Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of John Barry's Best Scores, 9 Jan 2014
By 
John C. Hitchen "Music Lover" (Berkeley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep - 2CD Complete Score - LTD3000 - ( NEARLY OOP ) - John Barry (Audio CD)
Like most John Barry fans, I first became aware of him listening to James Bond soundtracks. This Score represents a later period of John Barry's work, but still delivers some of his most atmospheric work ever. The entire first CD, mostly all previously unreleased, flows seamlessly from start to finish, and can be enjoyably listened to many times. The music is the finest underwater music since Thunderball. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Barry, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep - 2CD Complete Score - LTD3000 - ( NEARLY OOP ) - John Barry (Audio CD)
A fine score from a fine composer. Waited a long time for this to be released on CD and have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent soundtrack, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep - 2CD Complete Score - LTD3000 - ( NEARLY OOP ) - John Barry (Audio CD)
One more -not to be missed- soundtrack added to my John Barry collection. Altough I have the score on LP, it was a pleasure to discover it on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any John Barry fan., 16 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep - 2CD Complete Score - LTD3000 - ( NEARLY OOP ) - John Barry (Audio CD)
Couldn't believe it when I came across this wonderful complete score of The Deep. It really is worth every penny and a must for any John Barry fan. One of his greatest in my opinion. Just buy it and you can thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete rip off..., 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Deep - 2CD Complete Score - LTD3000 - ( NEARLY OOP ) - John Barry (Audio CD)
This is one of John Barrys best scores but the price here is a complete rip off. Yes it is sold out from Intrada and Screen Archives Alas when they provide these Classic releases, they cannot control those individuals who purchase several of these limited editions with the sole intention of making a massive ott profit instead of allowing the real fans to appreciate the music.
l totally agree with the reviewer who says this is overpriced, l buy my CDS from Intrada and Screen Archives and certainly do not find their prices as expensive as this. Also they tax and postage prices are not used as an excuse to make profit.
Its a great score but try for it on ebay....l picked up my copy for 30.00 and that came from USA...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage John Barry, 6 May 2011
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Deep - 2CD Complete Score - LTD3000 - ( NEARLY OOP ) - John Barry (Audio CD)
This is one of John Barry's finest moments in his long & successful career.. so sad it is being sold for a ridiculous price! I have the original LP/vinyl release from 1977 and it regularly gets a spin on my turntable. I am hoping to get hold of this stunning CD release. This score compliments the films tone, perfectly. A long overdue CD release from a damn fine score!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thhe Deep - at last with all music, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Arne Dupont "AD" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deep - 2CD Complete Score - LTD3000 - ( NEARLY OOP ) - John Barry (Audio CD)
Well friends - many of you filmmusic collectors out there have - like me - been waiting many years for this CD-issue. If Intrada only had issued the music from the original Casablanca LP it would have been just fine. But now we also have the original score in chronological order - a little hour of one of John Barry's best scores - full of suspence og wonderfull harmonies performed fantastic by the orchestra as recorded in Hollywood. The original score is in mono, but for the collector this is OK, if the soundquality is good as on this pressing. You won't miss anything. It is all here as rembered from the movie, including some themes missing in the "balletsuite" on the Casablanca LP. At the time The Deep came out in the cinemas in 1977 I did buy the Casablanca LP on blue vinyl, - and I still have it. But I always did miss some of the music from the movie. Now it is here - it is like reading an old well known book again. The CD-2 contains the music from the Casablanca LP-album and this music - including the popmusic - is well known. The music is very fine remastered in stereo. The booklet has many informations and photos. Well done Intrada. This 2-CD set is limited to 3000 copies, so if you want to collect some old Barry stuff you have to be quick. I think this album soon will be out of stock. The price for this album is normal for 2 CD-set and it will increase in price at collectors when the album is out of stock by normal sellers - so don't wait.
Listen and be thankful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning release, superb !, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Deep - 2CD Complete Score - LTD3000 - ( NEARLY OOP ) - John Barry (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the all time greats of John Barry, considering the vast catalogue of scores he gave us over many years, this is exceptional. As regards to the recent "reviewer" (C&E gk_uk), are truly misplaced. Considering this person has never purchased this or any other title in the store, its quite remarkable to see that he or she manages to fully appr4eciate and understand, in some amazing detail, on the exact origins and creation of titles and to have in possession the full facts and figures associated with importation, VAT, import duties, costs and other related finances, which contribute to the pricing of CD's. This "reviewer", has an unhealthy habit of leaving comments and self opionionated remarks, which reflect his or her own lack of knowledge or intelligence when actually writing a PROPER review. As one must purchase the item, THEN review it ! simple really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews