Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't turn it off!
New albums can either go one of two ways; disappointing and not worth the build up or hype - or they can surpass even the most optimistic of expectations and be absolute treasures. This is definitely the latter. Fans will even be caught offguard by the sheer talent and directions this album goes in whilst those new to the band ought to be drawn in because there's...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by Fks Reynolds

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars quality commercial American heavy metal
Stone Sour are a fine band who I had the pleasure of seeing live a few years ago at the Download festival, Castle Donington, UK. This is a much more commercial radio friendly album than the band's previous releases. But it displays Corey Taylor's fine vocals and his ability to construct great harmonies and melodies against the backdrop of thudding bass and crunching metal...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by Neil Kernohan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't turn it off!, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Fks Reynolds "sparkly_spike" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
New albums can either go one of two ways; disappointing and not worth the build up or hype - or they can surpass even the most optimistic of expectations and be absolute treasures. This is definitely the latter. Fans will even be caught offguard by the sheer talent and directions this album goes in whilst those new to the band ought to be drawn in because there's something for everyone and it's all so well done. Stone Sour are going to be around for a very long time, and if this is the standard they're working to, bring it on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio secrecy WOWNESS, 9 Sep 2010
By 
N. Coidan "N.Coidan" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ive only been a stone sour fan properlly for about 2 years now, orignally i like some of there stuff then i saw them live a few times and changed my mind, this album ic completey different Jim Root says it best on the DVD "we did'nt want it to be come what ever may 2" and the the album it self hav'nt picked a favorite track yet so i'll say all of them, each one is written with passion and soul and thats a good enougth reason to buy the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album and worth the wait, 17 Sep 2010
By 
Jez1972 (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audio Secrecy (Audio CD)
First of all every band has the right to evolve and change if it's the same thing over and over it would be boring! i have Stone Sours' first two albums and both are different and this one is as well the songwriting on here is of high quality songs like Let's Be Honest, Dying and Hesitate are amazing but the whole album is, it's a bit more melodic and couldn't be any further from the other two albums if it wanted to be it's hard to pick out my favourite track because they are all fantastic and i believe they have a new army of fans it went top ten in the UK this week! This album is an essential metal purchase buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as I'd hoped, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Valleysboy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been looking forward to the Audio Secrecy for some time so I'm pleased to announce this is an excellent album. Generally this is more of a mellow outing by Stone Sour but once you get past that the quality of the tracks is quite something. Clearly Taylor et al are trying to step further away from Slipknot and this does that, though it may alienate some fans who prefer the harder flavour of metal.

I for one though appreciate the mixture of hard/soft metal and the sheer quality of the album. Looking forward to the tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop listening to it, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Valleysboy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio Secrecy (Audio CD)
i've been looking forward to the Audio Secrecy for some time so I'm pleased to announce this is an excellent album. Generally this is more of a mellow outing by Stone Sour but once you get past that the quality of the tracks is quite something. Clearly Taylor et al are trying to step further away from Slipknot and this does that, though it may alienate some fans who prefer the harder flavour of metal.

I for one though appreciate the mixture of hard/soft metal and the sheer quality of the album. Looking forward to the tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what have I been missing!?, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio Secrecy (Audio CD)
I am new to this sort of music. When I first heard it I was blown away. What have I been missing!? Still only played it a couple of times, but cant get enough! If all their albums are like this one, then I will be over the moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite albums at the moment. I would recommend this to anyone, at the moment.
If you intend to listen to something before you buy, I'd recommend 'Home Again' and 'Dying'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Marmite..., 14 Sep 2010
By 
Michael (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audio Secrecy (Audio CD)
I really feel that this is another strong album from Stone Sour. Granted it's not like their other two and granted it's not as heavy but I believe it still delivers the same quality as the others. Sometimes you can buy a second/third album of an artist and sounds exactly the same as the last and can tire quickly. These guys have obviously tried to create a varied sound with each album they produce, which I think shows their true talent! This album will not be for you if you are expecting a real heavy sound, it's a lot mellower than their last two. Corey said that people will love this album and people will hate this album and he's spot on but for me, I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Sour : Back in the saddle, 6 Sep 2010
As a huge fan of the previous 2 Stone sour efforts, I had high hopes for the release of Audio Secrecy, especially following all the hype and build up the band themselves had placed onto the release.

It is with great pleasure to state that Audio Secrecy is everything I had hoped for and then some. As very much a fan of all aspects of music and rock/ metal music in general, it was nice to have an album which left no stones unturned. Corey Taylor himself described the album as `heavy, melodic, dark, slow, light and beautiful', or more to the point `everything I've ever wanted to do in one album'. These statements are definitely backed up with this release, as this album has it all, hard, fast, slow, melodic and heavy music passages. It really does try to cram it all in, meaning the album has songs that fit any mood the listener may be in at the time.

Ranging from the faster paced and heavier songs like Mission Statement, The Bitter End and Digital, to the more melancholy moments like Imperfect, Miracles and Hesitate. Stone Sour 'Audio Secrecy' is for me the album of the year.

After 20 + listens already I am yet to pick a favourite track, with it forever changing. This is not to say the album doesnt have any stand out tracks... it is just extremely solid throughout, with absolute zero filler. Even the 3 bonus tracks available on this version of the album are of a high standard and do not feel tacked on as can usually be the case with "bonus" songs.

If you liked the previous Stone Sour album, Come What(ever) May, you should love this release. However, if you are going into the album expecting a straight forward Metal album more reminiscent of early Slipknot, look elsewhere, as you will only be left disappointed. Due to this fact, I'm sure this will be the album where Stone Sour step away from Slipknots shadow and gather there own fanbase, to take with with them onto there no doubt continued flirtation with the more melodic side of the rock scale over the coming years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50% Heavy 50% Melodic, 6 Sep 2010
From the beginning Corey said that "People are going to love this album and people are going to hate this album" I think it might be cause on the previous Stone Sour albums there has only been 1-2 Melodic songs, where as on Audio Secrecy its pretty much gone 50/50 so if Sour fans are looking to get something like the first Album then that wont be the case. BUT. I would put it on par with Come What(eva)May as there is more then a few songs I am constantly having on loop in the last 48hrs. All in all Stone Sour have made another album worth purchasing, just be prepared for alot of melodic songs on here though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Audio Secrecy
Audio Secrecy by Stone Sour
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews