Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Definately worth reading'
I took this book away with me, not knowing what to expect but having an interest in undiscovered mysteries. So glad I chose this one, as found it not only interesing but humourous in parts. Typically the kind of book where you can't wait to see what happens on the next page. Definately worth a read!
Published on 19 April 2008 by Mrs. Natasha R. Rushton

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cryptojunk - not worth the cost or time
A poorly written account of a guy hanging around in weird places looking for weird things. I am sure there is merit for people looking for unknown species, but I was completely unimpressed by these exploits.

I am sure the humorous incidents mentioned in the book were funny at the time, but they are hardly clever or interesting when read about. This book was...
Published on 27 May 2010 by Mr. Richard J. Kirby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Definately worth reading', 19 April 2008
By 
Mrs. Natasha R. Rushton (Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I took this book away with me, not knowing what to expect but having an interest in undiscovered mysteries. So glad I chose this one, as found it not only interesing but humourous in parts. Typically the kind of book where you can't wait to see what happens on the next page. Definately worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Facinatining Read, 18 April 2008
By 
Hazel Everatt (Derbyshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book has a varied and intrigueing insite into aspects of the natural world that remain a mystery and at the same time facts that have foundation and some evidence in support of a further expedition is warranted to seek these elusive creatures.
It was also a good book as written in the first person,and therefore a number of amusing incidents portraid as well as the more serious side.
I would recommend this book to be on everyones bookshelf
A well good read and extremely interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones is a Brit!, 16 May 2008
By 
Mr. As Oldham (Cheadle Hulme) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With this delightful ,action packed book ,Adam Davies really does raise the bar for real life adventure tales.Whether its being interrogated in Monglia,shot at in the Congo,or finding startling credible scientific evidence of so called mythical creatures this book has it all. I look forward to a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great real life adventure story, 16 Feb 2014
By 
L. J. Walton "Lee Walton" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. I'd seen Adam Davies in several cryptozoology documentaries and was impressed by his professionalism and assumed he does this kind of thing full-time. It's amazing and inspiring to read that he was just an ordinary guy with normal job who has made it go right to do this in his spare time.

There are a lot of funny stories and great humor in there but maybe you wouldn't get it if you're not British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super book!, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Expeditions: Travel Adventures Stalking the World's Mystery Animals (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book only a few days ago and have found it to be an fabulous read!!! Lots of information and humour! Would recommend to anyone with an interest in the 'unknown'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stuff armchair 'experts' this is how its done., 6 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Extreme Expeditions: Travel Adventures Stalking the World's Mystery Animals (Kindle Edition)
There are too many armchair `experts' in cryptozoology. People who never leave the comfort of their armchairs and pronounce to the world what can and can't exist without ever going to look for themselves. I recall a few years back when Jon Downes said that there couldn't possibly be a population of bigfoot type creatures living in the UK, he was met with an avalanche of vitriol form people who had never even been to England, berating him on daring to suggest that there were no bigfoots living just outside of Newcastle!
Then there are the real cryptozoologists. People who risk life and limb to hunt unknown animals at their own expense at the ends of the earth. I am one of this rare breed and my good friend Adam Davis is another. Adam and I have know each other and followed each other's expeditions for years but it was only in 2008 that we finally went on an adventure together, hunting relic hominids ion Russia.

Extreme Expeditions is Adams first book and chronicles his expeditions from 1998 up to 2007. Adam don't just talk the talk, he walks the walk financing many expeditions by the sweat from his brow and often going it alone into dangerous places.
Here we follow him to the war torn Congo in search of Mokele-Mbembe and braving mad machete wielding crowds. He trecks through Sumatra after the Orang-Pendek regardless of earthquakes and crosses the Gobi on the track of the Mongolian Deathworm. Perhaps the finest chapter is Adams trip to Norway were, in Lake Seljord were he encounters a serpentine monster.
The book is not an in depth examination of cryptids but an exciting and highly personal travelogue. My only criticism was that it wasn't long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Expeditions: Travel Adventures Stalking the World's Mystery Animals (Kindle Edition)
Really liked this book, some repetative expression the only quibble, the sheer joy of doing what you want/and believe in shines through. Will read again, made me smile, keep at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, informative, gripping, motivating, hilarious read!!, 11 Dec 2011
Started reading this book but then couldn't put it down .......let's you get right into the head of the Explorer and expert British Tracker Adam Davies. Adam explores his motivations for becoming an explorer and reminds us that any one of us can follow our dreams.

The logistics of planning an expedition are explored, as well as the bigger issue of making it it all work once it has started. Adam states that his intention is not to go into any great detail about the animals themselves although there is enough to wet people's appetites.

It was both exciting and hilarious (!!).........Adam is a great observer of life and people....if I was only allowed 10 books on a desert island, well this would be one of them....

Think this book will appeal to a wide audience....Fortean Times Readers, travellers, trekkers, those with an interest in Natural history, people watchers, anybody who wants to follow a dream but needs that bit of extra motivation.....in fact think would be enjoyed by most people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, Full of Adventure!!, 23 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing Adam Davies in documentaries in the past, and having a huge interest in Cryptozoology myself, this was a must buy. I recieved it just before a trip to Ukraine and so added it to my reading material. I was not diappointed - thoroughly entertaining throughout, Adam has a very down to earth and easy to relate to way of writing, keeping you hooked until the last page and wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Idiot Abroad, but in the jungle looking for Hidden Creatures, 14 July 2011
By 
Stuart (Macclesfield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extreme Expeditions: Travel Adventures Stalking the World's Mystery Animals (Kindle Edition)
Like "An Idiot Abroad" but without Ricky Gervais and the might of Sky TV behind him, Adam is just a regular guy curious to find out if any of these creatures actually exist. This is an account of the adventures and difficulties he encountered whilst searching, with a healthy amount of scepticism, for creatures that people either outrightly dismiss as bunk, or are adamant they have encountered them. Nothing appears to be left out - there is no subtle editing of events to give a favourable view of Adam and his findings. So if you really want to find out what it is like to be in the jungle, with no way to call "Get me out of here!", or you are considering planning such a trip yourself, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews