Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb horror classic
The Curse Of The Werewolf was released in 1961, directed by Terence Fisher, who was one of Hammer Films' best directors. It is notable also for being Hammer's only werewolf film. The film stars Oliver Reed and Clifford Evans, among others and TV favourite Warren Mitchell makes his only Hammer films appearance also in this film. I have always enjoyed this film and I...
Published 20 months ago by FJY

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars wrong but good enough
I wanted peter cushings Werewolf classic and This was displayed in amongst a parade of peter cushing films so...so I didnt notice it wasnt the peter cushing film. ahem. However, this films not bad (for its type I mean,for old hammer horror-type aficionados), so...'never mind'. [Anybody selling the Cushing film?].
Published 4 months ago by StoneMan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb horror classic, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Curse Of The Werewolf was released in 1961, directed by Terence Fisher, who was one of Hammer Films' best directors. It is notable also for being Hammer's only werewolf film. The film stars Oliver Reed and Clifford Evans, among others and TV favourite Warren Mitchell makes his only Hammer films appearance also in this film. I have always enjoyed this film and I consider it to be one of Hammers' finest films, though some of the other reviews I have read of it seem to be a bit harsh on Oliver Reed. We don't see him until about halfway through the film, but plenty happens in the first half of the film. This doesn't ruin the film for me, though. The print of the film used for this DVD is as good as can be expected for a film of this age and it looks a lot better than some of the other films of this age that I have on DVD. You may be interested to know that this is also the complete and uncut version of the film, including more violence and gore than in previous versions. I am aware that this version was screened on TV by the BBC back in 1994, but I never saw that, so this was the first time that I had ever had the chance to see the uncut version and it is much better than the previous versions, which were all heavily cut. I recommend this film to any Hammer Horror fan, or any fan of classic horror or werewolf films. I am pleased to give this film the full five stars. Classic Hammer film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uncut, 16 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD] (DVD)
For those who worry about such things, this is the uncut version of Curse of the Werewolf. The common version, as seen on TV through the decades, was missing the brief bloody mirror shot when the camera returns to the prostitute's bedroom, and the bullets impacting on the Werewolf's body at the end. Very brief sequences I know, but essential factors in releasing the tension so skilfully built up by the director. "Curse of the Werewolf" is one of Hammer's very finest films, presented here in excellent quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First 60 minutes - average. Last 30 minutes - superb, 15 Oct 2010
By 
P. Hanson (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD] (DVD)
The Curse Of The Werewolf is a Hammer horror film, directed by Terence Fisher and
released in 1961. Considered controversial at the time it was made - the film was heavily censored in the UK by the BBFC. By today's standards it's all rather tame and this DVD release has been given a 12 certificate.

Set in Spain, for no other reason than Hammer had Spanish sets left over from an abandoned Spanish Inquisition film. Very little of interest occurs in the first hour: a mute servant girl is raped by a beggar, nine months later she dies giving birth, the child (called Leon) grows hair on the palms of his hands and suffers nightmares, goats are found with their throats ripped out. There's a cool scene where the priest attempts to christen the baby, only for the water in the font to suddenly begin boiling. Another good scene sees a hunter making silver bullets. But all this could have been told in thirty minutes - not sixty.

Oliver Reed (playing the adult Leon) doesn't appear for 45 minutes. Then we have to wait an hour into the film for the carnivorous lunar activities to finally kick off. And it is at this point that Curse Of The Werewolf becomes classic Hammer.

Oliver Reed (then only 22) is very good in the lead role. The supporting cast are of a high calibre too, including Clifford Evans, the very beautiful and busty Yvonne Romain, and Hammer regular Michael Ripper. The werewolf make-up is fantastic too.

Respect must go to Final Cut Entertainment for making this hard to find film available on DVD in the UK. There are no problems with the sound or picture quality. The picture is in full screen. The DVD does not have subtitles and there are no extras.

One more thing, this DVD release has a great front cover - very much in keeping with the old Hammer style.

three and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review (Special Collectors Edition Steelbook), 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ABOUT THE DVD:
2 discs. Feature running time: 89 min. Audio: Dolby Digital 2.0. Feature aspect ratio: 1.85:1 (16:9)
Region 2. NO subtitles. Digitally remastered picture.

EXTRAS:
* 'The Making of The Curse of the Werewolf': 44:17 min. documentary covering many aspects of the film.
* 'Lycanthropy - The Beast in all of us': 03:16 min. featurette about the werewolf concept.
* Stills gallery (rare and unseen)

+ Set of 8 postcards (in colour) based on the original UK theatrical stills.

FILM REVIEW:
The Curse of the Werewolf, which source material range from Guy Endore's novel The Werewolf of Paris (1933) to the slaughter of a young boy that took place in the backwoods of France in 1598 by an mentally ill beggar, is without doubt a classic horror B-movie.
Folklore legends, myths and superstitions abound in this film which gets better as the minutes go by. Some minor issues here and there - the frivolity that shows Don Alfredo Corledo (Clifford Evans) in the last scene for example, but all in all, this 2-disc collectors edition is a must get for any fan of the genre.
A little curiosity: Desmond Llewelyn ("Q" in the old 007 movies) plays a small part as a 1st Footman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First 30 minutes - superb. Last 60 minutes - average, 21 April 2012
By 
Autonome (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hope P. Hanson will forgive me for stealing his title's review. I fully agree with him that the film is quite uneven but contrary to him I think the strengths and the weaknesses are at the opposite end of the movie. I loved the first thirty minutes, with Richard Wordsworth (famous as the mutating astronaut in "The Quatermass Xperiment") as a simple, deranged beggar turning into a mad animal; Anthony Dawson, starring as the sadistic count, ageing into some sort of revolting human being; and of course the absolutely beautiful, cleavage-friendly Yvonne Romain, from whom I couldn't take my eyes off. The film remains great until Leon's baptism (very atmospheric scene) but after this Fisher (as he sometimes does) falls asleep at the wheel. For the next hour, the film loses pace and rests exclusively on the very broad shoulders of Oliver Reed, who makes a commanding performance, but there is no chemistry at all between him and his love interest - the quite tame Catherine Feller - and I believe this is the movie's major flaw. The last ten minutes are amazing though thanks to Reed's transformation and his very believable portrayal of a werewolf, courtesy of a beautiful make-up by Roy Ashton. Bernard Robinson's sets are as beautiful as ever and the film looks great - even if I miss the photography of Jack Asher (sacked by Hammer some time before, to be replaced by the still dependable Arthur Gordon). So 4 stars from me because this is pleasant and the first half-hour is really good and so are the ending and Oliver Reed's performance, but I had more sympathy for "The two faces of Dr. Jekyll", "Taste of Fear" and "The Full Treatment", all movies made by Hammer roughly at the same time.
The bonus disc is very moving with extensive interviews with Margaret Robinson, Oliver Reed, Jimmy Sangster, Yvonne Romain and Catherine Feller. A very nice package and obviously the uncut version of the film in bright, shiny colors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD] (DVD)
Another great classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wrong but good enough, 2 Jun 2014
By 
StoneMan (Bath,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted peter cushings Werewolf classic and This was displayed in amongst a parade of peter cushing films so...so I didnt notice it wasnt the peter cushing film. ahem. However, this films not bad (for its type I mean,for old hammer horror-type aficionados), so...'never mind'. [Anybody selling the Cushing film?].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A werewolf classic, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Greg S "Buck" (Kildare,Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD] (DVD)
Reed at his best and hammer gives horror an atmospheric film with a classic take on a true monster story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars underated classic?, 17 Jan 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD] (DVD)
As other reviewers have mentioned, I think this is a bit of a Hammer classic. I Don't agree that nothing happens in the first 45 mins. There is sadism and beautiful sets and costumes, and Anthony Dawson in the role of a lifetime, chewing valuable Bray sets all over the place. Then there is Yvonne Romain... and Richard Wordsworth truly scary as the mad sad beggar who rapes her. When Reed appears I agree it really takes off and the 90' arrive too soon. My only slight complaint concerns the other actresses who, for me, don't quite work. But then there is always a replay of Yvonne.. Fine picture quality and sound. A bargain and a must for horror fans and Hammer completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not the film I was hoping for, ..., 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting but not the film I was hoping for, my fault, not anyone else's. A staid and predictable plot with staid and predictable acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD]
The Curse of the Werewolf [DVD] by Terence Fisher (DVD - 2010)
£9.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews