Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Affair
This is one of those ageless films which quite frankly,cannot but please 100%. It is a film which leaves the viewer happy,contented and at peace with the world! Over the top with this review? Not a bit of it. If you want to buy a DVD which will entertain,and where the story line just takes you along to a happy ending,this is a 'must'!!! A Christmas setting; a little...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by niloc

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not as good as as other Xmas movies a bit dull
Published 15 days ago by R Colville


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Affair, 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those ageless films which quite frankly,cannot but please 100%. It is a film which leaves the viewer happy,contented and at peace with the world! Over the top with this review? Not a bit of it. If you want to buy a DVD which will entertain,and where the story line just takes you along to a happy ending,this is a 'must'!!! A Christmas setting; a little boy who would love a toy railway set; Robert Mitcham and Janet Leigh both at their peaks as film actors...who could ask for anything more. Just get it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful movie, all you need at Xmas is this and 'Its a Wonderful Life' and you've cracked it. I've been awaiting this release for ages. Robert Mitcham and Janet Leigh are superb and for once Wendell Corey is just right as the miserable boy friend. Buy it, this is one of the few 10 star movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Philip G. Brown (Clevedon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
An RKO Radio picture from 1949 made on a minuscule budget, but stylish and thoroughly likeable. From the witty opening of the title sequence, where you think that's a rather crummy model, to the inevitable ending, it's a lot more entertaining and says a lot more about human relationships in 87 economical minutes than most of the Hollywood fodder that's produced today.

Nice relaxed acting not only from the three stars (though it was a bit of a stretch of the imagination to see Robert Mitchum as a shop assistant), but also from all the supporting players. Director Don Hartman (who was usually the writer rather than director) gets a sweet performance from child actor, Gordon Gebert, who, unlike many of his contemporaries, is still with us.

The film is in black and white, the picture quality is very good and the sound good. Minus point: there are no subtitles for the HOH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply gorgeous, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
This film is just gorgeous, almost as gorgeous as Janet Leigh in this.
A really charming and sweet film, buy it now it,ll make your day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Christmas film, 1 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film. I can watch it every year and not get bored with it. The story is so lovely and has you liking every character in the film. I'm so glad that we bought it. Highly recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must at xmas, 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
Up there with Its a wonderful life, the story of a small boy and a electric train ,a chance meeting between the two leads leading to love,snow ,xmas,what more could you need oh and i did i mention bob mitchum, not as layered as wonderful life but very enjoyable , sueb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
Cristmas, tinsel, snow, love AND Robert Mitchum....Heaven ! A treat to view at any time of the year. Enjoy x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not the film cover i ordered but the right film, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Jean Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
great good film for us oldies one more for my collecion and the list goes on plenty 2 choose from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Region 87mins full version review, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
This is an understated romantic comedy drama that is played out over the Christmas period and stars three big hitting actors in Robert Mitchum, Janet Leigh and Wendell Corey. Filmed in glorious b&w like all good Christmas films seem to be, I first saw bits of this little gem of a film last Christmas on BBC2, and saw enough to know that one day I would want to own the film on dvd.

It might seem odd to be browsing Amazon for Christmas films in the middle of the summer heatwave, but that's precisely what I found myself doing recently. When I remembered "Holiday Affair" from last Christmas, I found that a seller under the name of Energymusic was selling an all region version which had an extra 7 minutes to the film, a total of 87 minutes, compared to the region 2, 80 minutes version. So naturally I choose to buy the all region version and when it came I wasn't disaspointed. The picture and sound quality on this official Warner Bros release is fine.

The case and dvd states that the film is region 1 but it isn't, it is all region and will play fine on UK region 2 players. The only other difference than the fact that you get the full version of the film, is that the picture on the casing is different from the region 2 version. Unfortunately, there are no extras included on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great film, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Affair [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this DVD because the subject being Christmas appealed to me, the story was a bit different from all the other modern day Christmassey films and also I like Robert Mitchum who is a no-nonsense guy! Overall I liked the 'atmosphere' of the film and the fact that it is in black and white added to its charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holiday Affair [DVD]
Holiday Affair [DVD] by Don Hartman (DVD - 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews