Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Gangster Collection [DVD]
Ultimate Gangster Collection [DVD] brill delivery, brill set would recommend and excellent value. My daughter loved this collection for xmas . A must for all gangster movie lovers
Published 5 months ago by DebbieJ

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4 Very Good Films BUT Only 2 Worthwhile HD Transfers to Blu-ray + the 5-Disc Edition is Likely To Be Better Value
Firstly, if this boxset tempts you do ensure you prefer it over the 'alternative', almost identical, edition which adds 'Scarface'; perhaps unsurprisingly, the only real way to tell the superior version is being sold is to check if the legend 'Scarface' sits sneakily at the base of the vertical listing of the included titles on the outer box (assuming it is pictured) to...
Published on 19 Jan 2012 by Mr. Laurence Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4 Very Good Films BUT Only 2 Worthwhile HD Transfers to Blu-ray + the 5-Disc Edition is Likely To Be Better Value, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Ultimate Gangster Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Firstly, if this boxset tempts you do ensure you prefer it over the 'alternative', almost identical, edition which adds 'Scarface'; perhaps unsurprisingly, the only real way to tell the superior version is being sold is to check if the legend 'Scarface' sits sneakily at the base of the vertical listing of the included titles on the outer box (assuming it is pictured) to make the total = 5, or if the retailer makes a positive effort to mention that it is included (most don't). As the price might be more attractive, here's the Amazon product link for it :

The Ultimate Gangsters Box Set 2011 [Blu-ray]

Even allowing for the omission of 'Scarface' this collection is, in my opinion, a good way to dip into the world of organised crime/gangster films as they are all very decent efforts from noteworthy directors with good production qualities and notable casts - no 'duds' included, as so often can be the case with these type of boxsets....

I'm not sure there is a real standout classic and, for me, they all have just about equal standing and their own individual merits.

Happily, the collection is 'simply' that outer box holding the standard retail Blu-ray editions of each feature in their respective blue Blu-ray case.

Sadly, there are blemishes with this collection. Yes, the transfers are all 'proper' HD with the requisite improvement in resolution/soundtrack format BUT 'Casino' suffers from a horrendous prevalence of print damage (ie it has not been 'cleaned-up') and 'American Gangster' looks no better than an upscaled DVD.

In the case of 'Casino' this matter is unforgivable as the regular 'intrusion' of small white flecks onto the screen is very distracting and makes watching the film on Blu-ray a struggle; remastering really should have been easily possible for what is a relatively modern film.

As far as 'American Gangster' is concerned, the transfer is completely unblemished - it just doesn't offer any noticeable improvement. Having said that, what you do get is the extended edition and all the additional extra features from the expanded DVD edition on the one Blu-ray disc - so it does offer something extra.

The remaining 2 films are definite improvements and present themselves extremely well. 'Public Enemies' is a modern production so was always likely to be impressive, but the significant improvement to the older 'Carlito's Way' is a pleasant bonus.

If you want more detail, I've written individual reviews on Amazon for some of these films on Blu-ray, namely 'Casino', 'American Gangster' and 'Public Enemies'. Here are the links to them (or get to them easier/direct by going via my Amazon profile) :

Casino [Blu-ray][Region Free]
American Gangster [Blu-ray][Region Free]
Public Enemies [Blu-ray][Region Free]

So, if priced attractively and acceptably lower than the 5-disc edition, this boxset is a worthwhile purchase as opposed to buying the Blu-rays individually and also because the films are all quality efforts, offering varying degrees of improvement over their DVD editions - except in the case of 'Casino', unless you can see beyond the print damage (I couldn't) in which case you'll be very happy/just as satisfied with it as the other 3 Blu-rays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An offer you can't refuse, 12 July 2014
By 
Dave Ormston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Carlitos Way and Scarface are almost the same movie, and American gangster is a middling pastiche, but this collection is STILL a fantastic weekends boys viewing ! Get the beers and chips in !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Gangster Collection [DVD], 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ultimate Gangster Collection [DVD] brill delivery, brill set would recommend and excellent value. My daughter loved this collection for xmas . A must for all gangster movie lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can i say it is the ultimate gangster collection - some very good films inside for all you gangster fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Consider buying separately, 27 Nov 2011
By 
Charles A. Crolla (Glasgow, Lanarkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Giving such a comparatively low rating to a box set which has films others might regard as 'classics' is difficult - and possibly unfair.

American Gangster isn't a bad film, but others might enjoy it better than I did. It comprises 3 DVDs, only one of which is the actual film.

I actually dozed off during Carlito's Way, despite Al Pacino (sporting a grubby beard).

Mean Streets I never got around to watching.

Scarface (3 DVDs), despite loving it when I first saw it, had me wishing it had been directed by, say, Coppola rather than by DePalma on viewing it again. Dare I suggest it's overrated? And overacted?

Best was Casino, directed by Scorsese, and starring de Niro, Sharon Stone, and my favourite screen psychopath, Joe Pesci.

If you like the films, buy this collection, otherwise, consider buying them separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Gangster Box Set (DVD) Review, 9 Aug 2011
It is excellent. I bought it as a present and the recipient loved it. All the films were in great quality and it kept the birthday boy quite for hours :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Gangster Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Used & New from: 12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews