Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moderate opinion
First off let me qualify this review by observing that what you get out of this will entirely depend on your personality. If you've just discovered Dave Mustaine used to be in Metallica and tediously need to inform everyone on the internet you meet of this fact, well good for you. If you spend a medically unsafe amount of your time screaming the word `Slayer,' over and...
Published on 16 Nov. 2010 by Kingcrimsonprog

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excessive picture grain destroys what coulde've been otherwise a great concert package
The concert itself is amazing. All the bands sound great and are really into it. The crowd is very active and the cam angles are good. Fantastic show overall.

Only downside is the terrible picture quality. Seriously, there is so much grain it ain't even funny. Even the daytime scenes look like shot in SD and then upscaled to HD. And that's a shame. This...
Published on 15 Oct. 2012 by Stefan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 Aug. 2012
By 
Germano (Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
this is a great show, I recommend to anyone who likes to heave metal. worth buying the 4 gig are great and the four bands playing together is really awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A great package! All 4 bands play great shows, especially Megadeth & Metallica. It's nice to see 3 of the bands (+Dave Lombardo) jamming together on stage. The bonus documentary is worth a watch too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Big 4 on Blu-Ray, 16 Aug. 2011
By 
Ian Devlin "ilikerock" (Glasgow UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you have a blu-ray player and you like any (or ALL) of the Big 4, my advice is simple: BUY THIS BLU RAY PRODUCT! This is my first Blu-ray disc purchase and I can honestly say the quality is literally jaw-dropping. I watched Megadeth's hour-long set first. Face-melting picture and sound. This is the way we were meant to enjoy home entertainment. DVDs were just a warm- up for Blu-ray. 10stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Blu-ray!, 7 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Fantastic Blu-ray, featuring the Big 4 Live in 2010.

Sound quality 10/10 (kicking, when turned up to a sensible 'metal' level)

Picture quality 8/10 (can be grainy at times, whether this is intentional or not, it does detract from the otherwise crystal clear viewing experience)

Additional features 9/10 (interesting and amusing documentary included)

Movie 10/10 (for me Megadeth steal the show on this Blu-ray, they're truly awesome - Metallica are as good as ever and do not disappoint - Slayer are good, but not really my thing - Anthrax seem ok, but really not cup of tea at all so i can't comment)

All in all, a worthy addition to any fans collection and i highly recommend this to Megadeth fans as in my opinion, this is them at their very best (although the Rust in Peace Live Blu-ray is pretty cool too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the buy for Anthrax and Megadeth, 30 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I love thrash metal, but I trully don't like Slayer. Metallica I used to like. The Metallica set list is very good but I didn't like the way they performed live on this recording.

Now Anthrax and Megadeth are a complete different story. Both are worth every penny. I was expecting the Anthrax similar to the live video of music of mass destruction which is more heavier, but this is one the true Anthrax!!! Great!!!
Megadeth is spectacular. The begining of the show was something complete different from anything that I've ever seen no good night, hello that bla bla bla, no intro music just they step in stage looked at the crowd and just said here we go. Also a great set list. I missed the "take no prisioners", but that is ok.

Great buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hellyeah!, 26 Mar. 2011
By 
Rui Miranda - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
First of all this is the first Metrallica's Blu-ray release worth owning. The live recording in France was very nice, but out of sync, this one is a master gig in a big stadium and everything about it is fantastic, picture, sound and setlist are all that you can wish from a Metallica concert. That alone deserves the 5 stars. You also get an historical recording that also features quite nice performances from Anthrax and Megadeth. The only downside is Slayer's perfomance, but then again nothing is perfect (I bet Slayer hardcore fans will love it anyway) and is not enough to ruin the package, hence the 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The big 4 doing the same old, good or bad., 9 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Megadeth and Metallica are the definete highlights on this great live marathon.
Anthraxes set seems a little thin, theres no safe home for a start which i love, many more could have been added, but they get the pit going well and they are excellent live no question.
Megadeth have the songs and the buzz and the rain, Dave Mustaine is pitch perfect as per and every song played superbly, great set of classic songs.
Slayer are Slayer, no nonsense headbanging, pit perfect tunes, Shame Tom can't headbang anymore, guttin!!, still he can tap his feet.
Theres a couple of new songs from World painted blood, but no Human Strain???? My fav, there set again feels a little laclustre, but classics throughout.
And to Metallica, they are perfect as usual, i'm not a huge tallica fan, but they always deliver and if your metal u respect there dedication and hard work.
Theres a set list to get any hardcore fan salivating, ( no St anger thank god) a few new tracks thrown in.
The extras are fun and overall i recommend this to fans of live metal and a tribute to some of the gods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 5 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
what a DVD, fairplay. All four bands were awesome and I'd probably say that Megadeth were the best even though Metallica are my favourite band. At the end when all four were onstage it was awesome to see Mustaine and Hetfield/Hammett/Ulrich altogether. The delivery was quick and the package was in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone else notice the poor PQ??, 16 Jan. 2011
By 
L. W. Newton "lwn83" (Nottingham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is the first Blu-Ray disc I have purchased, I don't know if I have a faulty copy but the picture quality is not fantastic, yes it is very sharp and clear but becomes grainy on low light level shots, I have other rented BDs and the picture is stunning, maybe I have a faulty copy??

As for the concert it is great, Metallica being the highlight for me, yes there are a few missed beats and dropped notes but it is LIVE and not messed about with. The DTS-HD audio is mind blowing, crank up the cinema surround system and you have the full effect of this concert, without the missiles of beer and god knows what else!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big 4, 3 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonisphere 'Live From Sofia' - Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This product is a must purchase for any fans of metal music. 4 bands that have defined thrash metal for thirty years sharing the stage for the first time. The camera work and sound quality is spotless and adds to the viewing pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews