Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2011
I bought this CD without listening first. I have 'Illinoise' which i greatly enjoyed, so thought i'd give this a go.
When i first played this, the opener 'Futile Devices' fueled me with optimism. A delightful, melodic peace.
Then a sudden shift in mood and electronic fugg, beats, elaborate layering etc. As I listened in the car, it got more of an excercise in tolerance, i stayed with it,resisting to eject or fast forward, but at the end of my journey on the road and by the end of the cd, i was perplexed, and rather depressed.
If you are depressed and feeling down and self pitifull, then this is the music for you! You just might end up as an 'Impossible Soul' wanting to end it all!!
But, I will listen occasionally. There are fragments of genius in there but overall its overpowering.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
Give this record more spins and you'll learn to love it. Let go of all the expectations you have from Sufjan and enjoy his creative, innovative, and brilliant music once again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Listening to Sufjan Stevens lyrics and compositions is a pleasure. This music is truly music to one's ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
...when the 'Classic Sufjan Version' is released. Great album, fantastic songs but one or two tracks would be so much better with less of the glitchy electronica and more of a Michigan/Illinois treatment, IMHO anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
A work of madness and genius, of pyrotechnic electro-orchestral squelch, radiance and murk. There are sprinklings of earlier Sufjan: the melodies are there, the harmonies, but the arrangements are extreme. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
this is an astonishing album - uncomparable and more interesting than most of the other releases this year taken together. And I am still not sure whether I really love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Sufjan Stevens is in a class of his own. He does not seem to conform with any style of music and Goes his own way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
The Cd arrived when they said it would. Like new, like it said. So, i am very satisfied with the service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Disappointing, just a lot of empty noise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
Rather surprised to hear Stuart Maconie, whose judgement I usually trust, heap praise on Age of Adz just yesterday.
Illinoise I loved.
Taking some mediocre songs and adding assorted blips and electronic effects, and some modern hiphop beats does not make a great album. And why has he decided he wants to sing like Prince?
A huge disappointment.
The two stars are for his willingness to do something different, which I applaud.
The results however are unappealing.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.98
£14.79

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)