Customer Reviews


286 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maintains the standard of this superb series
This is the fourth and final story in Ann Cleeves's Shetland Quartet, and Perez is on his home territory of Fair Isle, to take his fiancee, Fran to meet his parents. The murder of a woman in Fair Isle's bird observatory during a period of particularly turbulent weather means that Perez has to begin his investigations alone because it isn't possible to call on help from...
Published on 1 Mar 2010 by joc66

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear
I've really enjoyed the Shetland series thus far, but it all goes wrong when Jimmy Perez returns to his native Fair Isle, with his fiancee Fran, to visit his parents. Then someone is found stabbed and as the weather is too bad to bring in more people Perez must investigate on his own.

One of the most pronounced and unusual things about the preceding three...
Published on 28 Feb 2011 by Constant Reader


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maintains the standard of this superb series, 1 Mar 2010
By 
joc66 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the fourth and final story in Ann Cleeves's Shetland Quartet, and Perez is on his home territory of Fair Isle, to take his fiancee, Fran to meet his parents. The murder of a woman in Fair Isle's bird observatory during a period of particularly turbulent weather means that Perez has to begin his investigations alone because it isn't possible to call on help from the Shetland Mainland. The number of suspects is limited by the location and the weather but that doesn't make Perez's task any easier. At the best of times, Fair Isle is an isolated location and the atmosphere generated in this excellent novel during a period of late autumn storms just increases this sense of isolation. Cleeves's detective Perez is an excellent creation whose character has deepened as the series has progressed, and in this story, Fran plays a more prominent role than in the previous book (Red Bones). Perez's parents are also well-drawn and realistic characters and the cameo roles for other islanders are also nicely drawn. There is lots of material here about "twitchers" and detail about the birds themselves and the work of the bird observatory which has been well-researched. As usual, it is the evocation of the setting which steals the show but the plot is labyrinthine and intricate making this an absorbing read. I would recommend that you read the other three books in the Shetland Quartet before embarking upon this one. Although the murder mystery here is complete in itself, this one definitely feels like the culmination of the series.
I do hope that Ann Cleeves can be persauded to revisit the Shetlands and Jimmy Perez at some point in the future.
This is a superb series of detective stories which maintains its high standard throughout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 28 Feb 2011
By 
Constant Reader (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've really enjoyed the Shetland series thus far, but it all goes wrong when Jimmy Perez returns to his native Fair Isle, with his fiancee Fran, to visit his parents. Then someone is found stabbed and as the weather is too bad to bring in more people Perez must investigate on his own.

One of the most pronounced and unusual things about the preceding three books was the way in which Jimmy investigated crimes through the network of island associations and rumour. This is abandoned in this book as the only fully defined island characters are Jimmy's parents. The claustrophobia that Cleeves may have been trying for as a trade off didn't really work for me.

The ending is a bit of an anticlimax, with a couple of gratuitous plot twists that left the next 20 pages feeling a bit superfluous. Again, I can see what she might have been aiming for, but it didn't really come off. And its hard to imagine the document referred to would have any legal standing or be acceptable.

Overall, I wish I'd stopped at book number three. I wish the author had as well, as its fairly easy to predict which way the story will go after this - if it returns at all and I'm not sure I trust her any longer to deliver the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph, 19 Aug 2010
By 
Nicola "nicola_in_southyorks" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This is the final novel in Ann Cleeves's Shetland Quartet, and it's as good as, if not better than the other three. What I particularly liked about Blue Lightning is that the author has written about something she knows very well: working as the cook at the Fair Isle Bird Observatory. For me, it made it special to know she was writing about something that she had experienced.

The setting is so atmospheric. I could really feel the closed in environment of the small island, and the weather, which stopped people getting on and off the island, giving a real sense of claustrophobia. The usual characters are in there, but this time Inspector Jimmy Perez is on his home island of Fair Isle, investigating murders in his usual reserved, yet probing, fashion.

I am so sorry to have come to the end of this series. Like other reviewers, I would love it if we could have more of Jimmy Perez and the Shetlands, but if not then I feel Blue Lightning was a perfect final chapter. These books are highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A slow read, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Lightning (Shetland) (Kindle Edition)
This was my first and last read of the Shetland books. A mixed handful of people in an isolated location, cut off by bad weather. One of them murdered the others suspects. Probably not the first time this plotline has been used. I found it slow reading. Perhaps the author's intention was to recreate the slow pace of Fair Isle life.
I found the mandatory twist leading to the reveal unnecessary and depressing. It added nothing to the plot. The detective of course knew who it was from the off by knowing a few vital pieces of information that were not included in the telling. Purely a personal taste but I did not like it and I am not tempted to read another of this author's work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-downable!, 4 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hope this isn't going to be the last we hear of Inspector Perez in that "Blue Lightning" is the final book of Ms Cleeves' "Shetland Quartet". This is another really well written and well-researched thriller which had me guessing almost to the end. Having visited Shetland and Fair Isle in the past I can visualise the locations and they just make we want to go back there - especially now the killer has been caught!
I for one would be more than happy if there are some more "Shetland" stories following Inspector Perez's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blue Lightning, 24 Jan 2013
By 
David Rice "Hugh" (37420 France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the three earlier books in the Shetland series, and enjoyed this as much - until the end. The end just made me angry. Some may admire the "emotional punch". Personally, I don't read detective stories for that sort of effect. I doubt if I shall risk reading the next in the series. I only hope I'm not put off Vera Stanhope too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow-up, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the masterful Red Bones I couldn't wait to read the fourth of the Shetland quartet, but this has been the only one of Cleeves' books I haven't liked. It's as if she got bored with the lot of them, or even as if someone else has written this one - I found the plot was predictable from around the middle of the book, and became something of a cliche as an ending to an otherwise terrific saga. Even the characters weren't so well drawn as usual, the usual atmospheric brilliance seemed laboured. A shame, but I won't bother with the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled..., 1 Oct 2012
By 
Jadi (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read and thoroughly enjoyed the whole Quartet now. They are gripping,literate detective novels with convincing characters and story-lines. This final book was no exception and I would have given it five stars, but I'm afraid I hated the ending and it spoiled the book for me. As another reviewer said - unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blue Lightning, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I normally enjoy Ann Cleeves' Shetland books, but while this was a reasonably interesting mystery, it didn't grab my attention as much as the previous books in the series. I liked the details of Perez's back story, but the descriptions of the island were a little vague. The ending was so downbeat it made me miserable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 11 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like other reviewers, I loved the first three books and was looking forward to reading this one. Unlike other reviewers, I didn't feel it was anywhere near as good. Firstly, the plot was formulaic - bring in a load of odd characters, wave a few motives and red herrings, then the murder occurs. The plot device of a murder committed where the protagonists are isolated by geography and/or weather is also very over-used. Secondly, the fact that there was so much emphasis on a minority activity like twitching made it seem like Midsommer Murders goes to Scotland. Thirdly the plot development at the end was unnecessary and detracted from the story. Fourthly the big attraction of the previous three books was the Jimmy's position as simultaneously part of the community and investigating it, with plots hinging on deep-rooted family relationships and local history. Setting the fourth book away from Shetland, with a crime committed amongst incomers and tourists, turned it into just another murder mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Lightning (Shetland)
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews