Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb addition
I've had this extender now for a month or so and have been using it on various walks and visits to the zoo so thought it was about time someone put up a review of the Mark iii.

I'd already read up on the extender mark ii and wasn't overly impressed, as there was too much lost in picture quality and functionally with the majority of cameras.

I...
Published on 31 May 2011 by Jason Brown

versus
146 of 159 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The loss of image and camera performance compromises the usefulness of this converter
A starting consideration:
It stands to reason that an extender at a few hundred pounds cannot possibly do anything like the job of a longer lens costing thousands of pounds.
If it did then Canon would soon be out of business!

So exactly what is on offer here and what is not?
A considered and truthful opinion from a professional photographer and...
Published on 23 Feb. 2012 by I. Giles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb addition, 31 May 2011
I've had this extender now for a month or so and have been using it on various walks and visits to the zoo so thought it was about time someone put up a review of the Mark iii.

I'd already read up on the extender mark ii and wasn't overly impressed, as there was too much lost in picture quality and functionally with the majority of cameras.

I personally use this on my Canon 550D to extend my 70-200mm f2.8 II L lens. (Another amazing lens from Canon, recommend to everyone!) I specifically brought the extender for this lens so I could get the extra reach of up to 400mm.

First impressions of the extender were, it is a little heavy. Not overly noticeable on its own, until you couple it on the camera and add the lens, the extra length/weight it adds does take it toll after a few hours. Although a very minor point.

The Picture quality is from what I know, outstanding. Yes there's a two stop penalty for adding the extender, but working together with a top quality lens, you still achieve amazing results. And because the lens I use it on only increases the f-stop to 5.6 the auto function work very well. A little slow and it does hunt at times, but I consider the pros of this extender far out weigh the cons.

If I ever need/want that extra length I don't hesitate to grab the extender. Its a superb companion with the 70-200 f2.8 II L lens.

The only downside to this review, is that I haven't tried using with any other lens, so I can't comment on its performance there. However If you're considering it I would definitely recommend you give a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging to use, but excellent image quality, 5 Aug. 2013
I use this with a 400mm f5.6L, but have also tested it with a 70-200mm f2.8L IS (see battery picture in the customer images). The 400mm f5.6 becomes 800mm f11 with no autofocus, and is therefore quite challenging to use even in good light.

On the other hand, the image quality is superb - far better than I expected. Of course, you'd never expect it to be as good as the 800mm f5.6L lens, but that costs £10,000 and weighs 4.5kg!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1.4 Extender - A Valuable piece of glass for any photographer!, 28 May 2013
This review is from: Canon EF Mark III 1.4x Extender (Accessory)
I debated long and hard on when and if to get one of these,mainly due to the negative wrap on the net I have read about them.Some I have read have gone along the lines of"I used this once,saw the appalling image quality and it resided in my draw untiled i sold it".When you as a potential purchaser read things like this,it can be very off putting,thus the reason why I have dug around further to find"Real Photographers" reviews.In the end I buckled and just bought one,because I came to the conclusion,if these destroyed image quality"that much" surely Canon would not still be making them,and indeed succeeded in taking them through into their III generation.Right from when you open the box,this extender exudes quality,its got weather sealing rings front and back,there is even a rubber bumper around the protruding element at the front to protect it from any minor collisions! The image quality is superb,and in effect doubled my L lens collection! How good is that! Apparently there is a slight loss of autofocus speed?-This I have not yet myself detected,however i would need to verify this on a tracked fast moving subject to be sure! I can confirm you loose 1 F-Stop,so a F4.0 lens becomes a F5.6,beware that if you put this on a F5.6 lens the lens becomes F8.0 which in turn means you will loose autofocus.Please personally check with Canon to confirm compatibility with your lens before purchasing,because there are a lot of Lop Eared "Vidiots" out there who will mislead you with wring information!! I can confirm this has been used on a 7D and 5D MKIII ,300mm F4L IS,and 70-200 F2.8L IS II - my next step is to rent a 2x and see how really bad that is!! Im a photographer,not someone who spends all day on the internet staring at other peoples resolution charts,and making up my own opinions & misleading people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon 1.4 x Extender, 16 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EF Mark III 1.4x Extender (Accessory)
The extender works perfectly with the Canon 400mm F2.8 MkII telephoto lens increasing the focal length to 560mm and the F ratio to 4 with neglegible increase in length compared with the Canon 500mm F4. The whole combination with the Canon 5D Mk III fits snugly into a Tamrac Expedition 8 backpack with no need to dissemble any of the components for transportation. The combination also produces wonderful wildlife images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 159 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The loss of image and camera performance compromises the usefulness of this converter, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A starting consideration:
It stands to reason that an extender at a few hundred pounds cannot possibly do anything like the job of a longer lens costing thousands of pounds.
If it did then Canon would soon be out of business!

So exactly what is on offer here and what is not?
A considered and truthful opinion from a professional photographer and his supplier.
Not everyone will be bothered by these professional provisos but everyone should understand the issues before considering purchase as follows:

........................

Firstly the hard facts:

1. This extender loses two stops of light which means that only 1/4 of the normal light from the lens will reach the sensor
2. Only series 1 cameras will only give auto focus at basic f8.0 or wider which means that the slowest lens possible for auto focus will be f4.0
3. Non-series 1 cameras will only give auto focus at basic f5.6 or wider which means that the slowest lens possible for auto focus will be f2.8
4. Both the f5.6 or f8.0 basic apertures with the extender fitted will increasingly be slow to latch on to focus in less than good light

the-digital-picture.com gives in-depth reviews of all lenses and full explanations of the above facts.

........................
My personal experience as a professional

This extender was bought primarily to extend the use of the 300mm F2.8 and the 70-200mm F.8 lenses. I had previously owned the original version of this extender and then the Mark 2. This mark 3 continues the improvement although it must be said that differences are slight and you need large images to fully see any real change. All three extenders have real matters of compromise to consider and these apply to this latest model too. The real issue concerns the loss of image quality and performance compared to full-length lenses and whether such losses are acceptable enough for the purchaser's purposes.

The intended advantage of using this extender with these two lenses is that you get greater magnification with full automatic features but at a much lower total weight (and cost) of buying another lens. The performance, flexibility and ease of use thus gained is supposed to be such that this works out as a useful piece of kit.

However it must be stated that this extender is less sharp than the 1.4 extender and that you also lose a valuable 2 stops of light which will have quite a major reduction in overall performance of the main lens being used. It really is only worth having if you are pairing it up with an F 2.8 lens because otherwise the focus may take too long to latch on, or may not even work at all if your basic lens is not fast enough. Use is also rather limited to bright conditions for reasons of speed and focus. Conditions in the USA may therefore be more suitable than in the UK for example and safari holidays may also be suitable uses for the same reason.

As a result I have found that I use it only very rarely and only then in particularly favourable lighting conditions and as a last option. I have never found the final image to be of sufficient quality to be useful professionally. In reality it really only works well enough to be considered with fast professional F 2.8 lenses. However, professionals would nearly always choose to use a longer lens because the loss of performance with the extender makes images too doubtful for professional use.

As a consequence this is nowhere as useful as the 1.4 extender in practice. A longer lens will always out-perform this extender coupled with a shorter lens and quite markedly. However longer lenses cost more, are heavier and simply more to carry about so this extender is useful as a fall-back option for occasional extra reach but at some cost of quality and operating performance.

.................................................

Professional supplier's opinion

I discussed this extender with my professional supplier on behalf of an enquirer not using my equipment and this was his considered advice:

1. The loss of 2 stops makes this a slow lens so an 100-400 f4.0-5.6 lens becomes f8.0-11.0 for example
2. Autofocus loss or prolonged searching becomes an issue with lenses slower than f2.8
3. This loss means that good light becomes very important and a futher limiting factor
4. Cropping will exaggerate loss of sharpness. Large crops do more damage than small crops
5. Large images, especially in print form, will exaggerate loss of sharpness
6. Older camera models with older processors are less able to handle the increase of digital noise
7. Cameras with less than full frame imaging will exaggerate loss of sharpness
8. Lenses without image stabilising will exaggerate loss of sharpness.

.........................................

Essential considerations:
In the supplier's view the best chance of success with this extender therefore would be to have a new model full-frame camera coupled with a USM lens with image stabilising and as fast an F stop as possible (F2.8 is, in his opinion, the only viable option). Avoid cropping and large prints as much as possible and always work in good lighting.

Conclusion:
Recommended only for the specific circumstances as above and especially for owners of fast F 2.8 lenses. Consider the pros and cons carefully before purchasing. You may be disappointed otherwise.

........................................

Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

I sincerely appreciate this kind of thorough review. As someone who is genuinely interested in learning as much about a potential purchase as possible, it's helpful for me to consider all experiences -- regardless of whether they seem to apply to me ..... So Thank You I. Giles for taking the time to leave this very helpful review. (U.S. review)

Thank you for your clear consise comments about this 2X teleconverter. I had always wondered why the 1.4 was more widely advertised than the 2X. Now I know why!
Thank you again. (U.S.review)

I would say this was probably the most realistic review their was on Amazon.If you absolutely have to have a Tele extender then go for the 1.4 only. The 2x extender will virtually cripple the 70-200 F2.8 cutting down to a shade under a 1/4 of the original light! (U.S. review)

Wow, thank you for taking the time to share your expert opinion here. I read so many "it's great because I bought it" fanboi reviews that it's refreshing to see a review that provides a series of well explained "pros and cons" in laymen's terms that also explain where the usefulness of the item being reviewed is and where it isn't. That's what I need to know. (U.S. review)

Thank you for this most excellent review. This clearly stated the issues, tradeoffs, and limitations that I face when considering a lens extender for my Canon 135L f/2. .... Please do not be put off by these negative anonymous reviews. Know that your efforts are very much appreciated. (U.S. review)

Congratulations on a fine and helpful review. I will now turn to the reviews on the 1.4. (U.S. review)

I'll also add my thanks for very helpful comments that give the underlying explanations of what all the fuss is about. As someone who enjoys amateur shooting of wildlife, the temptation to "go longer" is always great, but your explanation helps me understand why it's not worth it. Thanks again. (U.S. review)

I use the 2x extender on my 70-200 2.8L and the results are extremely poor. Shots are consistently out of focus and of poor quality. Consider renting this extender before you purchase. (U.S. review)

There are currently over 50 similar comments to read on the US review of this extender in addition to the U.K. ones below!

...........................................

A note to the anonymous negative voters:

The voting system is specifically only about reviews being 'helpful' or 'unhelpful'
Goodness only knows what you find to be `unhelpful' about this review.

A negative vote without reason is not helpful to anyone. It does not contribute in any useful way to discussion so no-one can learn from you.
If you have a different view or find the review 'unhelpful' then explain, giving your reasons, and share your views in the comment option as intended.

Your opinion might then add to the total useful advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please try before you buy!!!, 19 Jan. 2012
If you have 100 to 400mm 4.5L forget using this extender. 2 stops of light lost and the pictures are soft. No auto focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon 1.4x III Extender, 4 July 2011
This is a fantastic bit of glass. I was expecting some softening of the image when used with my 100-400L lens but there is none that I can detect. Resolution and contrast are top notch.

The only disappointment is that it only works in manual focus with the 100-400, so it means putting up with the hardship of manual focus when it is fitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Upgrade, 30 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Canon EF Mark III 1.4x Extender (Accessory)
This the latest version has slightly better glass and better enviro seals, I use mine with the 70-200 f2.8 is ii lens to increase my reach, with this adapter my fast glass stays fast (F4)distortion isn't worth mentioning as its so slight.

One thing to check before you buy is the lens compatibility information on the Canon website as the adapter isn't compatible with all L series lenses.

