Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars121
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2001
This is an outstanding soundtrack with a real mixture of songs and artists interspersed with great and memorable lines from the film. The old songs mix with the newer stuff really well, and there's the added bonus of the timeless 'Son of a Preacher Man' by the late, great Dusty Springfield.
It's a real eclectic mix that works well, and you don't have to concentrate too hard on what's going on, just put it on, sit back and relax. (Alternatively, you can make like you're in Jackrabbit Slims and twist 'till your socks fall off!) If you liked the film, you'll love this!!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2000
Quentin Tarantino is far and away one of the most ambitious movie directors around and for every movie that he makes he hand picks the songs that go on the soundtrack, believing that the soundtrack is just as important to the film as the acting and story and "Pulp Fiction" was no exception and followed the brilliant soundtrack he compiled to his classic movie "Reservoir Dogs". The soundtrack features a mix of styles from rock to funk to r and b from a diverse group of artists ranging from tracks from the sixties up to the present day. The soundtrack really fits the mood of the movie and to achieve this feel there are a number of soundbites from the movie thrown in, such as Samuel L Jackson's memorable reading of Ezekiel 25:17. It's a great album and is really one for a lover of good music owing to the diversity of the styles that are thrown together, but nevertheless if you enjoyed the movie you will enjoy this.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 1999
This is one heck of a soundtrack! You may not enjoy it if you don't like the "oldies" but if you saw, and enjoyed, the movie, you will most definitely like the soundtrack. It has great songs by Al Green and Kool and the Gang among others, as well as a one or two modern tracks. One of the great features of the cd is that it has clips of dialogue from the movie. Normally, these kinds of clips annoy me (think Natural Born Killers) but they picked some very memorable, movie defining scenes to include here. The soundtrack reminds me in a small way of the Swingers soundtrack in the song selection - some oldies and a few new tracks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2004
Brilliant film, brilliant soundtrack. Usually slinging disparate tracks together results in an album that sounds unfocused. Maybe it's familiarity with the film that makes this album's flow of tracks completey natural, maybe it's simply that the tracks are strong, maybe it's the snippets of dialogue. Whatever it is this combination of garage surf, disco, soul, crooning, country and classic rock has now virtually become an artistic entity in its own right. This soundtrack is peerless. The extra tracks in this edition consist of masterpieces by Link Wray, (the guitar through the damaged overdriven speaker sound of Rumble) and the Brothers Johnston (the disco balladry of Strawberry Letter #23), garage surf from the Marketts, doo wop from The Robins, and a 15 minute talk by Tarantino in which he discusses his approach to soundtracks.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2003
This soundtrack is awesome! In the words of Jules it's "kool and the gang"! Its a real mix including chilled out grooves from Al Green and Dusty Springfield, funky 1970's disco, such as Kool and the Gang's 'Jungle Boogie', light-hearted songs like 'Flowers on the Wall' and old fashioned rock-and-roll from Chuck Berry (good to twist to - I wish I could dance like Travolta!)
Also included are quotes from the movie itself and any fan will love this - especially Jules' Ezekiel 25:17 (Samuel L Jackson is the man!) and Vincent's 'Royale wuth Cheese' (I love the "chit chat"!)
For me one of the highlights, although the whole collection is great, is Urge Overkill's 'Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon', a cover of the Neil Diamond song, which chillingly reminds of the events at Mia's house. A brilliant song!!
Any fan of Pulp Fiction should no doubt about it own this soundtrack! "Peronality goes a long way" and this soundtrack has masses of it! Enjoy!
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2000
A must buy for any fan of the film. A must buy for any music fan actually! A good mix of the old and the new makes this a compelling collection.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1999
Fabulous! Hippest and funkiest soundtrack ever. Quentin Tarantino loves pop music, mixing it with snippets of conversations of his film. Even if you haven't seen the film, you will enjoy listening to these hysterical narratives. Very inspiring, great mix of almost kitschy, in your face sampling of surf rock. But, there are some romantic tracks too, such as "Son of a preacher man". Bring this to any party and you will be scoring big time!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
This is an excellent soundtrack, I first heard this album when my aunt owned this on cassette. I remember recording this into my cassette from the album my aunt owned. Years later I grew interested of listening to the album again, and I found it in a box containing other cassettes stored in. I decided to buy this soundtrack on LP vinyl format, and this is one of my favourite LP's and my favourites are Dick Dale's ''Misirlou'' and ''Jungle boogie'' I also love Rick Nelson's ''lonesome town'' and the three other surf instrumental tracks like the tornadoes ''busting surfboards'' and I also like Dusty Springfield's ''son of a preacher man''
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
I love this album for two reasons.
1)It has some tracks that has no songs in it only parts of speeches taken from the movie such as the discussion between Jackson and Travolta on a Big Mac and Cheese, the famous Jackson bible speech and the discussion on how pigs are a dirty animal.
2)It feels like you are living through the movie again when listening to it, some of my favourite tracks include Let's Stay Together, Son of a Preacher Man and You'll Be a Women.

Basically if you love the movie there is no doubt in my mind you will love the soundtrack.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
I can honestly say I feel like Mrs Mia Wallace when I listen to this album on vinyl. The cool 50s/60/s70s vibes are totally amped up simply by playing it on a record player and I love how it changes the music's tone etc. The soundtrack is an eclectic mix of songs but there is something about them that is so chilled out and cool that they're accessible to anyone. A must for any Pulp Fiction fan or music connoisseur.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)