Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best comedian/standup I have ever heard, 26 Feb 2004
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
If you like your comedy in the gentle or nudge nudge format this is not for you - but if you like it in your face and forcing you to reconsider some of the things we take for granted , smokimg drinking drugs, music then buy this, get a beer , sit back and just listen to one of the best comedians there has been - sadly Bill Hicks died 10 years ago but he just as relevant today - a great loss. His humour is savage but so well observed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First CD easily as good as the rest..., 5 May 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
I have come to the end of my Bill Hicks Odyssey!
I haven't read all the books, but this is the last DVD/ CD of Bill's that I hadn't tried &, needless to say, I wasn't disappointed.

If you've listened to Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks, then you will find the best bits of this CD fairly familiar (Tracks 2, 3 & 9). If you're like me, you also may be recognise much of the other material, although there is plenty that is unique to this album (e.g. tracks 1, 4, 6, 7 & 8).
The great thing is though that, familiar or not, this is still a great album, on a par with Relentless & certainly not lacking in Hicks' insight.

There are elements that Hicks improved on with later albums, such as his vision at the end (which is a little weak on this CD, but has all the right elements). Furthermore, there is no music or material on religion but, when this is compared to the first efforts of other comedians (e.g. Eddie Izzard - Unrepeatable), this shows the man on top of his game even 4 years before his untimely demise.

Two things I'd say in criticism though:
First is that track 4 (beyond minute 5) is by far the most disgusting material I've heard from the man as it delves into paedophilia & you can almost tell the audience is a little reviled by it.
Second is that (on the version I bought) the titles don't match the tracks. Assuming this is true of all CD's, the correct listing seems to be:

1. Modern Bummer
2. Flying Saucer Tour
3. Smoking
4. We Live In A World... (?)
5. The War on Drugs
6. Burning Issues
7. I Love My Job
8. My Parents
9. Please Do Not Disturb
10. The Vision.

All round though, this CD is impressive & deserves its hallowed status as a classic. Not quite up there with the masterpieces Rant in E-Minor & Arizona Bay, it still hits the spot & is surprisingly undated. Here's hoping the movie (American - The Bill Hicks Story) is as good.

P.S. Call me a nerd, but on my profile you will find reviews for ALL the CD's of Bill Hicks...
I really need to get layed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy that makes you think, 3 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
i never tire of dangerous, its a great collection of hick's work, a funny funny man with the ability to make you laugh until you cry as well as make you think without knowing it about the subjects he touches upon.
an essential purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous, 6 Nov 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
This is a great album showing Bill at his funniest and probably one of the best places to start, along with Relentless. It's not as caustic as Rant in E-Minor and was recorded early in his career, but is a great album regardless. I love it that he can make you laugh and open your eyes wide to the irony in life at the same time. His political jokes are sharp and witty and his life observations are not only true, but hilarious. The drugs jokes are hilarious, especially when he mentions being so wasted he dances to the police car lights!!! Not necessarily one to share with your mum, but one to share with all your friends, family and colleagues and as many people as possible!!! Simply brilliant.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Early Hicks, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
This is a good example of Hicks the comedian. People focus on his work as a preacher but he was very funny. All the favourite subjects are present such as drugs and pornography. His arguments for them are different to the "suck Satan's cock" routine he would perform later. My own personal favourites are "We Live In A World" and "My Parents". If you have only heard of Bill Hicks through reputation and hearsay then buy this recording first. Extremely funny. This isn't a matter of taste or perception, I can prove this on an Etch-A-Sketch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 8 Dec 2002
By 
Steven Moses - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
Bill Hicks was and still is the greatest stand-up comedian that ever lived BAR NONE! He was lewd, pornographic and totally honest with his comedy and he didn't care who he upset because he knew what he was saying was the truth. Hicks was a paradox in that much of his humour was aimed at the country he both loved and hated and the huge contradictions found in the USA. No one was safe from his sharp observations and his intense wit. War, drugs, sex NOTHING escaped his critical eye and like any brilliant comedian he could make you laugh and think simultaneously. This and 'Relentless' are the 2 best Hicks recordings I have found. The others are so so for Hicks but saying that they are still brilliant. Here he is on top of his game, not letting up on issues that are important to many of us. I just wish he was still around to help us make sense of a crazy world but wherever Hicks is he won't have missed the irony of his own death. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a guy, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
This was a nice change. I have to admit. I have most of his albums and a lot of the material is the same. Still makes me laugh though. This had a lot of other material which was refreshing to the ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
A visionary comic, not afraid to challenge social norms of thinking. Even if you don't agree with him his delivery and messages are powerful enough to grab and entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex, drugs and rock and roll, 27 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerous (Audio CD)
I never got to see Bill Hicks live. Saw him on tv back in 1991, he blew the screen away and I was hooked.
I've recently bought "Dangerous" again as I wore the old cassette out-yep, it's that good.
This performance has bits of everything-social observation,political rants,sexual angst,family feuds and just darn funny stuff.
Mark Thomas and Robert Newman are the comedians who are keeping Bill's spirit alive now-listen to the man himself,wonder why you never got to see him either and weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4985f18)

This product

Dangerous [Explicit]
Dangerous [Explicit] by Bill Hicks
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews