Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2010
This is one of those ageless films which quite frankly,cannot but please 100%. It is a film which leaves the viewer happy,contented and at peace with the world! Over the top with this review? Not a bit of it. If you want to buy a DVD which will entertain,and where the story line just takes you along to a happy ending,this is a 'must'!!! A Christmas setting; a little boy who would love a toy railway set; Robert Mitcham and Janet Leigh both at their peaks as film actors...who could ask for anything more. Just get it!!!
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
A wonderful movie, all you need at Xmas is this and 'Its a Wonderful Life' and you've cracked it. I've been awaiting this release for ages. Robert Mitcham and Janet Leigh are superb and for once Wendell Corey is just right as the miserable boy friend. Buy it, this is one of the few 10 star movies.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
An RKO Radio picture from 1949 made on a minuscule budget, but stylish and thoroughly likeable. From the witty opening of the title sequence, where you think that's a rather crummy model, to the inevitable ending, it's a lot more entertaining and says a lot more about human relationships in 87 economical minutes than most of the Hollywood fodder that's produced today.

Nice relaxed acting not only from the three stars (though it was a bit of a stretch of the imagination to see Robert Mitchum as a shop assistant), but also from all the supporting players. Director Don Hartman (who was usually the writer rather than director) gets a sweet performance from child actor, Gordon Gebert, who, unlike many of his contemporaries, is still with us.

The film is in black and white, the picture quality is very good and the sound good. Minus point: there are no subtitles for the HOH.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
This is an understated romantic comedy drama that is played out over the Christmas period and stars three big hitting actors in Robert Mitchum, Janet Leigh and Wendell Corey. Filmed in glorious b&w like all good Christmas films seem to be, I first saw bits of this little gem of a film last Christmas on BBC2, and saw enough to know that one day I would want to own the film on dvd.

It might seem odd to be browsing Amazon for Christmas films in the middle of the summer heatwave, but that's precisely what I found myself doing recently. When I remembered "Holiday Affair" from last Christmas, I found that a seller under the name of Energymusic was selling an all region version which had an extra 7 minutes to the film, a total of 87 minutes, compared to the region 2, 80 minutes version. So naturally I choose to buy the all region version and when it came I wasn't disaspointed. The picture and sound quality on this official Warner Bros release is fine.

The case and dvd states that the film is region 1 but it isn't, it is all region and will play fine on UK region 2 players. The only other difference than the fact that you get the full version of the film, is that the picture on the casing is different from the region 2 version. Unfortunately, there are no extras included on the disc.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Directed by Don Hartman and written by Isobel Lennart and John D. Weaver, Holiday Affair stars Robert Mitchum, Janet Leigh and Wendell Corey. Story finds Leigh as Connie, a widower with a young son still trying to get over the death of her husband. Semi-courting the safe and reliable Carl (Corey), Connie's head is spun when she meets the more macho and up-front Steve (Mitchum). This is all she needs at Christmas time!

A lovely Christmas Cracker of a movie, Holiday Affair never over eggs the eggnog with the love triangle axis beating at the core story. The spectre of grief is a prominent character here, where thankfully the writers have come up with a smart and respectful screenplay that's blessed with quality actors able to make the script have resonance.

The seasonal staging is delightful, especially when involving a white coated Central Park. Comedy is also rife, none more so than during a court hearing sequence when Harry Morgan pops in to add his delightful wry skills. The wonder of toys and trees, of snow and ice, of families and love, all come together in a seasonal film that should be on every movie lovers list of Xmas films to see. 8/10
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
This film is just gorgeous, almost as gorgeous as Janet Leigh in this.
A really charming and sweet film, buy it now it,ll make your day.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
Up there with Its a wonderful life, the story of a small boy and a electric train ,a chance meeting between the two leads leading to love,snow ,xmas,what more could you need oh and i did i mention bob mitchum, not as layered as wonderful life but very enjoyable , sueb
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
I love this film. I can watch it every year and not get bored with it. The story is so lovely and has you liking every character in the film. I'm so glad that we bought it. Highly recommended to all.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Cristmas, tinsel, snow, love AND Robert Mitchum....Heaven ! A treat to view at any time of the year. Enjoy x
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
Robert Mitchum has long been one of my favourite Hollywood stars. "Holiday Affair" shows a lighter side of his acting talent but is nevertheless classic Mitchum. A lesser known film really but well worth a watch if you are a Mitchum fan especially.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)