Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding concert with star soloist in the Elgar cello concerto
This annual celebration of the BPO took the orchestra to Oxford, England for the 2010 edition. The program featured the Elgar cello concerto as the central item and one that would be very dear to the hearts of a great number of the English audience. The whole concert was very main-stream with one of the two favourite concertos for orchestra, the other being the Dvorak,...
Published on 11 Nov 2011 by I. Giles

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as claimed
Although heralded as her equal I'm afraid that this young player is not up to Jacqueline du Pre's standard of either technical expertise or interpretive skills. The Brahms, however, was okay.
Published 16 months ago by Dangerfield


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding concert with star soloist in the Elgar cello concerto, 11 Nov 2011
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Various: Europakonzert 10 (Elgar: Cello Concerto/ Brahms: Symphony. 1/ Wagner: Meistersinger ) [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This annual celebration of the BPO took the orchestra to Oxford, England for the 2010 edition. The program featured the Elgar cello concerto as the central item and one that would be very dear to the hearts of a great number of the English audience. The whole concert was very main-stream with one of the two favourite concertos for orchestra, the other being the Dvorak, plus a key symphony by Brahms and starting off with a well-established Wagner Prelude. All of these pieces have been central to Barenboim's repertoire for a very long time now so expectations of something special can be justified.

The orchestra, of course, is also famed for its many performances of both the Wagner and the Brahms conducted by many fine conductors in the past. Two contrasting former conductors of repute for their Brahms with this orchestra would be Karajan and Abbado who led wonderful performances that have become bench-mark references in very different ways. Rattle is establishing his own stamp on the same repertoire with this orchestra. All this goes to show is that the orchestra, as one would expect, is well able to adjust to a range of approaches and still deliver performances of excellence. This they do here.

Barenboim's approach to Brahms is substantial and much heavier than that of Abbado for example. The finale ends in a blaze of splendour rather like a powerful car opening up to effortless speed and with total comfort. (I would imagine!) The tonal resources of the orchestra are a great asset in this approach. The same can be said of the Wagner prelude with an impressive build up of sumptuous sounds from both strings and brass. The Elgar is given an inspirational interpretation of a similar sense of passionate dedication that I would have associated with du Pre at her finest. At several points I was struck by this similarity and inevitably made the link between that earlier cellist and Barenboim.

The imaging throughout is very clear and crisp and allows a sense of involvement without intrusion. The sound is full ranging and presented in excellent DTS master Audio 5.1 and stereo.

This is a very fine disc indeed and should be much liked by future purchasers. The Elgar is almost definitive, the Wagner is impressive in its sonorities and the Brahms is well-built and culminates in considerable excitement. In my opinion this is well worth the full 5 stars therefore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: Various: Europakonzert 10 (Elgar: Cello Concerto/ Brahms: Symphony. 1/ Wagner: Meistersinger ) [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a marvelous DVD Blu-ray the sound (especially on DTS) is stunning with good equipment and the picture is surely the best possible!My only qualification is the tempo of the Elgar cello Concerto which to my taste is far too slow. Compare with DuPre who put much more fire into her playing and this was her signature "piece".
It must have brought back many sad nostalgic moments for Barenboim.The Brahms Symphony is stunning.Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BLURAY CONCERT WINNER! XXXXX, 30 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Various: Europakonzert 10 (Elgar: Cello Concerto/ Brahms: Symphony. 1/ Wagner: Meistersinger ) [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a very pleasing UK appearance at a public concert of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra under Daniel BARENBOIM at a concert hall, possibly some people may not be aware is in the city of OXFORD, built by SIR CHRISTOFER WREN! The Sheldonian Theatre ,Oxford although not, paticularly large boasts a very respectable orchestral acoustic.Even though somewhat REMINISCENT in shape of the old QUEENS HALL in London or a MINI Royal Albert Hall! However a large and modern Symphony orchestra fills it with large dynamics. This comes over very effectively on this Blu-Ray release when, in paticular,when the DIGITAL DTS AUDIO SURROUND MODE is selected from the disc navigation menu, assuming one has the correct reproducing equipment!
The Wanger Die Meistersinger prelude to act 3 , a typical Barenboim opener, is ethusiastically acknowledged by the live audience! For me the programme highlight is the wonderful performance of the Edward Elgar Cello Concerto in E performed by a very accomplished young lady Alisa Weilenstein. Barenboim ,needless to say ,re-established the Elgar Cello work back long ago as concert goers knockout favourite with his late wifes cello performance,ie Jaqueline Dupres!
However Miss Weilerstein gave her all with a very very sensitive and impressive live performance with a nostalgic interpretation, perhaps even suggesting a genuine hertfelt tribute to the late Jaqueline Dupres!
The concert ends with a sissling performance by the BERLIN PHIL.under BARENBOIM of the Brahms Symphony No 1 with the wonderful orchestral "BRAHMSIAN" weight! A composer who really understood how to score for a large orchestra!
The Bluray Video picture is blessed with very good contrast and auditorium natural lighting. All in all I like this super BluRay issue very much indeed!In my opinion it is a rewarding purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sumptuous recording of these classic works! Highly recommended., 28 Aug 2011
By 
Nigel Mc (The Chilterns) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Various: Europakonzert 10 (Elgar: Cello Concerto/ Brahms: Symphony. 1/ Wagner: Meistersinger ) [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The Elgar Cello Concerto is one of my favourite pieces of classical music and for sentimental reasons I still have the old LP of the Jacqeline Du Pre recording with Sir John Barbirolli and the London Symphony Orchestra. Of course, for listening purposes this has been replaced by the reissue on CD and up until now this has been my reference work. I was interested to see that a reviewer of the Alisa Weilerstein version thought that this version was `far too slow' compared to Du Pre's interpretation. In actual fact this new version is only 13 seconds slower! Personally, I did not notice any significant difference in the tempo of either work. They are both hugely enjoyable and the emotion of the music is abundant in both interpretations. Aside from the question of tempo we are both in agreement that this is a superb recording of these wonderful pieces of music.

Euro Arts have done us proud with this release. The concert was recorded on May Day 2010 in the magnificent Sheldonian Theatre and the sense of occasion is enhanced by the fact that Oxford was Du Pre's home City and with her former husband conducting. The video quality is superb and this is matched by a choice of 2 soundtracks with my preference being for the DTS HD 5.1 surround sound. There is a simple but decent menu system where the chapters follow the performance. There are no extras. Barenboim is on top form as usual. I can highly recommend this concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb performance - Elgar in a top quality sound and picture, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: Various: Europakonzert 10 (Elgar: Cello Concerto/ Brahms: Symphony. 1/ Wagner: Meistersinger ) [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Maestro Barenboim and Berliner Philharmoniker are demonstrating once again that they are in a top form. Also very impressive is to see this orchestra playing in Oxford. I don't feel to be a competent person to judge this masterpiece in any more detail. This is simply going beyond my understanding of music. Also, the Egar concerto is well done. Alisa Weilerstein is fantastic, flawless and extraordinily convincing. I would like to wish Mr Barenboim many more decades of flawless conducting and recording.

I'm convinced, that everyone who will purchade this Blu-ray will have a fantastic experience while watching it.

Martin Golembiovsky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as claimed, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Various: Europakonzert 10 (Elgar: Cello Concerto/ Brahms: Symphony. 1/ Wagner: Meistersinger ) [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Although heralded as her equal I'm afraid that this young player is not up to Jacqueline du Pre's standard of either technical expertise or interpretive skills. The Brahms, however, was okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for performance/ 3 stars for the DVD quality, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: Various: Europakonzert 10 (Elgar: Cello Concerto/ Brahms: Symphony. 1/ Wagner: Meistersinger ) [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I received this yesterday via mail order and based on what i have read, i immediately went to the Brahms symphony. It was a spellbinding performance. The weight and the power of the Berlin Philharmonic within the walls of the Sheldonian Theatre was fantastic. Though i suspect that it would have even been greater for the audience. The Elgar concerto was deeply engaging. Witness the facial expression of Alisa Weilerstein throughout. This is a DVD worth having.

The only bone i have to pick is with the quality of the DVD production. At 86:50, it shows Barenboim walking off the stage after taking a bow. At 87:10 he comes out and is given a bouquet of flowers. At 87:17, a repeat clip from 86:50 is shown of Barenboim walking off (no sign of the flower anywhere). At 87:23 Barenboim is plucking a flower to hand to one of the players. This is very disjointed and some error must have occurred.

Also, the booklet note states that the Brahms symphony brought the audience to their feet. I was anticipating that reaction but could not see that visually from the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews