Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can feel it within me..., 10 April 2004
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
When i first heard this album, i thought "yeah, okay, funny" but after a couple of listens it suddenly hits you; This cd shows you how to deal with the things we don't want to deal with.
Although it is impossible to agree with EVERYTHING he says, we can all find truth in this album. In parts, it is very uncomfortable to listen to (14-You're wrong night) because it seems like this is the sound of a man who knows his time is running out, and is so frustrated at the way he has to leave things. However, Bill never loses his comedy. Every time it seems as though hes about to slip into some kind of emotional stupor liek some comics do, he tells a joke that makes you smile so much your face hurts. Bill tells us to step away from the world and look at it laughing. It may be angry laughter, it may be laughing in disbelief, yet it is still laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont get Dumb , Get This!!!!!, 3 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
Whilst the one star review on this page is a valid opinion I cannot agree. This is Bill hick's last and best (currently available)recording...He was aware he was terminally ill at this point and he is going down fighting with this incendiary performance. Yes it is very Angry, sometimes hostile and all the the better for it, AND IT IS VERY FUNNY. If you have ever cringed and despaired at the ironies of modern western society, you must listen to this performance. It genuinely soothed me to find I was not alone with my views on how sick, greedy and just plain stupid we are becoming, because our "democratic Governments of the free world" want/need to keep us that way .
You will shed tears of laughter hearing Bill's views on gays in the military and pro-lifers and tears of sadness hearing his outbursts of frustration at moronic elements in his audience, and realising for yourself how grim the TRUTH is. Bill Hicks was absolutely for real. Despite being absolutley hilarious it does not do Bill hicks any justice to compare him to any other comedian - He was not a comedian - he just told the truth as he saw it with passion ,force and a razor sharp wit.
With everything that is happening in the world right now, Bill's
observations are more relevant (and important) than ever. God knows what Bill would make of the current situations, war on terror, Iraq (again!!!) the witholding of AIDS drugs from third world nations,Continuing destruction of the environment etc etc. If you don't find it funny, or think Bill was just a bitter cynic, well thats O.K. just turn on the TV, flick to American Gladiators Drink some Beer and help keep the lies intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best hicks available, 23 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
This c.d. is the most vicious and funny Bill Hicks material available, i am writing this in the week that marks bill's deaths tenth aniversary and i must say that his passing was a tragedy and a loss to the sane world plus the silenceing of a true voice of freedom and peace. this c.d. captures the spirit of the ages that we still living in-so little has changed in the world since bill was alive and concequently his outlook and observations is totally relevent today. Forget about words like offensive and foul that are often bandied about in the same sencenses as bills work-this work is merely holding up a mirror to the world and showing the truth of the way corperate america is holding the world by the balls and increasing the strength of its grip by the minute, it also shows the systematic lowering of standards that is rife in the world and the crap that people are forced to think that that they had some decision in chosing to purchase. this c.d. will wake you up to many subjects that are ignored,censored or brushed under the carpet in the most eye opening way imagineable. this c.d. will also have you laughing heartily about the pomposity within us all. you will be left with a feeling that you have discovered there is a reason to fight and there is a lot to fight back against. listen to this and free your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commited, fearless, accurate ...Bill Hicks but a little bit more so., 27 Dec 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
How many comedians would use the line "All Governments are liars and murderers" soberly as part of their act? Well maybe Frankie Boyle would in an ironic sarcastic way ...probably ... but even he at his most focused and vituperative wouldn't come close to some of the material on this C.D.
Rant in E-Minor was originally released posthumously in 1997 some three years after Hicks death from pancreatic cancer. Hicks knew he was dying when he performed the material on this C.D and it must have liberated him somewhat as it is easily his most angry , concentrated , acerbic album .The shackles have been removed to such an extent that Hicks at one point can be heard literally screaming at his audience.
Fear not though for this is not an extended purging of one mans soul - like primal therapy on stage which would have been compelling but unsettling and probably not very funny. As it is Hicks is ,as ever , angry and sour but as ever he hits with laser like precision on his usual targets- religion, the arrogance and duplicity of government , pro-lifers( "evil annoying idiot ****s), sex, the hypocrisy of women, drugs and ohhh not forgetting Jay Leno ( of who he does a very good impression) and Billy Ray Cyrus -a " jar head , no talent cracker asshole".
So it is very funny but while being very funny it also makes some incendiary salient points many of which still hold true today. How drugs that expand the consciousness and that grow naturally are illegal and yet alcohol and tobacco which make us forget how we are "being ****** everyday of our life's are not .As Bill says "I'm sure their motives are pure ". How the fuss about gays in the military is gross hypocrisy " don't want any gay people round me while I'm killing kids ". How if you want to end the budget deficit ( very pertinent in Britain now) you should should just legalise pot .
Some of the material may be a touch close to the knuckle ( if not ramming their five knobbly protrusions down your throat) if you are easily offended or even maybe if you're not as the stuff about Rush Limbaugh and Jim Swaggart proves but it made me laugh like a hyena in a pillow fight. If you think Peter Kay taking the mickey out of a reality TV talent show( a ridiculously easy target) is the height of satire and social commentary this is not for you .It's way too committed , way too fearless , way too accurate. The truth is out there and it's not easy listening .But it is very very funny . If only he were still around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine album that improves with each listen, 17 Nov 2002
By 
Mr. R. J. Bruce "Robin B" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
Like all of Bill Hicks's work this album is not for everybody. Often his work is crude and profanities were Bill's punctuation. He's no Roy Chubby Brown though. His work is intellectual. As well as being funny his work DOES have deeper meaning. Who can blame him for his anger in this album? This is a parting shot from a terminally-ill man to an asleep at the wheel nation. Along with the previous three albums, this recording serves to ease the pain of those who ask themselves, especially in the current climate, "Has the whole world gone mad, or is it just me?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dark poet lives on, 8 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
I will keep this short.... buy it and have your mind opened real wide, its the only time a comedian will inspire you and make you cry with laughter. it will be the best money you have ever...EVER...spent!

