Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FUN BUT WILL KEEP SWITCHING ON IN YOUR POCKET!!!
GOOD FUN BUT WILL KEEP SWITCHING ON IN YOUR POCKET!!!
NOT THE BRIGHEST TOURCH BUT ITS GOOD FOR WHAT IT IS.
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by Darth Angelus

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed really
When something is described as a torch, you expect it to light up so that you can see things, but this isn't what this item does. It is a sonic screwdriver toy, not a torch so don't be misled. You click the button and the end glows green. That's it. Big deal. It's fun if you want to run around playing at Doctor Who and zapping things with the green glow from your...
Published on 16 Dec 2010 by whiterose


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FUN BUT WILL KEEP SWITCHING ON IN YOUR POCKET!!!, 27 Oct 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
GOOD FUN BUT WILL KEEP SWITCHING ON IN YOUR POCKET!!!
NOT THE BRIGHEST TOURCH BUT ITS GOOD FOR WHAT IT IS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed really, 16 Dec 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
When something is described as a torch, you expect it to light up so that you can see things, but this isn't what this item does. It is a sonic screwdriver toy, not a torch so don't be misled. You click the button and the end glows green. That's it. Big deal. It's fun if you want to run around playing at Doctor Who and zapping things with the green glow from your sonic screwdriver toy, but if you want to use a torch, this ain't it!

From the description 'Torch' I thought it was a torch that looked like Doctor Who's sonic screwdriver, something that would be functional, but fun too. That's why I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well actually my son loves it, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
What can you say about a Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch...my 10 year old loves this and is very excited, I have been zapped into a puff of smoke..so should not really be writing this ..fantastic for imaginative play, not only for the children but the grown ups to..(if you have visited the Space Centre earlier in the year - if you did not you must & dress up)..just what my son wanted to spend his pocket money on & now reads his books under the bed clothes ..or is that another one of these - he has at least 6...smile & they are all supposed to be different?? I am just a mum what do I know..:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tiny torch, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
I got this for the little brother for Christmas its good but very small it would be better to be more lifesize
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fab!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
this went down a storm with my dr who mad daughter!

she used it to show off at the cinema for the 50th anniversary!

very reasonable price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok but a bit pointless, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
Bought this as a present for someone who's a big Dr Who fan, they seemed happy enough but it's basically just a green torch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as described - nothing more, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
First off, I want to note, there was NOTHING wrong with the service I recieved from amazon or anyone involved in the process. Fast shipping, good communication. I am reviewing the item solely based on the item - which arrived in perfect condition.

>>
>> Posive/Negative list at the bottom if you don't want to read the entire review <<
>>

I bought this Sonic Screwdriver to go with my 11th Doctor outfit for the 50th screening at my local cinema - and it is exactly as described, nothing more, nothing less.
The button to activate it is at the bottom, not at your thumb as I would have expected. This is an annoyance, surely.
Furthermore, the screwdriver is very small - probably designed for children if I had to guess. For a child's hand, it is probably a good size, but for a grown Whovian, I would suggest a different version.
The green light at the edge is decent, but what disappointed me about this product was that there is no sound at all! Nothing!
If the description had clarified that there would be no sound, I probably wouldn't have gotten it.
To top it all off, the top can't spring out - which at the price is fair, but still contributes to an inferior product. I would have gone with having to push it out manually like 9's screwdriver(the blue one) - I wouldn't expect spring loading in a cheap toy.
However, it is perfect for finishing that 11 costume you are working on if you are working on a tight budget, or if you just don't want to spend too much on it.
It DOES actually look like 11's screwdriver - however, it doesn't look like ceramic and metal, it does look like plastic. This is expected and fully acceptable.
The green tip surprised me in a good way. I had expected a deform blob with sharp edges based on the price, but it is actually very nice! And with a small hole at the tip that lets it spread it's light so it has a bit of function as a weak torch.
The batteries are easily accessible. There is a screw that needs to be unscrewed at the tip part, under the head, and then you have the batteries.

To sum up my points:

The positive:
- Very decent to complete that costume you are working on if you are on a tight budget
- DOES actually look like 11's screwdriver - just smaller
- The green tip is very nice - not cheap, sharp and ugly as you could expect at the price
- Easily accesible batteries - just need a non-sonic Phillips screwdriver
- The tip actually shines some green light that can light up a little bit - for instance for cleaning your keyboard
- Very cheap

The negative:
- Very small for an adult
- No sound!!
- No movable head
- Inconvenient button placement

For the price, this is a good product I guess, but if you want something proper, don't get this. I wouldn't have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 6 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
i got this for my friends lil girl who is a big dr who fan, it's of great quality and she absolutely loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Torch, 9 Jun 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
I bought this for £[] which to be honest is quite a fair price for what you get. I did expect the product to be bigger but hey for [] it aint half bad. I wanted a smaller more "portable" screwdriver for out an about as the toy version is rather large and pops up in your pocket (ooer) so if your looking for a small portable bright screwdriver that doesn't pop out of your pocket or buzz when you sit down then its a good bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars screwdriver torch, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch (Toy)
This is just a very expensive torch my son was very disappointed as he thought it would do other stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wesco DR109 Dr Who Sonic Screwdriver Torch
£10.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews