Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last! Bit mean, though., 14 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight (Audio CD)
I first heard Bronco on the Island sampler "Bumpers", providing the title track I guess (Bumpers West) and went out and bought Country Home. Then along came the sampler "El Pea" & the track Sudden Street & off I went to buy Ace of Sunlight, despite it having one of the most unappealing sleeves of all time! Two nil to Island's marketing department!

I thought a CD reissue was never going to happen, so hats off to the guys at BGO Records. The sound is good and you get an informative booklet. However, said booklet refers to the single Lazy Now/A Matter of Perspective but does not include the single in the reissue. The booklet also mentions that the version of Sudden Street on El Pea was different to the album version. Yes it was (better as I recall). That version is not included either. I can't imagine that this CD will sell widely outside the band's original fans so such omissions seem mean. 5 stars for the music on the CD and to BGO for caring. 1 star off for them not caring quite enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very British country rock, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Yves Vandezande (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight (Audio CD)
Yes indeed, British.
As opposed to the country rock made popular by their American counterparts the Eagles.
A real pleasure to hear both Island albums by this band on CD again.
I know I loved them when they came out in the early 70's and still do.
Laid back, yet solid.
This proves that Jess Roden had a quality voice as he later proved again with his solo work.
Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Lost Gem, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Robert sinclair (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight (Audio CD)
Back in the day Bronco led by the brilliant ex Alan Bown Set Vocalist Jess Roden were being hyped as the next big thing, which never really happened for the band despite being championed at the time by members of Led Zeppelin.
This collection of the two albums recorded for Island is a very welcome issue indeed and the laid back feel of the first album particularly ( Country Home ) still sounds great, Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Turn Your Bumpers West..." - A Review Of The Beat Goes On Bronco CD featuring Jess Roden, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Mark Barry (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight (Audio CD)
Despite their stellar line-ups and quality songs - Bronco came and went without too many people noticing. So it's nice to see this superb sounding remaster on BGO celebrate their short but illustrious career.

Originally released October 2010, Beat Goes On BGOCD946 breaks down as follows (72:57 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 7 are their debut album "Country Home" released November 1970 on Island Records ILPS 9124 with tracks 8 to 15 being their 2nd LP "Ace Of Sunlight" released July 1971 on Island Records ILPS 9161.

The outer card-wrap pictures both albums while the 12-page booklet has excellent liner notes by MICHAEL HEATLEY which includes rare photos of the band, a history and interviews. The remaster is fabulous - great clear sound by ANDREW THOMPSON - lovely detail and power where its needed - a top job done.

Sounding not unlike a more rocky version of Matthews Southern Comfort - the group featuring lead vocalist/cult hero Jess Roden, Robbie Blunt and Kevyn Gammond on guitars (Blunt went on to be Robert Plant's principal sideman) with John Pasternak on Bass and Pete Robinson on Drums. Robinson was the original drummer with Band Of Joy way back in 1966 while Mick Ralphs (who joined the group for the 2nd LP) would of course became one of the main men in Bad Company.

In fact when you listen to the rambling and hard-riffing "Well Anyhow" it's hard not to hear those Free and Bad Company comparisons. But the songs were often softer than that - least not of all "Bumpers West" who lyrics titled that beloved 2LP sampler set "Bumpers" at the end of 1970 (lyrics from it title this review). Roden often wrote the softer songs like "Love" and "Home" while "Time (So Long Between)" which ends the 1st album is a neither here nor there hybrid of Rock and Folk.

So why didn't they click with the public? What's clearly missing is that killer single - that one song that would get them noticed. There was a moment perhaps when it might have happened in the fabulous builder "Time Slips Away" on Ace Of Sunlight" (written by Robbie Blunt). The track turned up on the "Meet On The Ledge - Island Folk/Rock" 3CD Box Set in 2009 and I've raved about it before (see separate review). With an edit maybe it might have gotten them radio play. The album opens with the lovely "Amber Moon" co-written by Roden with Suzy Worth while "Some Uncertainty", "Woman" and ""Discernible" all feature Clifford T. Ward in the song-writing credits. "New Day Avenue" is lovely too. The only real downer about this re-issue is that a very rare single "Lazy Now" b/w "A Matter Of Perspective" on Island WIP 6096 (issued in 1970) is not included - shame that. There is the very definite feeling of a band progressing leaps and bounds by the time they hit that 2nd album (they even supported Zeppelin at The Wembley Empire in 1971). With Roden departed, the others re-grouped and made one more album "Smoking Mixture" on Polydor in 1972 before finally disbanding.

There's a lot on here to like - and given this superlative sound quality - time to not let this rare one slip away...

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, anyhow, 31 Dec 2012
By 
GillianEliza (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight (Audio CD)
I first heard Country Home when I was at Uni in the early 70's, thanks to an amazing friend called Alison. It stuck a chord with me, particularly the terrifyingly brilliant guitar work in "Well, Anyhow". I have it on an LP, but have waited for many years to find that someone has finally done the decent thing and put it onto a CD. Oh how I loved my trip down memory lane, the whole album flows beautifully with a mixture of blues, rock, and the slightest hint of country hillbilly, but the whole is a great soundtrack for life, particularly for trips to the country on a lovely sunny day. Hard to define the genre as it crosses several, but do give it a whirl if you loved the 70's rock music, it should press the right buttons for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 26 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant purchase of a band featuring Jess Roden.I first heard of Bronco through 2 Samplers "Bumpers" and "El Pea" featuring 2 great songs "Love" and "Sudden Street".Thank you to BGO Records for releasing 2 albums on one CD of a brilliant rock album.I have been searching in record shops for years to get these 2 albums.The extensive sleeve notes make it an essential buy for anyone who enjoys British blue eyed soul from an under-rated 70's band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music, 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight (Audio CD)
Saw this group perform with Free in 1970, they were both excellent. Not sure why Bronco did not have more success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bc4450)

This product

Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight
Country Home / Ace Of Sunlight by Bronco (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews