Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLAD u make this! Could u make a shower gel aswell!
After moving to the Isle Of Skye, in 2010, my partner was getting eaten by midges used smidge and hasnt looked back she gets 6hrs and not 8, she can garden with out a midge hat on and she can walk through a cluster of them. it would be really good if the makers made a shower gel that u could use in the mornings! she LOVES SMIDGE...
Published on 2 Jun. 2012 by Nick H

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Minus One Star
The midge's love it. It did not even slow them down.
Published 7 months ago by john


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLAD u make this! Could u make a shower gel aswell!, 2 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
After moving to the Isle Of Skye, in 2010, my partner was getting eaten by midges used smidge and hasnt looked back she gets 6hrs and not 8, she can garden with out a midge hat on and she can walk through a cluster of them. it would be really good if the makers made a shower gel that u could use in the mornings! she LOVES SMIDGE...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
Anyone considering visiting Scotland should buy this product. Midges can make your holiday a misery. Don't give them the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think it works., 19 Jun. 2014
By 
Sean Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
Used this during our West Highland Way trip. The midges were not too much of a problem due to the rain but it did seem to work.
It is DEET free so you can use it with confidence on your Goretex/Event/other waterproof clothing without damaging them.

3 BIG TIPS....
A) Apply it to my hair/head to stop your scalp being bitten.
B) Apply it to your lower back because if you bend over, like when putting your tent up and your shirt rides up at the back you will expose flesh that the little buggers will attack with relish.
C) Use Smidge in conjunction with a head net.

(on the trip we got talking to two local guys who said that there is nothing that will stop the Scottiish Midge)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works!, 28 July 2014
By 
J. Grey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
Repels the Scottish midge effectively but needs reapplying after a couple of hours if you are sweating. Nicer to use than Jungle Formula - no strong chemical smell so doesn't give you a headache with repeated use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see on Amazon, 4 Jun. 2011
By 
J. Macdonald "JMMC" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
I've used Smidge for the last 2 years- it's great to see it on Amazon. Smidge works well in Scotland when faced with the dreaded midge-it also woked well for my son in Costa Rica and Nicaragua facing nastier biters!

Excellent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Midge Repellent, 17 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
This is by far the best midge repellent. I react very badly to midge or cleg (horse fly) bites and this keeps everything away thankfully. Could highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smidge the best defense against the wee beastie, so far, 26 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
Smidge is the only real midge defense against the Scottish West Highland Midge, it is great and hands down the best on the market against this ravenous wee beastie but it is by no means a complete protection solution, sadly, you do not become invisible to them as described in the sales patter but compared to any other product on the market it is far superior as a deterrent and the longevity of how long it acts as a deterrent, you will still get bitten but you won't get feasted upon as it seems those that bite do not release the usual pheromone after biting calling the other ladies to lunch, as anyone who has looked into the problem knows it is only the female midge who bites, natures ultimate proof that the female of the species is far deadlier than the male.

Bottom line, if you are visiting Scotland in midge season then grab a bottle of this or two but don't forget your midge headnet, when it gets really bad you will still breath them in as the clouds gather in the co2 you breathe out and the odd wee beastie has a taste of your exotic flesh regardless how much Smidge you have on.

To give an understanding of my midge experience, i regularly wild camp in Scotland in peak midge season and don't use a tent as i backpack light and live wild for up to a month at a time fishing, hunting and foraging as i go, i have tried every single product on the market both foreign and domestic and every time a new product comes out i immediately test it and Smidge is the benchmark to beat, chemical and natural and Smidge beats them al but it could still be improved onl, the only product that comes close in protection level is Wilmas Nordic Summer but as it is in a paste form it is not half as easy to apply over large areas of flesh, Smidge is a spray and you can cover your whole body in seconds if you wanted to, trust me at times you will want to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About time too, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
Living in Scotland we get a lot of midges and this year with Smidge I feel ok about being out and gardening even late in the evening when the wee beasts are at their worst
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
This is a fantastic product. My family and I used it on holiday in Canada and the only places we were bitten were under clothing where we hadn't applied the cream, thinking the mosquitoes wouldn't be able to reach us. It applies easily, has a very pleasant scent and isn't greasy like products containing DEET. I love it and would recommend to anyone going to Canada (last year we used a product containing a citronella base which wasn't very effective… although that had worked well in Australia).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insect Repellent, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml (Personal Care)
I have used this before so therefore have bought another one. It is very good and as I have to take care with my skin, it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smidge That Midge Insect Repellent 75ml
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews