Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on 16 December 2010
For those who worry about such things, this is the uncut version of Curse of the Werewolf. The common version, as seen on TV through the decades, was missing the brief bloody mirror shot when the camera returns to the prostitute's bedroom, and the bullets impacting on the Werewolf's body at the end. Very brief sequences I know, but essential factors in releasing the tension so skilfully built up by the director. "Curse of the Werewolf" is one of Hammer's very finest films, presented here in excellent quality.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on 15 October 2010
The Curse Of The Werewolf is a Hammer horror film, directed by Terence Fisher and
released in 1961. Considered controversial at the time it was made - the film was heavily censored in the UK by the BBFC. By today's standards it's all rather tame and this DVD release has been given a 12 certificate.

Set in Spain, for no other reason than Hammer had Spanish sets left over from an abandoned Spanish Inquisition film. Very little of interest occurs in the first hour: a mute servant girl is raped by a beggar, nine months later she dies giving birth, the child (called Leon) grows hair on the palms of his hands and suffers nightmares, goats are found with their throats ripped out. There's a cool scene where the priest attempts to christen the baby, only for the water in the font to suddenly begin boiling. Another good scene sees a hunter making silver bullets. But all this could have been told in thirty minutes - not sixty.

Oliver Reed (playing the adult Leon) doesn't appear for 45 minutes. Then we have to wait an hour into the film for the carnivorous lunar activities to finally kick off. And it is at this point that Curse Of The Werewolf becomes classic Hammer.

Oliver Reed (then only 22) is very good in the lead role. The supporting cast are of a high calibre too, including Clifford Evans, the very beautiful and busty Yvonne Romain, and Hammer regular Michael Ripper. The werewolf make-up is fantastic too.

Respect must go to Final Cut Entertainment for making this hard to find film available on DVD in the UK. There are no problems with the sound or picture quality. The picture is in full screen. The DVD does not have subtitles and there are no extras.

One more thing, this DVD release has a great front cover - very much in keeping with the old Hammer style.

three and a half stars.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 November 2014
There is little doubt that this 1961 classic is up there with the best werewolf movies of all time. It really does have everything, from young Oliver Reed to smoking hot Yvonne Romain, from beautiful sets to eery effective music.
I wont put any spoilers in here suffice it to say this is a true Hammer Horror classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 September 2015
FINAL CUT have reissued this classic Hammer film on blu-ray now
with a new HD transfer that does look excellent very nice sharp & clear picture quality better than the old dvd version
plus FINAL CUT have also carried over all the special features from the old 2 disc steelbook edition which is 5 years or more old
which includes the Lengthy making of Documentary and other featurettes aswell
so if you love this classic hammer film, your better of buying the new blu-ray version
which has much better sharper & clearer picture quality for sure
plus as i said all the extras are on this blu-ray Disc to
so 5 stars for the blu-ray version, 1-2 stars for this old 2 Disc dvd
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 April 2015
LOL, hilariously funny film. Bad acting, sets, make-up story but blimey it was enjoyable for all the wrong reasons. :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 January 2011
As other reviewers have mentioned, I think this is a bit of a Hammer classic. I Don't agree that nothing happens in the first 45 mins. There is sadism and beautiful sets and costumes, and Anthony Dawson in the role of a lifetime, chewing valuable Bray sets all over the place. Then there is Yvonne Romain... and Richard Wordsworth truly scary as the mad sad beggar who rapes her. When Reed appears I agree it really takes off and the 90' arrive too soon. My only slight complaint concerns the other actresses who, for me, don't quite work. But then there is always a replay of Yvonne.. Fine picture quality and sound. A bargain and a must for horror fans and Hammer completists.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 16 February 2012
For a special edition a commentary track would also have been welcombe. So onto Disc 2. The main documentary runs about 40 mins and is hosted
by sculptor Mike Hill who does a good job. Anyone who loves this film will be pleased to see interviews by Vyonne Romain, Catherine Feller,
Margaret Robinson, Don Mingaye and Jimmy Sangster who talk about the film and Hammer in general.
There is a second short doc on werewolves, a stills gallery and a collection of 8 reproduction small uk front-of-house stills clipped inside the left side case.
The front image to the steelcase is dull compared to the poster images available for the film.
I dont regret purchasing it, simply because of the lovely Vyonne Romain who is stunning and funny talking about asking Hammer to use a stand in
to get put into Black Park Lake but was refused as her face would be visible to the camera when getting pulled out.
I think the main point though is that for the price you are getting the same previous transfer.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 21 April 2012
I hope P. Hanson will forgive me for stealing his title's review. I fully agree with him that the film is quite uneven but contrary to him I think the strengths and the weaknesses are at the opposite end of the movie. I loved the first thirty minutes, with Richard Wordsworth (famous as the mutating astronaut in "The Quatermass Xperiment") as a simple, deranged beggar turning into a mad animal; Anthony Dawson, starring as the sadistic count, ageing into some sort of revolting human being; and of course the absolutely beautiful, cleavage-friendly Yvonne Romain, from whom I couldn't take my eyes off. The film remains great until Leon's baptism (very atmospheric scene) but after this Fisher (as he sometimes does) falls asleep at the wheel. For the next hour, the film loses pace and rests exclusively on the very broad shoulders of Oliver Reed, who makes a commanding performance, but there is no chemistry at all between him and his love interest - the quite tame Catherine Feller - and I believe this is the movie's major flaw. The last ten minutes are amazing though thanks to Reed's transformation and his very believable portrayal of a werewolf, courtesy of a beautiful make-up by Roy Ashton. Bernard Robinson's sets are as beautiful as ever and the film looks great - even if I miss the photography of Jack Asher (sacked by Hammer some time before, to be replaced by the still dependable Arthur Gordon). So 4 stars from me because this is pleasant and the first half-hour is really good and so are the ending and Oliver Reed's performance, but I had more sympathy for "The two faces of Dr. Jekyll", "Taste of Fear" and "The Full Treatment", all movies made by Hammer roughly at the same time.
The bonus disc is very moving with extensive interviews with Margaret Robinson, Oliver Reed, Jimmy Sangster, Yvonne Romain and Catherine Feller. A very nice package and obviously the uncut version of the film in bright, shiny colors.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Interesting but not the film I was hoping for, my fault, not anyone else's. A staid and predictable plot with staid and predictable acting
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 16 December 2013
2 discs. Feature running time: 89 min. Audio: Dolby Digital 2.0. Feature aspect ratio: 1.85:1 (16:9)
Region 2. NO subtitles. Digitally remastered picture.

* 'The Making of The Curse of the Werewolf': 44:17 min. documentary covering many aspects of the film.
* 'Lycanthropy - The Beast in all of us': 03:16 min. featurette about the werewolf concept.
* Stills gallery (rare and unseen)

+ Set of 8 postcards (in colour) based on the original UK theatrical stills.

The Curse of the Werewolf, which source material range from Guy Endore's novel The Werewolf of Paris (1933) to the slaughter of a young boy that took place in the backwoods of France in 1598 by an mentally ill beggar, is without doubt a classic horror B-movie.
Folklore legends, myths and superstitions abound in this film which gets better as the minutes go by. Some minor issues here and there - the frivolity that shows Don Alfredo Corledo (Clifford Evans) in the last scene for example, but all in all, this 2-disc collectors edition is a must get for any fan of the genre.
A little curiosity: Desmond Llewelyn ("Q" in the old 007 movies) plays a small part as a 1st Footman.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Gorgon [DVD]  [2010]
The Gorgon [DVD] [2010] by Christopher Lee (DVD - 2010)

Curse Of Frankenstein [DVD]
Curse Of Frankenstein [DVD] by Peter Cushing (DVD - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.