Customer Reviews

48
4.7 out of 5 stars
Rawhide - The Complete Series One [DVD]
Format: DVDChange
Price:£9.50+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on 17 December 2010
This was first shown in 1959 but the series was shown right through until 1966. This whole series is fantastic for anyone who liked Rawhide, or any of the television westerns.It is a nostalgic ride back in time and I loved it. I don't even think it is dated,I would highly recommend it.Makes me a bit sad to watch it, thinking about sitting as a family with my mum and dad, days long gone.It is black and white but anyone who grew up with black and white this is not a problem.It is a good quality recording and I would buy the second series also. I would give it 10 out of 10.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 20 January 2011
Some old TV series can be a disappointment when you view them many years later - they somehow don't look so good as your memory suggested! But "Rawhide" is an exception. Channel 4, to their credit, re-ran many of the episodes a few years back. "Rawhide" stands apart from so many 1960s Westerns, in which the heroes look so impeccably turned out, with never a speck of dust and dirt on then. Instead "Rawhide" portrays grubby, smelly, tatty drovers, who bleed when they get thumped or shot, and bicker amongst themselves; the series features historically-credible and authentic detail with consistently credible storylines. For instance, our heroes aren't referred to as "cowboys", but "drovers" - a minor point but hey, that's authenticity for you. The black-and-white photography seems to enhance the atmosphere and the acting's pretty top-notch from the ensemble cast too. This is classic quality TV. I wonder if the entire 220 or so episodes will be released..?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Being an elderly man in his early 60's, I well remember the TV series 'Rawhide' when I was just a school boy of 9 to 14. This western was a must for me and my school mates - we had to have our fix of Rawhide. I do remember puting on my hoster, cap gun and cowboy hat - and with my school mates we played Rawhide (and other western heroes) down at Ham Park (Poole Dorset). That's the way we were brought up with the western's of that era. And as we near the twilight of our years it is great to see those TV shows again. Once more we can settle back and enjoy what was our youth. The first series is brilliant, full of real good western enjoyment, just as I remember the series that I saw over 50 years ago. Okay! There are those that will say the picture quality is not up to 21st century standards - but this is nostalgia first class. This DVD plays well on my Blu-Ray system and it's in wide screen. The old meets the modern and has held it's own. Well done guys! I was going to ask for Series 2, but I have just found out that it is released in April - I've already pre-ordered it.
Purchase 'Rawhide' and relive your youth. "Head 'em up, move 'em out - Rawhide".
To the company that released 'Rawhide' - What about the other westerns like Cheyenne, Bronco, Wagon Train ect! Us elderly folk won't be around for ever. Lets watch the western's of yester-year.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
I first encountered RAWHIDE sometime during the 1980s, and like many I watched the repeats of the show that Channel 4 screened in the late 1990s. I was very impressed with the show and for a while watching it became a regular fixture of my weekends. Consequently, I'm enormously pleased that Paramount have begun to release the show onto a home video format.

At times, there's an odd, abstract quality about the series, as if the drovers are wandering through purgatory; some of the shows feature plot-points that verge on those you might expect to see in a horror film. For example, in one episode in the middle of nowhere a young drover stumbles across a man who has been hung upside down and disfigured with fire; and in another early episode, the herd is followed by a mysterious gunfighter (played by the great Dan Duryea). This abstract quality is reinforced by the fact that whatever problems the drovers stumble across, at the end of every episode they must continue to push the herd forwards: they are rootless, and unlike the heroes of many Western films and television shows the protagonists of this series are simply working men. They make mistakes; and if they are hit or shot, they are clearly wounded.

When I watched the show at a younger age, I saw Eastwood's Rowdy Yates as the star of the show, and it's hard not to let Eastwood's subsequent fame eclipse the other actors' roles in the series. However, revisiting the series, Eric Fleming steals the majority of the episodes: Gil Favor is the pivot around which most of the action revolves, and his background is shrouded in mystery.

I sincerely hope that Paramount decide to continue with the DVD releases of this well-loved series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 7 April 2011
Rawhide holds so many memories for me, like other reviewers I am transported back over 45 years with the whole family settling down to watch it. The series has many memorable features, not least the opening theme tune sung by Frankie Laine, without doubt the best ever western theme. Every episode ended with the refrain, 'Head'em up, move'em out!' usually (but not always) uttered by the trail boss Gil Favor (Eric Fleming). It was the quintessential western series and in my opinion the best. Seeing a few episodes on TCM enticed me into buying this set and I am so glad I did. There is always a danger when revisiting childhood favourites like this; seen through modern day eyes the production shortcomings become glaringly obvious and cause sadness and disappointment, but in this case I needn't have worried. I loved it from the start and was delighted at how well the series had stood the test of time. The storylines are intelligent tackling the problems familiar to cattles drives on the Sedalia Trail; the constant need for water, fighting amongst the drovers, hostility from towns and farmers, cattle rustlers and dodgy lone characters that crossed their path. I was surprised to find it tackled head on the issue of racial predudice (against Native Americans and Mexicans) at a time when racial segregation was still the norm in many southern US States. There is a substantial amount of violence but unlike so much modern TV it isn't gratuitous or graphic. It is filmed in black and white and for me this only added to my enjoyment as it gave an edge to it all. I found the scenes where the drovers are herding the cattle across vast dusty plains or through deep meandering rivers strangely satisfying; perhaps watching Rawhide as a boy planted a seed in my mind and I wanted to grow up to be a drover all the time but never realised it until now, too late I think. Given his phenomenal career, launched by this series, it was inevitable that today's marketing ploys promote Clint Eastwood as the star of the show. He plays the ramrod (a kind of foreman), Rowdy Yates, but for me the star always was and remains Eric Fleming. He is superb as Gil Favor, the hard as nails but fair-minded trail boss, who's job it is to get the cattle to the railhead at Sedalia, overcoming all kinds of obstacles and dicey situations in the process. Sadly his career was tragically cut short when he died in a drowning accident not long after leaving the series aged 41. Other memorable characters are the cook Wishbone (Paul Brinegar), his sidekick Mushy (James Murdoch) and scout Pete Nolan (Sheb Wooley). I'll definitely be buying more DVD sets of this series.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 5 January 2011
This series brings back so many wonderful memories. A great western, fantastic cast and plenty of action and adventure which stands the test of time to this very day.

A shame there are no subtitles, but having contacted Revelation Films to ask why, I now know that they will be included on series 2 and 3 which is great news!

Highly recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 25 October 2009
Throughout my childhood my television watching was dominated by two types of show, westerns and secret agents. Have Gun Will Travel, Gunsmoke, Wagon Train, Cheyenne to name but a few were particular favourites but the one which has withstood the ravages of time the most has been Rawhide.

Others will cite the large and looming prescence of Clint Eastwood as a major reason for this durability but for the me the success of this particular show likes elsewhere.

While the typical western concentrated on the wild west aspects of gunslinging, bank robbery, Indians, etc the plots of Rawhide are of a much different origin. To be sure there are aspects of those experiences but the backdrop and textures of Rawhide are much richer and complex.

For example, the black and white views of right and wrong out west are much more of shades of gray with the show. There is a greater degree of complexity involved and differing perspectives. People make mistakes and come to realise that. Older, wiser heads prevail over more hotheaded, reactive ones.

Similarly, Rawhide deals with issues which often would not be deemed worthy in the typical western. there is a greater human touch involved. Often it is easier to understand a perception of fear which engenders violent action as a pre-emptive strike than to see all of the protagonists as men of deliberate action.

The notion of lawlessness is also superceeded by a sense of the growth and limits of the law in the face of challenges, both physical and political, from people who live outside of the traditional lawkeeping forces of military or much later sherrif's personnel.

Character development is another understated aspect of this show where we see the community of trail herders grow with each passing mile. The almost father-son relationship between Gil favour and Rowdy Yates which results in the latter growing from a young hothead to an older wiser and more mature second in command is intersting to observe through passing episodes.

What I am trying to say is that Rawhide takes a broader view of the west than almost every other show and it is that which has sustained it's popularity over the years.

A great series which I am happy to watch over again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 28 May 2007
Some old TV series can be a disappointment when you view them many years later - they somehow don't look so good as your memory suggested! But "Rawhide" is an exception. Channel 4, to their credit, re-ran many of the episodes a while back. "Rawhide" stands apart from so many 1960s Westerns, in which the heroes look so impeccably turned out, with never a speck of dust and dirt on then. Instead "Rawhide" portrays grubby, smelly, tatty drovers, who bleed when they get thumped or shot, and bicker amongst themselves; the series features historically-credible and authentic detail with consistently credible storylines. For instance, our heroes aren't referred to as "cowboys", but "drovers" - a minor point but hey, that's authenticity for you. The black-and-white photography seems to enhance the atmosphere and the acting's pretty top-notch from the ensemble cast too. This is classic quality TV. Roll on the rest of the series please.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
Ah, teeny lass time! When I came to visit my cousins they were always on about Mr. Favor. They would drag out the cap-pistols and stick horses and play Rawhide. No one wanted be Rowdy Yates. They always forced my younger brother David to play Rowdy and he'd cry. Everyone wanted to be Mr. Favor. Handsome, sexy voiced Eric Fleming was a star on the rise. We saw him in various Sci-Fi flicks in the 50s like that horrid thing with Zaa-Zaa as Queen of Outer Space, and some nifty who dun its, but it was as Ms. Favor he was rising to the top. Hard to recall gravelly-voiced Eastwood was considered a wimp!

Favor was filming a flick in the Amazon during summer break and drowned. Hollywood lost a rising star and Rawhide lost Mr. Favor, dooming the series. It lumbered on with Rowdy taking over as trail boss for a time, only the series lack the force without the dominating presence of Fleming. It would be curious if we could turn back time and alter events--one wonders if Eastwood would have finally come out of Fleming's shadow and become the superstar he did had Fleming not died.

The series ran for 8 years, and holds up well. There were so many westerns during this period, and when you go back to view them, they are sadly quite dated. NOT Rawhide. The strength of the acting, the vision of the producers and directors, kept Rawhide popular back then, but also gives you stories which stands the test of time. Rawhide dates like a fine wine.

You also have the treat of see fading stars and up and coming stars in the stories.

It just doesn't get any better than this.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
CBS Television and Paramount Pictures presents "RAWHIDE: THE FIRST SEASON" (9 January 1959 - 25 September 1959) (1180 mins/In Glorious Black & White) (digitally remastered in Dolby) -- Rawhide was a television western series that aired on the U.S. network CBS from 1959 to 1966. The show starred Eric Fleming and launched the career of Clint Eastwood --- The series ran for eight seasons on the CBS network on Friday nights, from January 9, 1959 to January 4, 1966, with a total of 217 episodes, all filmed and broadcast in black and white --- It was produced and sometimes directed by Charles Marquis Warren who also produced early episodes of Gunsmoke --- Warren based Rawhide on the movie Cattle Empire that he directed in 1958 and for which Endre Bohem was a screenwriter and Paul Brinegar, Steve Raines and Rocky Shahan were actors; all also worked in Rawhide --- Its premiere episode reached the top 20 in the Nielsen Ratings. It rose steadily in popularity until, towards the end of the series run, it was one of America's top ten shows --- Rawhide was the fourth longest-running American TV western, beaten only by nine years of The Virginian and Wagon Train, fourteen years of Bonanza, and twenty years of Gunsmoke.

The episode would be introduced, usually by some words from Gil Favor but sometimes by others --- The typical Rawhide story involved drovers, portrayed by Eric Fleming (Trail Boss Gil Favor) and Clint Eastwood (ramrod Rowdy Yates), coming upon people on the trail and getting drawn into solving whatever problem they presented or were confronting --- Some of the stories were obviously easier in production terms but the peak form of the show was convincing and naturalistic, and sometimes brutal. Its situations could range from parched plains to anthrax, ghostly riders to wolves, cattle raiding, bandits, murderers, and so forth --- A problem on such drives was the constant need for water, and the scout spent much of his time looking for it, sometimes finding water holes, even rivers had dried up - In some ways it was similar to the TV series Wagon Train that debuted in 1957.

Of all the western characters on TV, these were the only real cowboys, because they drove cows. There were also sheep boys who drove sheep, pig boys who looked after pigs, etc. The name cowboys became a generic name in western films and TV series --- The theme song's lyrics were written by Ned Washington in 1958. It was composed by Dimitri Tiomkin and sung by pop singer Frankie Laine. The theme song became very popular --- It was covered several times and parts of the song also appear in more recent movies like The Blues Brothers and Shrek.-- (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

List of Season, Episode, Title and Original Air Date:

Season 1, Episode 1: Incident of the Tumbleweed (guest stars Terry Moore & Tom Conway) Original Air Date--9 January 1959

Season 1, Episode 2: Incident at Alabaster Plain (guest stars Martin Balsam & Troy Donahue) Original Air Date--16 January 1959

Season 1, Episode 3: Incident with an Executioner (guest stars James Drury) Original Air Date--23 January 1959

Season 1, Episode 4: Incident of the Widowed Dove (guest stars Sally Forrest & Jay C. Flippen) Original Air Date--30 January 1959

Season 1, Episode 5: Incident on the Edge of Madness (guest stars Lon Chaney Jr. & Marie Windsor) Original Air Date--6 February 1959

Season 1, Episode 6: Incident of the Power and the Plow (guest stars Brian Donlevy) Original Air Date--13 February 1959

Season 1, Episode 7: Incident at Barker Springs (guest stars June Lockhart & DeForest Kelley) Original Air Date--20 February 1959

Season 1, Episode 8: Incident West of Lano (guest stars Martha Hyer)
Original Air Date--27 February 1959

Season 1, Episode 9: Incident of the Town in Terror (guest stars Margaret O'Brien) Original Air Date--6 March 1959

Season 1, Episode 10: Incident of the Golden Calf (guest stars Macdonald Carey) Original Air Date--13 March 1959

Season 1, Episode 11: Incident of the Coyote Weed
Original Air Date--20 March 1959

Season 1, Episode 12: Incident of the Chubasco (guest stars George Brent, John Ericson & Noah Beery Jr) Original Air Date--3 April 1959

Season 1, Episode 13: Incident of the Curious Street (guest stars Mercedes McCambridge) Original Air Date--10 April 1959

Season 1, Episode 14: Incident of the Dog Days (guest stars R.G. Armstrong) Original Air Date--17 April 1959

Season 1, Episode 15: Incident of the Calico Gun (guest stars Jack Lord)
Original Air Date--24 April 1959

Season 1, Episode 16: Incident of the Misplaced Indians (guest stars Kim Hunter & Lyle Talbot) Original Air Date--1 May 1959

Season 1, Episode 17: Incident of Fear in the Streets (guest stars Gary Merrill & Bob Steele) Original Air Date--8 May 1959

Season 1, Episode 18: Incident Below the Brazos (guest stars Leslie Nielsen & Martin Landau) Original Air Date--15 May 1959

Season 1, Episode 19: Incident of the Dry Drive (guest stars Victor Jory)
Original Air Date--22 May 1959

Season 1, Episode 20: Incident of the Judas Trap (guest stars Nina Foch, Gerald Mohr & Phyllis Coates) Original Air Date--5 June 1959

Season 1, Episode 21: Incident in No Man's Land (guest stars Brian Keith, Reed Hadley & Mary Beth Hughes) Original Air Date--12 June 1959

Season 1, Episode 22: Incident of a Burst of Evil (guest stars Elisha Cook Jr, Linda Cristal & H.M. Wynant) Original Air Date--26 June 1959

Season 2, Episode 2: Incident of the Roman Candles (guest stars Beverly Garland & Will Wright) Original Air Date--25 September 1959

BIOS:
1. Eric Fleming (aka: Edward Heddy)
Date of Birth:: 4 July 1925 - Santa Paula, California
Date of Death: 28 September 1966 - Tingo Maria area, Peru (drowned)

2. Clint Eastwood
Date of Birth: 31 May 1930 - San Francisco, California
Date of Death: Still Living

Great job by Paramount Pictures and their staff for releasing this long awaited edition with collectible Seasons with unforgettable episodes --- looking forward to more of the same from the rousing CBS Television vintage era --- order your copy now from Amazon their Western Classics -- all my heroes have been cowboys!

Total Time: 1180 mins on DVD ~ Paramount Pictures ~ (07/25/2006)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Rawhide - The Complete Series Three [DVD]
Rawhide - The Complete Series Three [DVD] by Clint Eastwood (DVD - 2011)
£11.99

Bonanza Collection [DVD]
Bonanza Collection [DVD] by Lorne Greene (DVD - 2014)
£9.95
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.