I find that I use the adapter more than I ever thought I would.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good upgrade over the previous two models but with use limited to good light, fast lenses and moderate prints, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EF Mark III 1.4x Extender (Accessory)
A starting consideration:
It stands to reason that an extender at a few hundred pounds cannot possibly do anything like the job of a longer lens costing thousands of pounds.
If it did then Canon would soon be out of business!

So exactly what is on offer here and what is not?
A considered and truthful opinion from a professional photographer and his supplier.
Not everyone will be bothered by these professional provisos but everyone should understand the issues before considering purchase as follows:

........................

Firstly the hard facts:

1. This extender loses one stop of light which means that only 1/2 of the normal light from the lens will reach the sensor
2. Only series 1 cameras will only give auto focus at basic f8.0 or wider which means that the slowest lens possible for auto focus will be f5.6
3. Non-series 1 cameras will only give auto focus at basic f5.6 or wider which means that the slowest lens possible for auto focus will be f4.0
4. Both the f4.0 or f5.6 basic apertures with the extender fitted will increasingly be relatively slow to latch on to focus in less than good light

the-digital-picture.com gives in-depth reviews of all lenses and full explanations of the above facts.

...............................................
My professional experience

This extender was bought primarily to extend the use of the 300mm F2.8 and the 70-200mm F.8 lenses. I had previously owned the original version of this extender and then the Mark 2. This Mark 3 continues the improvement although it must be said that differences are slight and you need large images to fully see any real change. All three extenders have real matters of compromise to consider and these apply to this latest model too.

The real issue concerns the loss of image quality and performance compared to full-length lenses and whether such losses are acceptable enough for the purchaser's purposes. I am not so sure that the difference between the mark 2 and this mark 3 will be readily apparent except under the most demanding circumstances coupled with cropping. Simply upgrading may not be worthwhile compared to buying this extender for the first time.

The intended advantage of using this extender with lenses constructed with wide enough open apertures is that you get greater magnification with full automatic features but at a much lower total weight (and cost) of buying another lens. The performance, flexibility and ease of use thus gained is supposed to be such that this works out as a useful piece of kit. The losses to consider are lower shutter speed, image searching and potential loss of image quality in large prints.

Most effective use is rather limited to bright conditions for reasons of speed and focus. Conditions in the USA may therefore be more suitable than in the UK for example and safari holidays may also be suitable uses for the same reason.

As a result I have found that I use it only very rarely and only then in particularly favourable lighting conditions and as a last option. I have never found the final image to be of sufficient quality to be useful professionally. In reality it really only works well enough to be considered professionally with fast F 2.8 lenses. However, professionals would nearly always choose to use a longer lens because the loss of performance with the extender makes images too doubtful for commercial use.

A longer lens will always out-perform this extender coupled with a shorter lens, quite markedly in poor light conditions, and will always be the choice of professionals and very keen amateurs. However longer lenses cost more, are heavier and simply more to carry about so this extender is useful as a fall-back option for occasional extra reach but at some cost of quality and operating performance. It should be noted that this short extender is far more effective than the 2 x extender which is very much more compromised in all the same ways.

...........................................
My professional supplier's opinion

I discussed this extender with my professional supplier on behalf of an enquirer not using my equipment and this was his considered advice:

1. The loss of a stop makes this a slower lens so an 100-400 f4.0-5.6 lens becomes f5.6 - 8.0 for example
2. Autofocus loss or prolonged searching can become an issue with lenses slower than f2.8 especially in low light
3. This loss means that good light becomes very important and a futher limiting factor
4. Cropping will exaggerate loss of sharpness. Large crops do more damage than small crops
5. Large images, especially in print form, will exaggerate loss of sharpness
6. Older camera models with older processors are less able to handle the increase of digital noise
7. Cameras with less than full frame imaging will exaggerate loss of sharpness
8. Lenses without image stabilising will exaggerate loss of sharpness.

..............................................

Essential considerations:
In the supplier's view the best chance of success with this extender therefore would be to have a new model full-frame camera coupled with a USM lens with image stabilising and as fast an F stop as possible (F2.8 is ideal). Avoid cropping and large prints as much as possible and always work in good lighting.

Conclusion:
This extender is therefore cautiously recommended as a good quick fix where an alternative lens without extender is not possible. However it would be wise to consider the pros and cons carefully before purchasing. You may be disappointed otherwise.

........................................

Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

A very thoughtful review. Thank you (U.S. review)

Amazing detail for an Amazon review thank you so much :]
Your review says it all no need to spend hours reading more, I spent about an hour online reading before seeing yours and again great work!!! (U.S. review)
Excellent Review, in three ways, (1)for the those among us with unlimited funds it makes for an informative read, (2) for that small group that only needs to take on 2 more side jobs and put the better half to work and not send the kid to a 'real' school. They can use this review to justify the cost of a 'Prime Lens' large enough so as not to need this peice of glass/paper weight. As for the rest of us now we will know what we are missing and why, and just maybe if we are VERY good Santa may bring us an 1.4 extender or maybe we could check your trash can and fish it out so that we can take low quality non professional photographs and hope that some day we can show them off to the unwashed masses.
So in parting, Great Review on all counts
Kevin (U.S. review)

This is a comprehensive review and very useful. It helps me make up my mind that this can be useful for my exact purpose which is to take sports pictures outdoors for a high school yearbook. The good lenses that I would love to have all cost far too much and their purchase is in the distant future. At least I can make an informed decision on this product knowing it has limitations. (U.S. review)
I appreciate the truthful and credible review. Often times, one cannot really know what to expect from expensive products as many reviewers tend to inflate their praise so as not to feel bad about their purchases. It's a human thing. But many of us with limited funds need to hear the real deal truth. (U.S. review)

Loving this review and the one for the 2x extender mkiii. ..... Cheers. (U.S. review)

Dear Ian,
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer this wonderful review and the follow-ups to comments. I can tell you truly enjoy your art. I am not a professional photographer, but I am a professional graphic artist and like to think that I'm an above average amateur photographer with hope that someday I can make use of the images that I am getting at this point. Obviously I was considering one of these types of devices or I wouldn't have read your review : ). Although I had a grasp of all the pitfalls that go with digital imagery presentation, printed versus computer screen, it just didn't dawn on me as a photographer until you brought it up in this review. I can see the alure of these extenders, but I have much more to consider now. Once again, thank you very much and I hope this comment finds you well. (U.S. review)

i found this review very helpful indeed as I was thinking of purchasing a converter for my canon 100-400mm but now am thinking to buy it more for my 100mm 2.8 macro as it will work better with that lens. so it was very helpful, shame about it not working so well with the 100-400mm though . (U.S. review)

Thank you for your excellent review. It has assisted me with my decision and I feel sure that many others appreciate your efforts. (U.K. review)
Your reviews are excellent thank you..... Thanks very much. (U.K. review)

Hi Ian,
I'm new to high end photography and have appreciated your in depth reviews and considered advice. Please keep the reviews coming.
Richard E. (U.K. review)

This reviewer has provided clear and concise guidance including ALL the pros and cons. It's refreshing to hear someone speak from real-world experience and to give a real-world review (warts and all) as opposed to being gushingly over-enthusiastic! I have definately decided to give the 2 x extender a miss and to go with the Canon 1.4. Good job I. Giles. (U.K. review)

...........................................

A note to the anonymous negative voters:

The voting system is specifically only about reviews being 'helpful' or 'unhelpful'
Goodness only knows what you find to be `unhelpful' about this review.

A negative vote without reason is not helpful to anyone. It does not contribute in any useful way to discussion so no-one can learn from you.
If you have a different view or find the review 'unhelpful' then explain, giving your reasons, and share your views in the comment option as intended.

Your opinion might then add to the total useful advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers the expected results., 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It does exactly what it said on the Canon website. It is now an essential addition to our camera bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canon EF Mark III 1.4x Extender
£329.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews