Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Israel K - Somewhere Over the Rainbow Album
This is a very pure and gentle album that is real chill out stuff. It is nice to hear the wonderful quality and tone in Israel K's voice and to hear him sing about his homeland is uplifting. Naturally, most buy the cd for the cover of Somewhere Over the Rainbow which is amazing, but do please take the time to listen to the rest of the album as it is different, yes, but...
Published on 15 Jan. 2011 by Sassy56

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars his favourite track in recent times
Sadly, CD was bought to play the title track for my brother's funeral, his favourite track in recent times. I prefer the haunting choral version sung by my Edinburgh, senior secondary, school choir in the 60s, but it never made it to the recording studio for obvious reasons. Still, the haunting calm of his voice is not a bad alternative, and the ukele doesn't overpower.
Published 10 months ago by ngd


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Israel K - Somewhere Over the Rainbow Album, 15 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a very pure and gentle album that is real chill out stuff. It is nice to hear the wonderful quality and tone in Israel K's voice and to hear him sing about his homeland is uplifting. Naturally, most buy the cd for the cover of Somewhere Over the Rainbow which is amazing, but do please take the time to listen to the rest of the album as it is different, yes, but well worth a listen. It is fine for people to download single tracks if that is what they want to do but to do that would mean not hearing this wonderful (sadly no longer with us) mans beautiful voice. We all have our own opinions and views but I love to buy CD's and hope to be able to do so for many years to come. This is a must album in any collection. Buy it, play it, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His music is so good, I returned it to Amazon!, 4 Feb. 2011
By 
L. Sadler (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have given this 5 stars because I have been absolutely bowled over by Iz's music - I had never heard of him before. After playing the cd halfway I took it out the player and sent it back to Amazon. Instead, I ordered ALL of Iz's full cd's, plus three of the cd's he made with his former band. There is so much beautiful music on all of his cd's, the "Greatest Hits" one simply does not do him justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS, 4 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What a wonderful surprise this album was, so spiritual, relaxing, beautiful voice, meaningful, for summers in the garden for winters by the fire, so adaptable and very very beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings Sunshine Every Day, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a real chill out CD. The vocals and tracks make you feel you are forever in the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful..., 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Heard the song Somewhere over the Rainbow and just loved it so bought the CD, some of the songs are quite different and not as good but his voice and the ukelele come across so beautifully definitely recommend buying this - its a pity he is not with us anymore to make more of this beautiful music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spot on, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. Re Symonds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This was a gift to the wife, she played it once and never stopped playing it.She is over the moon with it, Says the songs and music are great and his voice is so soothing and smooth.We would another cd later on from the same singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have heard IZ's version of 'Over The Rainbow' many time on radio and in movies, so I decided to buy this record. It is one of the few I have seen that does NOT have 'Over The Rainbow' and 'What A Wonderful World' as a medley, they are separate tracks on this CD. Two other songs caught my attention on this CD, 'White Sandy Beach Of Hawai'i' and 'In This Life'. most of the other songs are sung in Hawaiian, but that does not take anything away from the album overall. Whether singing in Hawaiian or English, IZ's voice is a delight to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars his favourite track in recent times, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Sadly, CD was bought to play the title track for my brother's funeral, his favourite track in recent times. I prefer the haunting choral version sung by my Edinburgh, senior secondary, school choir in the 60s, but it never made it to the recording studio for obvious reasons. Still, the haunting calm of his voice is not a bad alternative, and the ukele doesn't overpower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IZ CD, 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you are wondering whether or not to buy this CD go right ahead and order!!
Every track is as fantastic as the previous. Everyone should love the music no matter what age.
My favourite CD of the moment and I will be looking to buy others from the same artist. Such a shame he is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful calming music to play over and over., 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
We bought this album purely for the title track and have completely fallen in love with the music of Iz. Very rarely do my husband and I agree on what to play in the car but this beautiful album is being chosen over ad over. So many favourite tracks now and not one that doesn't please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits
Somewhere Over The Rainbow - The Greatest Hits by Israel "IZ" Kamakawiwo'ole (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews