Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, interesting behind the scenes footage
First of all, this is a "Best of" DVD. If you already have Michael Ball's concert DVDs "Live at the Albert Hall", "Live in London", "One Voice" and "Past and Present" and are not interested in learning about Michael Ball off stage or the reasons why he chose to sing the songs on the DVD, then don't buy this DVD because there are no new songs on it.

If you don't...
Published on 15 Dec. 2010 by KM

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Michael disappoints
Have loved Michael since whenever but cannot rate his new dvd.
It is a mish mash of old shows and I feel it is just a money making way to con his fans who love him. Badly advised Michael.
Content too fast too furious and the only section which was enjoyable was michaels personal favourites at the end.
Will thoroughly check his next dvd before buying...
Published on 6 Jan. 2011 by Mrs. M. Mcdougall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, interesting behind the scenes footage, 15 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, this is a "Best of" DVD. If you already have Michael Ball's concert DVDs "Live at the Albert Hall", "Live in London", "One Voice" and "Past and Present" and are not interested in learning about Michael Ball off stage or the reasons why he chose to sing the songs on the DVD, then don't buy this DVD because there are no new songs on it.

If you don't know Michael Ball yet or don't own his concert DVDs, this DVD is a great introduction to his work on and off stage. The song choices are great and cover a big spectrum of his work: There are slower and more up-tempo numbers, songs from musicals but also elder and contemporary popsongs. The song section of the DVD is split into different sections: songs from musicals, songs from movies, up-tempo numbers and Michaels favourites, adding up to 25 of Michael's best concert performances.

If you already own Michael's conert DVDs, but are interested in the reasons he chose to sing the songs on the DVD or his work on the radio, as a West End producer, host of a TV show or in the preparations for a concert, then this DVD is also worth buying. Apart from Michael personally introducing each of the songs of the DVD there are four "behind the scenes" interviews about the themes I mentioned that are very interesting and entertaining to watch. I was especially amused about learning why Michael's probably never going to wear a white suit at an open-air concert in Scotland again . . .

All in all, I loved the DVD and would buy it again.

For those who are interested here's a list of the tracks contained on this DVD and the concert DVDs they're originally from:

1. Hot Stuff (Live at the Royal Albert Hall)
2. We have all the Time in the World/Millennium (Live at the Royal Albert Hall)
3. Winner takes it all (Past & Present)
4. The Way we were/The Rose (Live at the Royal Albert Hall)
5. The Blues Brothers Medley (Live at the Royal Albert Hall)
6. Tell me it's not true (Past & Present)
7. Gethsemane (Past & Present)
8. I know where I've been (Past & Present)
9. High Flying Adored (One Voice - One special Night)
10. Loving you (One Voice - One special Night)
11. Love changes everything (Past & Present)
12. Don't stop me now (One Voice - One special Night)
13. Dancing in the Dark (Live in London)
14. Crazy (One Voice - One Special Night)
15. Savoy Story/Rehab (One Voice - One Special Night)
16. I don't feel like dancing (One Voice - One Special Night)
17. Mercy (Past & Present)
18. One Step out of Time (Live in London)
19. You can't stop the Beat (Past & Present)
20. Mack the Knife (Past & Present)
21. This is the Moment (One Voice - One Special Night)
22. Empty Chairs at empty Tables (One Voice - One Special Night)
23. The Show must go on (One Voice - One Special Night)
24. The Prayer (Past & Present)
25. The impossible Dream (Past & Present)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Mr Ball, 1 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
Being a big fan of Michael I always look forward to his next DVD. This one is excellent once again as he introduces each song with interesting feedback. Also the extras are extremely interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Ball - A life on stage, 15 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best dvd's that I have ever seen and heard. Contains a marvelous performance by whom I consider a true artist. Not only songs that I am familiar with, but new wonderful songs thast I have never heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Michael disappoints, 6 Jan. 2011
By 
Mrs. M. Mcdougall "margemac" (carlisle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
Have loved Michael since whenever but cannot rate his new dvd.
It is a mish mash of old shows and I feel it is just a money making way to con his fans who love him. Badly advised Michael.
Content too fast too furious and the only section which was enjoyable was michaels personal favourites at the end.
Will thoroughly check his next dvd before buying instead of just buying without thought because it is Michael it must be brilliant.

Sorry again Michael, not one of your better dvds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a Michael Ball fan this one's for you.
Nice relaxed presentation with all the songs you want to see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Mrs. Lyn Thomas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD has a lovely selection of Michael Ball's songs grouped into different categories (stage, film, favourites etc) with a small amount of chat here and there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DUPLICATION, 16 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
So many of the great songs on Michael Ball's 'One Voice One Special Night' are duplicated on 'A Life on Stage' making this DVD quite a disappointment. Even the story of his boozy night out at the Savoy and the subsequent song Rehab
are repeated on this DVD. Loving You; Love Changes everything; Don't Stop Me Now; Dancing in the Dark; Crazy; I Don't Feel Like Dancing; Empty Chairs Empty Tables; - also the quality of sound on the DVD is poor - I have to use head-phones while listening to 'A life on stage' on my laptop, while the sound quality on One Voice One Special Night is excellent.

Love the Blues Brothers Medley; Gethsemane; sung so powerfully it touches your heart and soul and The Prayer sung as a duet is so beautiful I have played it over and over.

I realize that the DVD is a review of Michael's life's work on stage, but having only recently purchased 'One Voice' as well I would have liked to see a wider range of songs as his voice and talent are fabulous -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
Being a Michael Ball fan I bought this one for my brother & hope he enjoys it as much as I have enjoyed it also delivery speedy really delighted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice guy - and can sing a bit!!!!, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
This man has everything - the voice, the looks, the personality - and his charismatic performances on this dvd are a complete knockout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My mum was in a swoon all Boxing Day!, 3 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my 80 yr old mum, she spent Boxing Day watching it when she was on her own and really enjoyed it. She loves Michael Ball and I couldn't have given her a better present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Ball - A Life on Stage [DVD]
£5.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews