Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, well stuctured, a great introductory text
I come to C++ by way of C, Fortran, Basic, Pascal and various other languages which I've used for miscellaneous projects since my first encounter with computers as a teen in the early 1980's. Not a "professional" programmer and not having programmed for some time, I wanted a concise introductory text to get me quickly up to speed on C++ for analyzing some work related...
Published on 13 May 2012 by Swain

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was beyond me.
I do not think this is really a book for beginners, and nor did an experienced programmer to whom I turned for help think so either.
Published on 5 May 2013 by Fender Maker Jenny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, well stuctured, a great introductory text, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I come to C++ by way of C, Fortran, Basic, Pascal and various other languages which I've used for miscellaneous projects since my first encounter with computers as a teen in the early 1980's. Not a "professional" programmer and not having programmed for some time, I wanted a concise introductory text to get me quickly up to speed on C++ for analyzing some work related data. Stephen Davis's book pretty much nails the basic concepts. A great primer to get you started. It takes place on my bookshelf next to my old dogeared copy of Kernighan and Ritchie. Beginning Programming with C++ For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended :), 17 Sept. 2011
This is a good choice for anyone wanting to learn C++ programming or just brush up on the language, The CD comes with tools to program although I personally don't like the software but for anyone who does not already have a proffered tool it looks to be a very powerful and capable program to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful beginner guide, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really recommend this to anyone who wants to learn programming and have no previous experience.
For me it was a bit too basic, so I gave it to a friend. That's entirely my fault for not reading the title carefully when buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book just for beginers, 27 Mar. 2011
I like this book. I already read almost half of it and I am finding it easy to understand. I recomend it for everyone who seeking to be a programmer. thanks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best introductory C++ book!, 10 Oct. 2012
By 
P. Cox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is just great.

It covers all the basics of C++ clearly and concisely and in logical order with subsequent topics building on the preceding ones.

I'd read a couple of introductory books on C++ trying to get a handle on the language and always felt a little lost. With this book I just seemed to start to "get it" - even as topics started progressing towards being a little more advanced with pointers and classes.

There's also lots of practical advice here and the section on how to make good use of a compiler and, especially, a debugger are just invaluable and not something I've encountered in any other introductory C++ book.

If you want to learn C++ this is, in my opinion, the best place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written. Organised and entertaining. There are a few jumps in difficulty throughout the book, but the learning curve never becomes perpendicular. It helps if you have a real interest in programming, else I could see some people walking away. Would definitely recommend though - just make sure you don't skip over bits you don't understand, or it will bite you later on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant buy, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's really easy to read and simple to understand. The topics are clear and nake sense. i recommend it fur anyone who is computer literate thoufh. also it has a prigramne writer with it. Plus it outlines details for Mac software too. Can't wait to get really stuck into it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginning Programming with C++ for Dummies, 23 Nov. 2012
By 
Peter Hudson (N.Yorks. England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to be a computer programmer but since retiring quite a few years ago I have got quite out of touch. Now that compilers and interpreters are readily available I thought I would like do od some programming again for fun. I was surprised to find how much programming has changed since I was active and I found "Beginning programming with C++ a first class help to get back into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand and enjoyable, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is suited to those who already have experience in programming. Great book overall. Wouldn't recommend it t those who don't have programming experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good intro to C++, wish I had got this and read it the summer before college. That would have been a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning Programming with C++ For Dummies
£14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews