Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You always feel the human connection with Pilger
This is an excellent collection of Pilger pieces. The topics covered now read like an alternative history of the 1990s rather than current events, but this book is well worth reading because of the background that it gives you on places and people still key to what is unfolding now. Pilger always writes in an accessible style, but his unique talent is giving journalistic...
Published on 5 Mar. 2003 by C. Jannuzi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but limited
As rebellious and erudite as many leftist students like to think Pilger is, I still find his work a bit too mainstream for my liking. The book is full of interesting fact ands insights all the same.
Published 9 months ago by David D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You always feel the human connection with Pilger, 5 Mar. 2003
By 
C. Jannuzi (Fukui, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
This is an excellent collection of Pilger pieces. The topics covered now read like an alternative history of the 1990s rather than current events, but this book is well worth reading because of the background that it gives you on places and people still key to what is unfolding now. Pilger always writes in an accessible style, but his unique talent is giving journalistic detail a human face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will change your view of the world., 12 Sept. 2001
By 
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
After reading some of John Pilgers articles on his website... I was persuaded get this book and as a result change my perception of World events. The USA and Great Britain in particular, self reputed homes of democracy and freedom have their true colours exposed by Pilger's tireless and thorough research, and documentation. If like me you haven't read Pilger or Noam Chomsky for example before, in reading this book you will in turns be aghast at the cruelty of our governments foreign policies, disgusted by the rhetoric politicians have spewed to "justify" their actions, but equally if not more importantly uplifted by true tales of the courage of many people around the world from Liverpool to East Timor who stand up for justice and human rights while governments turn their backs.
I feel like I've been sleeping before reading this book and I can't encourage people enough to read this and wake up to what our governments (Labour or Conservative, Republican or Democrat) are doing on our behalf around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up! You've been fed lies all along..., 7 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
This book has changed my life. I challenge anyone with an ounce of humanity in them to read this book and not be shell-shocked.. from child slavery to political murders to wars and third world mass-starvation. The Italian mafia are kids playing cowboys and indians in comparison. Wake up to the boundless corruption and mind-blowingly criminal disrespect for human lives at the heart of the Western governments we all voted for...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read no other book, 6 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
For anyone who is ever angry with the ways and workings of the society we live in. This book is the equivalent of the Mark Thomas Comedy Product in written form and is so much more than a "fine piece of investigative journalism". Depression and frustration at events largely beyond one's control are hard to turn into direct action, but JP holds the door to a more humane and democratic world firmly open. I am sure that if more people read this book our society would change radically; it is not a question of whether you agree with none/some/all of the opinions Pilger expresses, the facts he has uncovered stare you directly in the face. Extensions of these hidden realities pervade all of our lives, no matter where on Earth the events that reveal them occur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Buckle up Dorothy, cause Kansas is about to go ByeBye", 2 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
What more can be said about a writer like John Pilger or a book like Hidden Agendas? He has the nasty habit of punching through the paper thin civility that shrouds the world and its political machinations. Reading each chapter seperately works just as well as reading it from start to finish since each chapter is actually a seperate article. Oddly enough the best comparison I can come up with is the "Wake up..." message in The Matrix. That the media manipulates the truth is well known, that Governments lie is common wisdom, what Pilger exposes is the depth of these manipulations, the extent of these lies and then backs them up with cold fact. What he suggests is that a vast percentage of twentieth century history is ficticious and that a secret history runs parallel to it. From the myth that Labour and Tories represent different agendas, to the secret arms caches run by western Governments to some of the most oppresive regimes in the world. Since reading this book I have found it hard to view the world in the same way. Read it. Buckle up. Kansa is about to go byebye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars human rights under attack, 30 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
After reading John Pilgers book i immediately joined amnesty international. This book shows how modern democracies are supporting brutal regimes in order to sell arms (US, UK) while at the same time cutting down social security at home. Everbody should read this book. It will make you angry. Use this anger in order to support human rights. John Pilger deserves the Nobel-Prize for Peace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book likely to turn your opinions on their head, 10 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
As all the other reviewers suggest this is a fascinating read.
It highlights issues most people do not think about and shows how perceived wisdom and the truth often diverge.
I recommend everyone reads this book, whether you buy it or borrow it from a library.
However, I did feel Pilger often highlighted problems/issues but did not suggest solutions. It is important that society has people like John Pilger to educate them but it is equally important that sensible, viable solutions to the problems are discussed.
That said it is a great book, particularly because it shows up the Machiavellian policies of the great democracies such as Britain and the US.
READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real read of what is going on in the world, 4 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
A very well written book which shows a real and unbiased view of what is happening in the world. It says what is happening and how little we hear or mainly how misinformed we are regarding the world. The power in the world these days is money, money speaks and it you dont have it you dont speak. John Pilger is a credit to himself and I hope he writes more informative books such as Hidden Agenda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courageous, 2 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
If you want to know more about the world we live in, (since Sept 11th, this couldnt be more vital) and think about world events with a conscience, rather than infantile good vs evil arguments, then this must be your first step. This comes at a price, for the sheer enormity of the facts being imparted leave you feeling helpless. I always knew that politicians lie, the media lies, but I was not prepared at the extent at which they do it. If you are content to be spoon-fed opinions, and think that news should concentrate more on soap operas and the cult of "celebrity", then stay away. Pilger writes with great admiration for battered people who have been deemed the enemy for the purposes of the history books, written by the powerful. I dont know how Pilger doesnt despair at the evil he has uncovered, but its a credit to him that he has documented it, and I am grateful to him that he has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading., 7 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Hidden Agendas (Paperback)
Remember that if it seems too good to be true it usually is. JP exposes the myth that the west promotes freedom and democracy and shows us how people are hoodwinked into believing the lies that are peddled to cover up injustices around the world. Oh how I wish everyone cared enough to read this and then do something about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hidden Agendas
Hidden Agendas by John Pilger
£6.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews