 CD Set features The entire score from The classic 1977 Underwater Adventure. Scored by The Great John Barry Who really needs no introduction To The Film music world The score for The Deep really Transports you to The underwater regions of The Deep blue sea with beauty and danger The set features The Main Theme Down Deep Inside Preformed by Donna Summer A Great Disco sound Summer sings a slower version of the song which in the movie was intended to be a love theme for the two main characters And is a Bonus for this set as its only briefly heard in the actual film. The Deep was issued on vinyl when the movie first came out And the second Disc on this release features that original soundtrack Disc 1 Gives us scores from previously unreleased material Which gives us The complete score. The set comes complete with a book Detailing all The music scores with rare photos from The movie very collectable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Like most John Barry fans, I first became aware of him listening to James Bond soundtracks. This Score represents a later period of John Barry's work, but still delivers some of his most atmospheric work ever. The entire first CD, mostly all previously unreleased, flows seamlessly from start to finish, and can be enjoyably listened to many times. The music is the finest underwater music since Thunderball. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
Well friends - many of you filmmusic collectors out there have - like me - been waiting many years for this CD-issue. If Intrada only had issued the music from the original Casablanca LP it would have been just fine. But now we also have the original score in chronological order - a little hour of one of John Barry's best scores - full of suspence og wonderfull harmonies performed fantastic by the orchestra as recorded in Hollywood. The original score is in mono, but for the collector this is OK, if the soundquality is good as on this pressing. You won't miss anything. It is all here as rembered from the movie, including some themes missing in the "balletsuite" on the Casablanca LP. At the time The Deep came out in the cinemas in 1977 I did buy the Casablanca LP on blue vinyl, - and I still have it. But I always did miss some of the music from the movie. Now it is here - it is like reading an old well known book again. The CD-2 contains the music from the Casablanca LP-album and this music - including the popmusic - is well known. The music is very fine remastered in stereo. The booklet has many informations and photos. Well done Intrada. This 2-CD set is limited to 3000 copies, so if you want to collect some old Barry stuff you have to be quick. I think this album soon will be out of stock. The price for this album is normal for 2 CD-set and it will increase in price at collectors when the album is out of stock by normal sellers - so don't wait.
Listen and be thankful!
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Couldn't believe it when I came across this wonderful complete score of The Deep. It really is worth every penny and a must for any John Barry fan. One of his greatest in my opinion. Just buy it and you can thank me later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Very pleased with the speed of delivery and postage packaging, but the inside of the case was completely broken and the discs were sliding around and getting scratched. Luckily they still play ok, so still please with item.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
This is one of John Barrys best scores but the price here is a complete rip off. Yes it is sold out from Intrada and Screen Archives Alas when they provide these Classic releases, they cannot control those individuals who purchase several of these limited editions with the sole intention of making a massive ott profit instead of allowing the real fans to appreciate the music.
l totally agree with the reviewer who says this is overpriced, l buy my CDS from Intrada and Screen Archives and certainly do not find their prices as expensive as this. Also they tax and postage prices are not used as an excuse to make profit.
Its a great score but try for it on ebay....l picked up my copy for £30.00 and that came from USA...
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
A fine score from a fine composer. Waited a long time for this to be released on CD and have not been disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
This is one of John Barry's finest moments in his long & successful career.. so sad it is being sold for a ridiculous price! I have the original LP/vinyl release from 1977 and it regularly gets a spin on my turntable. I am hoping to get hold of this stunning CD release. This score compliments the films tone, perfectly. A long overdue CD release from a damn fine score!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
One more -not to be missed- soundtrack added to my John Barry collection. Altough I have the score on LP, it was a pleasure to discover it on CD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
This has to be one of the all time greats of John Barry, considering the vast catalogue of scores he gave us over many years, this is exceptional. As regards to the recent "reviewer" (C&E gk_uk), are truly misplaced. Considering this person has never purchased this or any other title in the store, its quite remarkable to see that he or she manages to fully appr4eciate and understand, in some amazing detail, on the exact origins and creation of titles and to have in possession the full facts and figures associated with importation, VAT, import duties, costs and other related finances, which contribute to the pricing of CD's. This "reviewer", has an unhealthy habit of leaving comments and self opionionated remarks, which reflect his or her own lack of knowledge or intelligence when actually writing a PROPER review. As one must purchase the item, THEN review it ! simple really.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)