long live the memory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Angry Sheep Herder & his Dark Poetry, 13 April 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
For those who haven't hear this before, you are in for a real treat. This album (like the similar masterpiece Arizona Bay) is unique in many ways for blending music, live routines & studio-recorded speech to make something above & beyond a normal comedy album.

Although some of the references are a little dated (e.g. Waco, Jesse Helms & Clinton), the album still sounds fresh & covers a wide variety of topics.
And the great thing is that no other comedian comes close to discussing what is on this CD. Further, no other comedian (with the possible exception of George Carlin) was or is so talented at making serious topics funny or bringing such insight to them.

As an example, there is my favourite track - track 8 (Gifts Of Forgiveness).
First of all, no comedian would be able to talk about taking mushrooms in such an open, non-pretentious way (or without 'going for the gag').
Second, no comedian would be able to so clearly convey his philosophy from it, let alone make people laugh all the way through.

This is the best thing about this CD & is probably why the Quasi-religious documentary Zeitgeist used material from this CD - it really is good stuff for 'squeegeeing your third eye'.

Funny thing is though that this is also its weakness. Bill's philosophy was open & compassionate, but it was also Dark & Bleak in places. Many tracks are crude & disgusting, pandering to the worst instincts of comedy-club audiences (esp track 23 - Rush Limbaugh).

This is the nature of 'Dark Poetry' though - it reveals & enlightens unusual places, but also brings blackness. And, to be honest, most of this blackness can be ignored & discarded & the good stuff kept.

Bill brought to the World something fresh & complete in this album & it is a Great pity that it was released posthumourously.
It is often said that the World kills its Prophets (something that Hicks realised).
However, in this case the meme still lives on & (in the words of V from V for Vendetta): ideas are bulletproof.

P.S. As I am a HUGE Bill Hicks fan, I thought I'd write reviews of two of my favourite tracks/ MP3's off the album. If you only ever hear one bit of Bill Hicks in your life, then get the 1st one:
Gifts Of Forgiveness
Politics In America
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Comedian/Preacher Of All Time, 24 Sep 2003
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
This is quite easily Bill's best work. It contains the bulk of his lifes work and anything that isnt here can be found on one of his other releases.
"Easter" is quite easily one of the mans best routines and the rest is just as good. As well as amazing quality, the cd lasts for 75 minutes so there is plenty here. Bill's angriest work is not to be found here but Bill was usually about controlling the agression. That is why he is superior to the other American comedians who copied his style. Leary is very funny, but is an at times inarticulate angry psycho.
Bill rose above all of this to become the greatest comedic voice of all time, taking the legacy of his predecesors like Bruce and Kinison one stage further. The world hasnt changed very much since the man left us and it makes you wonder what he would say if he was still here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I miss this man, 25 Nov 2011
By 
Michael Jenkins (glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
I would love to be able to write this review sounding like Bill's exaggerated texas drawl, but that's impossible.This man was and always will be a comedic genius,I had heard a lot of this material before, but the bits about the pro-lifers and the catholic church were so shockingly brilliant, that it seemed he had a new lease of life, sadly he was actually dying when this was recorded, and it shows, as he pretends he has a t.v show and that is why he is giving up stand up comedy, when in fact this is his personal obituary.

Bill you are irreplaceable no one has come close since your sad early demise, and I for one mourn your passing.

I remember in the past year the so called comedian Jimmy Carr rubbishing the claims by some Hicks fans that Dennis Leary had plagiarised Hicks work, well sorry Mr. Carr but he did, and you do yourself no favours in denying this fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Ladies and Gentlemen I give you Mr Bill Hicks...Mr Bill Hicks", 10 Dec 2009
This review is from: Rant In E-Minor (Audio CD)
Without a doubt the only stand up act that could concievably be said to be in possesion of that much used, seldom earned, word "GENIUS".I love every momment of this CD for its passion ,its vitriol,and its puncturing of the American sacred EGO .Hicks never lets the pace slacken,or indeed the noose loosen around the necks of those who govern us and he goes on in superb style to stub his smoking cigarette butt out on a variety of celebritys.Even the public at large do not escape his wrath.I still laugh after the hundreth time of hearing "Your wrong night".If you love original comedy at its best then buy this CD.I can assure you it is worth every last pound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rant In E Minor
Rant In E Minor by Bill Hicks
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews