Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead brilliant!
I was a bit worried when i found out that this book would be about a different group of kids and not the group from the enemy. But i was pleasantly surprised.
The action is great and the gore will genuinely make you squirm. The characters all have their own individual stories and you are gripped all the way
through. There are also some surprising twists that...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by pete

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies return
Charlie Higson doesn't hold anything back in this full-on gory fright-fest. If you want to see a zombie story done well then you definitely need to check out `The Dead'. I was a little disappointed that this book wasn't a direct sequel to Higson's earlier book `The Enemy' which I read last year and thoroughly enjoyed. Instead, the story takes place one year before the...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by SJH @ A Dream of Books


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for next one, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Dead (The Enemy) (Kindle Edition)
This was one of the first book i got on my kindle and i just could not put it down it was amazing and i answered a lot of questions left in the first book. Cant wait for the Fear the next on just want to know when it comes out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
This book is amazing! It is a very well written book that will make you sit on your chair gripping it with horror as you turn the pages. I would highly reccomend this book! Especially to teenagers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kick ass book to read really good, 12 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
This is a really good read because its non stop action through out the book and the kids are like mini versions of rambo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 13 year old son. He thought it was a follow on from the first book The Enemy.
He was disappointed that it wasn't but got into the book after the first chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't wait for the US version!, 16 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
I read an advanced reader's copy of the US release of The Enemy and LOVED IT! I checked online for the next book, and read that it had just come out, so when I was at a book festival in New York, I went to the Hyperion booth only to learn that The Dead wouldn't be released in the states until THE SUMMER!!!

So I came to amazon.co.uk and bought the British edition. And it was fantastic! Amazing!

I plan on getting a copy of the American release when it's out and comparing them side by side to see how slang and colloquialisms are changed. Great stuff, and I'm looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dead- One of the best zombie Books for young adults, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Dead (The Enemy) (Paperback)
The Dead is a squeal to The Enemy, set in an apocalyptic world, where anyone over the age of 14 dies from disease, or becomes a zombie like creature. The book is also a real pulse racer as no one is safe. I enjoyed the Enemy, and the Dead even more. While the Enemy feels more like a introduction, and gets us really questioning the disease, the Dead gives us some answers and feels like overall a bigger journey. Overall, a great book, although emotionally draining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 19 April 2011
By 
Anomynous (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dead (The Enemy) (Kindle Edition)
a great zombie book. couldnt put the book down, luv the characters. id definately recommend this book to anyone
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dead by Charlie Higson, 11 Mar 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (portsmouth, hampshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead (The Enemy) (Kindle Edition)
Great book fantastic twist on the zombie genre great characters but dont get to attached to any of them,because as in real life sh-t appens.One of the books you just carnt stop turning the pages to find out what happens next, damn you mr Higson.Very very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first one!, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
Unlike the first book, this story explaines more about the cause of the illness and is just all together way more awsome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable, 29 Oct 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Dead (Hardcover)
Im only eleven and i thought this book was amazing and sick. The author put a lot of detail in the book, like the enemy, but a bit less action.
CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dead (The Enemy)
The Dead (The Enemy) by Charlie Higson
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews