Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars89
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2011
As with all her other books this is a novel about overcoming adverse situations, about being totally knocked out of the life you're living and overcoming the odds that have mounted against you, doing your best to rise to the challenge and seeing where life takes you next.

When everything in her life changes Brigitte is a lost soul, not knowing what she wants to do nor being as engaged in writing the book she was so passionate about before. With this lack of enthusiasm and motivation she goes home to her Mother who enlists her help with tracing back how their family arrived in the America's and who came. After visiting the Mormon Family History Library she discovers Wachiwi in her ancestors and so begins her fascination with this young Sioux woman and how she came to go to France and seem to live out her life there.

Part of this book shows Brigitte's travels and how she finds out about Wachiwi and changes the course of her own life in the process and alongside this we also get to read about Wachiwi and how she came to go to France and what her life had been like all those years ago. We follow these two strong women who forge their own destiny once their formerly safe lifestyle is stripped away from them, the similarities between these relations separated by many generations is striking but maybe this courage to keep going is a family trait that Brigitte inherits from Wachiwi.

Even though I am slightly biased due to loving all of Danielle Steel's books I really have to say this one is amazing, such a strong storyline and as well written as all of her novels are. You easily get swept away with the plot, eager to see where the next twist will take you and hoping always for the happy ending which doesn't always come for the characters in her books and I'm not going to spoil anything by saying if either of the women in this story get their happy ending!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
I fancied the write up of LEGACY by DANIELLE STEEL and decided to send for it as an ebook, after reading it i loved it so much i decided to send for the HARD COVER OF THIS BOOK . If you like adventure or genealogy or the Sioux nationality or just a real mystery then read this, i loved it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
From the cover

A tale of love, courage and family, interweaving the lives of two extraordinary women - a writer working in the heart of modern academia, and a daring young Sioux of an unforgettable journey in the eighteenth century.

Someday is Brigitte Nicholson's watchword. Someday she and the man she loves, Ted, will clarify their relationship. Someday she'll have children. Someday she'll finish writing her book. Someday she'll stop playig it so safe...Then something happens that changes Brigette's life completely.

Struggling to plot a new course, Brigitte agrees to help her mother on a genealogy project - and makes a discovery that reaches back to the French aristrocracy. How did Brigitte's ancestor, Wachiwi, a Dakota Sioux, travel from the Great Plains to the French court of Marie Antoinette? How did she come to marry into Brigitte's family? Brigitte decides to travel to South Dakota and Paris to follow the path of this exceptional young woman who lived so long ago. And as she begins to solve the puzzle of Wachiwi's journey, her quiet life becomes an adventure of its own.

A chance meeting and a new opportunity put Brigitte back at the heart of her own story. And with family legacy coming to life around her, someday is no longer in the future. Instead, someday is now.

My Review

This is my 3rd book as part of the Transworld Book Group

For me Brigitte is quite an unlikeable character, to start with she just seems efficient and organised if maybe a tad boring. However as the story progresses she has two life changing events in as many days and her character becomes needy and pathetic. It was quite annoying to read and even offputting but I stuck with it and I am glad I did. We are introduced to her ancestor Wachiwi, who is everything Brigitte is not. Strong, courageous, brave, a fighter, she continues to fight for what she wants and loves and considering we are going back to the 1700s when woman had no place doing anything bar raising children and cooking it is a refreshing and amazing change of pace.

The story then goes practically chapter for chapter between the present with Brigitte and the past of Wachiwi's time. The difference between the two women and their lives is amazing and as Brigitte follows the traces to find out more about her ancestor as do we. I had hoped Brigitte would be more like her ancestor the more she discovered and if I am honest I only liked her character in the last chapter.

If the story had purely been about Brigitte it would have been a bore to read but with Wachiwi's tale it brought the rating from a 1 to a 3/5. If nothing else this book should be read for Wachiwi's story which I loved and would have liked to have seen as a stand alone book.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
I am a great fan of Danielle Steel and will order every new book she writes. This one is every bit as good as all her other ones. Good delivery time
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2011
the book is brillant great read just about nearly finished it and enjoying so much, but i always like her books and look forward to the next read by this wonderful writer.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
Legacy by Danielle Steel

This was a wonderful book by this wonderful author, I have always enjoyed Danielle Steel's books even though some of her latest ones have been a little predictable, but this one seems to have reverted back to her great earlier stories.

It is a tale of 2 women in different centuries, one a young Sioux and the other a young modern woman. Both timelines interweave making this a book that is simply hard to put down.

I would recommend this book to family and friends as it is a great author back to her very best.

(Reviewed for my Transworld Challenge)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
Just read this book on holiday, haven't read Steel in a while but couldn't put this down, really enjoyed it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
This book was really brilliant, one of the best I have read of Danielle Steel. I would thoroughly recommend this one to read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
I usually enjoy Danielle Steel's books when I'm in the mood for a light-hearted read. However, I found this one quite irritating by its constant repetitiveness. I lost count of how many times it referred to her previous relationship as lasting six years. I got to the point where I thought if I read "six years" again I'm going to scream!! I was also irritated by how many times it referred to the fact that the woman had no man. It felt like she didn't miss her previous boyfriend at all but just had to have a man - ANY man - in order to be fulfilled!! I also felt the book was very rushed and that repetition occurred in order to bulk up the story! Sorry but a poor and sloppy read.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
It is only because of the Transworld Book Group Reading Challenge that I find myself reading Danielle Steel again as just over two years ago I read and reviewed Sisters claiming that `Although I have been reading the novels of Danielle Steel as light relief for over thirty years I am now seriously wondering why I continue to do so. She may be a prolific and popular author but I think the time has come to remove her novels from my wishlist and spend more time reading other authors that I enjoy more'. If I was so disappointed why did I indeed pick one of her titles for the challenge, well I am glad I did as this was so much better. An enjoyable read which I devoured in a couple of days, but I do prefer a book to have more substance to it these days than this provided. Danielle Steel is certainly a very prolific and popular writer with millions of fans and if her books come my way I may well read them from time to time for light entertainment, but they will still not be appearing on my wishlist.

Two female protagonists dominate this story, separated by hundreds of years but sharing family genes. We first meet Brigitte Nicholson the modern day female, actually a somewhat boring character, living a safe and academic lifestyle, that I wanted to shake very early on in the book. Her life is turned upside down unexpectedly and struggling to come to terms with what has happened to her, she agrees to help her mother with a genealogy project, just for something to do initially. Fortunately for the reader the story is not just about Brigitte, she is just the tool the author has used to introduce us to the other female protagonist Wachiwi; whom we first meet in Chapter Six when we are transported from modern day to 1784 and are introduced to this daring young Sioux Indian girl. Her story is one of courage in the face of the unknown and for the rest of the novel it swaps between present and past as we learn Wachiwi's story both in real time and through the research Brigitte is carrying out in the present day. Brigitte discovers that her family has connections to the French aristocracy and she cannot wait to learn how and why a Sioux Indian should end up in France married to a member of her family. Her boring life at last seems to be changing as she finds herself taking opportunities she would never have thought of considering before embarking on the family research. Her ancestor Wachiwi certainly seems to shake up Brigitte's life for the better and the story provides the reader with a few hours romantic entertainment.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£3.99
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.