Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of John Martyn's finest
Although John was past his artistic peak by the time of this release he would still go on to put out some very fine music, and this was the best of his post 70's output. It's actually as good as any of his key works but perhaps not so creative and vital as the essential Bless the Weather, Solid Air, One World etc releases of a few years earlier. It's one of the best...
Published on 4 May 2011 by Mr. Philip Baird

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eighties slick
Being a huge fan of John Martyn I love practically all his work - especially his seventies output from 'Bless the Weather' to 'Grace and Danger'. In recent years I've come to really appreciate his more recent work as well, like 'The church with one bell' , 'Cooltide' and 'Heaven and Earth'. One of the missing pieces though was 'Glorious Fool'.
I can't hide the fact...
Published on 21 July 2012 by J. R. P. Wigman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of John Martyn's finest, 4 May 2011
By 
Mr. Philip Baird (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glorious Fool (Audio CD)
Although John was past his artistic peak by the time of this release he would still go on to put out some very fine music, and this was the best of his post 70's output. It's actually as good as any of his key works but perhaps not so creative and vital as the essential Bless the Weather, Solid Air, One World etc releases of a few years earlier. It's one of the best albums of the 1980's by any artist and has some of John's finest compositions, particularly the definitive recording of Couldn't Love You More, and the sublime Hold On My Heart with a beautiful flugelhorn solo. The Phil Collins sound is all over it but actually adds to the dynamics and texture of the album for the better. It's a companion piece to Phil's own Face Value and came out around the same time. I always preferred the more introspective side of John's muse but the couple of harder edged pieces on here really work and set off the overall melancholy of the album. Even by his standards the emotion and feel achieved on this record is quite beautiful and it could perhaps be considered his most overlooked masterpiece. Go on and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb hard to find album, 27 May 2004
This review is from: Glorious Fool (Audio CD)
Of all of John Martyn's recordings this one seems to be the hardest to find and is a real gem. Recorded with Phil Collins and Eric Clapton around the time all 3 of them were divorcing. this is a really dark album with a lot of the sounds that would go onto make Face Value appearing here. "Please Fall in Love with Me" is nothing short of a demo of "In the Air Tonight" and "Couldn't Love You More" is re-recorded here in its best form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Fool, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious Fool (Audio CD)
I have been a John Martyn fan since the late 1970's, and I have most of his albums, although some of the older ones are only on cassette. So I decided to buy this CD so it would last. I hadn't listened to the album for about 10 years and wondered how it would stand the test of time. No worries...it sounds better than ever. Many die hard JM fans denigrate this album for being a deviation from the norm but that to me makes it all the more special. It allows us to hear a lighter approach to his expression, and coupled with beautiful melodies and always meaningful lyrics plus awesome percussion, this album is a gem and is well worth a listen, even to those new to John Martyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John at his best, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious Fool (Audio CD)
This album is simply John Martyn at his best. I may be biased, as it brings back memories of a gig where he played and played and played - until he was dragged off stage by the road crew. The folk-jazz-bluesy guitar and slurred lyrics are just so typical of John and the tracks? Every one is a stand out! There are other albums - and many of then woould rate 5 stars too. But for me this is the five star starred album. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eighties slick, 21 July 2012
By 
J. R. P. Wigman "Hans Wigman" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious Fool (Audio CD)
Being a huge fan of John Martyn I love practically all his work - especially his seventies output from 'Bless the Weather' to 'Grace and Danger'. In recent years I've come to really appreciate his more recent work as well, like 'The church with one bell' , 'Cooltide' and 'Heaven and Earth'. One of the missing pieces though was 'Glorious Fool'.
I can't hide the fact that I was really disappointed. 'Couldn't love you more', for example, is a pale shadow of the glorious song it is on 'One World'. All tracks on 'Glorious Fool' suffer greatly from the slick production they've been subjected to, and to me it seems that this record sounds much more dated than anything John Martyn did before or after.
So, just two stars - I would probably bestow more stars on it had it been by anybody else, but this is by the great man himself. As you may have gathered, this is by far my least favourite John Martyn cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats!, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Glorious Fool (Audio CD)
Definitely, as you'll know reading this, JM was one great genius. This is not representative of his output. It stands alone as a one-off 5-star album. Why? If I could tell you, I wouldn't love it so much. Don't fear Phil Collins' involvement - buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars glorious fool, 21 May 2010
This review is from: Glorious Fool (Audio CD)
Glorious fool = glorious album... wonderful recording though some tracks are so 1980's but still a wounderful peice of work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD Purchase, 19 Jun 2009
By 
Peter Jessop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glorious Fool (Audio CD)
The CD was competitively priced and arrived very soon after the order was confirmed so no problems were experienced at all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glorious Fool (Digital)
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews