Customer Reviews


8 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Song's A Yes, 12 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Every Step's A Yes (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of The Bees since just before the release of their last album Octopus, and owning every album so far, I have been anticipating this release for many months. Why The Bees are not more popular is beyond me.

The Bees sound has evolved from the garden shed album 'Sunshine Hit Me' with every album release, while still managing to retain the excellent genre blurring multi instrument sound that we all love. You can find the usual reggae, dubby, folk, psychedelia genre spanning sounds all soulfully tied together by Paul Butler's vocals.

'I Really Need Love' is an instant classic, and may have even surpassed 'Wash In The Rain' as my favourite Bees song, proof that the Bees are getting better and better.

As with the light hearted 'Chicken Payback' (Free the Bees), and 'End of the Street' (Octopus), The last track Gaia showcases their experimental side and love of creating original non conforming music.

Lets hope this album brings The Bees more recognition and is not destined for more advertisement backing music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Slow Burner, 22 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Every Step's A Yes (Audio CD)
When I first played this all I heard were a collection of pretty, laid back tunes that were indistinguishable from each other. Lots of the songs seemed very generic and didn't seem to offer me anything new/exciting or immediate. Most poeple reading this will own their other albums and this one contains less of a 60s pop (these are the ghosts) type of song and none of the CHicken Payback variety.
However, after a few listens it's a winner, in fact every step's a yes (see what I did there?). This is an album that rewards with more listens, the songs are growers and I will definitely still be playing this in a few years, just as I will 'Sunshine' and 'Free The..' (but less so Octopus).
If you enjoyed the first two but thought Octopus was a slight let down, get this. But give it a few plays to warm up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, beautiful album, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Steven Berry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Step's A Yes (Audio CD)
Does kick in after 3-4 listens, like people have said. Thought it was too quiet and slow at first... But how wrong I was! My ears simply had to adjust to its beauty in this era of modern trash and ooompah. Once it does reveal itself, I think it stands out as The Bees best album or at least on a par with Free The Bees. Its simply Excellent! Rare and timeless, like a Winter Rose ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Bees!, 13 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Every Step's A Yes (Audio CD)
This band is just so wonderful. The variation in style on their first three albums never sounded forced or like it was done just for the sake of it. There is also, despite the variation in song style, a strong Bees song threaded through everything they do. I got Every Step's a Yes today and just love it. These guys are just very highly musical. They know how to write a great song and play it with real style. They produce music that sounds polished but at the same time sound earthy and full of soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely under-rated, 24 April 2011
This review is from: Every Step's A Yes (Audio CD)
I love this band and this is another absolute belter, definitely up there as one of the albums of 2010. This isn't quite as good as Octopus but still really good. The sounds are really haunting and beautiful and are a testament to the bands skills. They deserve to be a lot more successful than they are with the kind of music that they are making. Nice work guys, keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding and most underated band of the last 10 years, 1 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Step's A Yes (Audio CD)
the bees are criminally underated ,the subtlety of this well crafted album has gone under the radar,gentle ,clever,beautiful ,the songwriting and musicianship is as good as anything i've heard by grizzly bear,fleet foxes,i cant wait til the next album.silverline,island love letter,winter rose are stunning.long live the bees
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 60s Sounds for today, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
E. Carruthers "mature teenager" (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Step's A Yes (Audio CD)
The review which lead me to buy this CD was quite correct. It is a very 60s sound - something like Barclay James Harvest, the Beatles and others. Very melodic. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smile!, 15 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Every Step's A Yes (Audio CD)
Upon first listen 'Every Step's A Yes' is reminiscent of their first album 'Sunshine Hit Me'. More laid-back and spacious than 'Free The Bees' or 'Octopus' yet still maintaining the familiar Bees sound that has developed over the years.

As usual, their influences are blended masterfully with 'Skill Of The Man' sounding like a 'Smile' era Beach Boys track.

My only critisism apart from the album being too short is that on a couple of tracks the lyrics seem lost in the mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Step's A Yes
Every Step's A Yes by The Bees (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews