Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly one of the better albums of the year
As a debut solo effort, I approached this with the normally-warranted level of trepidation and doubt. This time, it was not warranted - this is a terrific album, filled to the brim with catchy melodies, memorable lyrics and great musical variety.

"Flamingo" opens with Flowers' homage to his home city: "Welcome to the Fabulous Las Vegas" - a grower of a track...
Published on 5 Sep 2010 by Masterye

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
This album is ok but I don't like it as much as his work with the Killers. I think it was over hyped in the media and so was a little disappointed by it. Good customer service and pristine item,though.
Published 2 months ago by natalie palmer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly one of the better albums of the year, 5 Sep 2010
As a debut solo effort, I approached this with the normally-warranted level of trepidation and doubt. This time, it was not warranted - this is a terrific album, filled to the brim with catchy melodies, memorable lyrics and great musical variety.

"Flamingo" opens with Flowers' homage to his home city: "Welcome to the Fabulous Las Vegas" - a grower of a track that would sit easily on "Sam's Town" or "Day and Age" - and follows it magnificently with the beautiful second single "Only The Young", which is reminiscent of "Tidal Wave" (one of The Killers' more under-appreciated tracks). The rest of the album could have been forgiven if it had not been able to hold the momentum of these songs throughout its duration, but save for one or two slight miss-fires (for me: "Hard Enough" and "Was It Something I Said?" are the weakest tracks on the album), it manages to maintain the quality all the way through to the last track-- even the bonus tracks hold their own; the fantastic Pet-Shop-Boysesque "Jacksonville" is one of the album's highlights.

Overall, "Flamingo" is a great surprise and is far more than just a filler before the next Killer. If you're a fan of the band, have no worries that you will also be a fan of their front-man.

ETA: I'd like to add that the album also sounds just stunning live; Flowers's voice is better than it has ever been and is capable of reproducing all of these tracks note-perfect. If you can catch him on the road, I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brandon Flowers keeps you rocking for hours., 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Flamingo (Audio CD)
The first solo effort by The Killer's frontman Brandon Flowers shows just how much talent is packed within his slender frame. Born out of a surge of creativity while the rest of the band wanted a break, Flamingo is all Brandon and clearly revolves around the things that matter most to him, namely his family and his religion. Flamingo features quality producers Stuart Price, Daniel Lanois and Brendan O'Brien, guest vocals by Jenny Lewis, along with contributions from Dave Keuning and Ronnie Vannucci Jr. If you love beautiful music be sure to check this out and ignore the negative reviews (you will see why for yourself).

Track by track:

Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas - The opening track provides a fitting introduction to Flamingo and draws you into the world it revolves around, namely that of Las Vegas, Brandon Flowers' home town. Killer's fans will harken this to Sam's Town, the title track from their sophomore album. From the get go it is apparent how much Flowers' vocals have improved over the course of 7/8 years. His delivery is perfect and shifts fluidly from a slight country twang in the verses to soaring anthemic choruses.

Only The Young - Recently confirmed this will be next single off Flamingo and it's apparent why. This track is a stand-out favourite of mine with a truly brilliant chorus that will easily get you singing along. This is also one track where Brandon shows off his vocal range, achieving some truly ball-clenchingly high falsettos. Dotted around is a cool electronic beat that fits in surprisingly well with the drums.

Hard Enough - Another favourite of mine, Brandon wrote this as a love song for his wife and tells of the difficulties and tribulations their relationship has had to overcome. Featuring vocals from Jenny Lewis of Rilo Kiley fame, this song shows off some brilliant lyrics that will prove to be a fan favourite.

Jilted Lovers and Broken Hearts - This track has quickly become the highlight for the lucky few who have already seen Brandon live as it is probably the most danceable of all the tracks from Flamingo. The song revolves around a troubled relationship filled with jealousy, a continuation of Mr Brightside perhaps?

Playing With Fire - This track has so far been played last at Brandon's live shows and simply screams anthem in the making of When You Were Young proportions. It builds slowly and tantalizingly to a breathtaking climax that leaves you gasping for more.

Was It Something I Said? - This is probably the most playful of the tracks, and follows a man's despair over a girl named Valentina. Originally this song started off as another track, The Clock Was Tickin' (which is available as a bonus track on the deluxe edition), but eventually evolved into two separate songs.

Magdalena - This is a cheesily catchy song that refuses to give up. Based around a pilgrimage taken from Nogales to Magdalena, you too will soon be caught up in the romanticism of the song.

Crossfire - The lead single from Flamingo which has already done the rounds on radio etc and reached No. 8 In the UK charts. The video features Charlize Theron and is definitely worth watching. Chosen as the lead single by Brandon's eldest son Ammon, this could easily have been the lead single from the next Killers album.

On The Floor - This gospel song seems quite an unusual fit with the other tracks, but it shows Brandon is no one-trick pony and can adapt very well to whatever genre.

Swallow It - According to Brandon this song is in fact not about fellatio (though the lyrics may suggest otherwise "you could not swallow it, no baby you're not ready slow down", "You're a performer!"). Quirkily catchy you will love this song until you hear you mother singling along to it on the radio.

I strongly urge you to also check out the deluxe edition which features four extra songs all of which easily deserve a place on the standard album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely storming, 25 Sep 2010
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flamingo (Audio CD)
I'm not a huge Killers fan - I liked a few of their singles, but have never felt the need to delve any deeper. I heard Brandon Flowers talking about his solo album on the radio last week, and I thought that the lead single, "Crossfire" was pretty catchy, so tried the album on a whim.

Before posting, I took a look at some of the reviews on here, and was amazed to see one-star reviews with comments like "dull", "lyrics are random, meaningless drivel", "bland", "pedestrian", "turgid". Are these people listening to the same album as I am? Or have they got the vinyl on the wrong speed?

"Flamingo" is a stunning album. It's almost a concept album - a love-letter to the city of Las Vegas - and it is filled with catchy, uplifting, anthemic songs that you will be humming for weeks. If you aren't singing along with the opening track "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" within twenty seconds of hearing it, go and see your doctor, as you may well actually be dead. To the person who thinks the lyrics are "meaningless drivel", try actually thinking about them - they are far from meaningless if you understand the context.

I've just listened to the album three times in succession without a break - I can't remember the last time I heard an album that I couldn't wait to put back on again as soon as it finished. I'm now in my forties, but very rarely an album comes along that makes me remember what it was I loved about music as a teenager, about how I could lose myself in it, and this album has done that.

Probably the best thing I've heard all year - if this is what Brandon can do without the Killers, I can only suggest he ditches them and carries on on his own in the future. Can't recommend it highly enough, even if you aren't a Killers fan - absolutely storming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brandon At His Best., 22 Sep 2011
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan of The Killers for some time now, and always hoped that the lead singer,
Brandon Flowers would do a solo album.
Well in 2010 he offered us his first solo CD, Flamingo, and a fine job he has made of it.
There are two versions of Flamingo, one with 10 tracks and the deluxe edition with 14 tracks.

This must be a marketing strategy, for why would you purchase a shorter album when you can get four more equally good tracks for a few pennies more?

The opening track, an obvious tribute to his home-town " Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas" is a grower, I liked it the first time I heard it, but it became more-ish and now it's a favourite.
On some of the songs such as "The Clock was Tickin'" and "Jilted Lovers & Broken Hearts", we find Brandon in plaintive mood. "Crossfire" is a great song and should have been a big stand alone hit but got little air-play, but it has a bigger sound than some of the other more pop numbers.

All in all I liked this album, mostly because of Brandon's natural tone of voice, no affectations, just well written thought provoking catchy lyrics and pleasing melodies.

Would love his record company Island, to release a DVD of the tour promoting the album to
compliment the CD.
For me this is a great first solo effort.Lets have another soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 19 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Flamingo (MP3 Download)
Was not a huge fan of The Killers but i have to say that Brandons solo album has become one of my most listened to albums ever - Fantastic collection of songs that sadly didnt get the recognition they deserved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad at all, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Flamingo (Audio CD)
absolutely nothing wrong with brandon flowers having a crack at going it alone in fact its pretty good and dont know why it took me so long to buy considering im a big killers fan and love his vocals.
Just remember though dont expect to be listening to the killers when you buy flamingo as you would be slightly disappointed , you'll be listening to brandon flowers and this is good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flamingo by Brandon Flowers, 28 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flamingo (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album. If you like the Killers you'll love this. Brandon has a beautiful voice and the music is very varied which makes it more interesting. Would defo buy more of his stuff after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupendously good, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Flamingo (Audio CD)
I quite like The Killers, but wouldn't consider myself a fan and only bought this album because it was cheap in a sale. Boy, am I glad I did. This is a fantastic piece of work with virtually every track worthy of being released as a single. Of all the albums I bought in 2010 it's this one that gets played again and again and again. Some have criticised this for being too MOR, but as with the Pet Shop Boys it takes considerable talent to churn out catchy tune after catchy tune with thought provoking lyrics. I find myself coming out of this album in a better frame of mind than when I put it on and you can't ask for much more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent solo album!, 17 April 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flamingo (Audio CD)
If you like The Killers, you'll probably enjoy lead singer and front man Brandon Flowers' first (and so far only) solo album, what a talent!

I think that 'Flamingo' is a brilliant showcase for Brandon's versatile vocals, range and songwriting ability. After a few listens - I was hooked. The album has a variety of different styles, from solid classic rock and electronic pop music to even some country and western flavoured tunes. Personal favourites include 'Magdalena' and 'Swallow It', two of the catchiest (and dare I say, slightly cheesy) songs on the album. One of the bonuses for me is, despite bring a Killers fan from day one, that the solo album from the guy who is not unfairly compared to Bruce Springsteen is very personal, and mostly different from the band's material, so it's something new. There are some similarities though, particularly on one the highlights: 'Jilted Lovers & Broken Hearts', which sounds a lot like 'A Dustland Fairytale'.

Opening with the atmospheric 'Welcome To Fabulous Last Vegas', a song that sets the tone for the whole of 'Flamingo', all I ask is for more solo material from Brandon Flowers soon please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flamingo (Audio CD)
A really great CD from Brandon as to be expected. In my view it is a must have in any collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa33b8444)

This product

Flamingo
Flamingo by Brandon Flowers
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews