Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WifeOf Derek BookWorm
I have read in the past many books about the Krays I but was drawn to this one because of the author,it is by no means like the other reads,the author explains as to why he was allowed to sit with the twins and get involved with the family and be allowed to write the facts from the horses mouth so to speak.The twins were without a doubt very disturbed and Violet to some...
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by Wife of Derek

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Notoriously average
Fairly good read which does pull the reader along at a good pace. Some irritations which spoil it: repetitions of facts like Dot Brown being Ron's spiritualist and every villain being "young and good-looking".... it reads like it's not had a thorough review by the author and is in need of a good edit.
Published 15 months ago by Mozza Squirms


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WifeOf Derek BookWorm, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read in the past many books about the Krays I but was drawn to this one because of the author,it is by no means like the other reads,the author explains as to why he was allowed to sit with the twins and get involved with the family and be allowed to write the facts from the horses mouth so to speak.The twins were without a doubt very disturbed and Violet to some degree was not squeeky clean she worshipped her boys to the degee of referring to them as a legend even though she knew of ther dipicable and cruel actions toward others.I wont give to much away about this book but certainly it is an excellent read and written extremely well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Notoriously average, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notorious: The Immortal Legend of the Kray Twins (Kindle Edition)
Fairly good read which does pull the reader along at a good pace. Some irritations which spoil it: repetitions of facts like Dot Brown being Ron's spiritualist and every villain being "young and good-looking".... it reads like it's not had a thorough review by the author and is in need of a good edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era, 18 Oct 2010
By 
What can i say about this book, but you have to read this book for yourself and make some decisions of your own. I can see that John Pearson has gone to great lengths on this book, by giving us more on the Kray twins themselves. Do i agree that this book should've been published, i beg to differ. If the Krays were alive today would they have let this book come to light? I'm not so sure. It was a good read, this seems to be the end of a legacy of books in the three written about the Kray twins. this book gives you more behind the scenes look at the business ventures of the twins and the life they lived in the 50s and 60s. A must read for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DEFINITIVE ACCOUNT, 24 Nov 2010
This book is an extremely well written biography of Britain's dastardly duo which at times is 'unputdownable'. At the time of Pearson's first book on this subject, 'The Profession of Violence', most of the protagonists were still alive and because of the law of libel the author had to be careful of what he said. Now, with nearly all of the characters dead he is free to give the facts.

The highlight of the book must be the section dealing with Ronald Kray and Lord Boothby. What an unpleasant, lying rogue this man was, and I'm not talking here about Ronald Kray. Boothby's homosexual exploits resulted in the Prime Minister of the day, Alec Douglas-Home, and the opposition leader, Harold Wilson, instigating a cover-up which was kept under wraps for 30 years and which made the Krays untouchable by the police for a long time. The whole affair is surely deserving of a book of its own. John Pearson seems the ideal man to write it.

There are one or two minor errors in this current work. For instance Pearson has an irritating habit of referring to the Metropolitan Police Commissioner as Chief Commissioner. There is no such rank. There are Assistant Commissioners and there is a Commissioner. But no Chief Commissioner. He also gives the name of future Commissioner Sir Robert Mark as Thomas Mark. However, none of this should detract from what must be the best book on the Krays yet written although I think it would have benefited from an index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ., 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notorious: The Immortal Legend of the Kray Twins (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, a fascinating insight and history of the legendary Krays. Would highly recommend this book, hard to put down, 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Pearson's Finest Hour, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notorious: The Immortal Legend of the Kray Twins (Kindle Edition)
This book went into a lot of detail regarding the Boothby affair a side from that I found it inaccurate and a bit boring. I dont believe the twins had an incestous relationship and there were so many mistakes its hard to distinguish fact from fiction. There were as always some interesting and humorous anecdotes thats about it really. In my opinon The Profession of Violence was the best book in the Pearson Kray trilogy. I give it 3 Stars because I like Pearson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book and a must read for anyone interested in the Krays, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notorious: The Immortal Legend of the Kray Twins (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book following a recommendation from an East London friend who lived through the times described in the book. I wasn't disappointed! It's a terrific read that goes through the complete story of the twins from beginnings in Valance road to their inevitable incarceration. Pearson in particular explains the reasons why the twins were able to get away with their criminal activities for so long, I won't spoil your enjoyment of this book by revealing anything here but let sme just say it's worth getting this book just for that!

The fact that the author knew the twins and their entourage well adds to the authenticity of the story. 5 stars highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PROBABLY THE BEST BOOK ON THE KRAY SAGA, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Mervyn O. Hagger "freebornjohn" (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was following the career of Paul Elvey, a broadcasting engineer for Radio Sutch/City who got mixed-up in an assassination plot for the Krays, and this book helped me with that. See my review of 'Hammer the Toff' to see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ., 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ENJOYABLE READ ON THIS INFAMOUS PAIR.GOOD INSIGHT OF HOW THEIR LIVES WENT LEADING UP TO THEIR CONVICTIONS FOR MURDER etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars eyeopening!, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notorious: The Immortal Legend of the Kray Twins (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the book & it was not too heavy, something I really found interesting was the insight into the political establishment with Boothby, Wilson etc. It just shows how much was swept under the carpet by the police & politicians. Makes you realise the Krays were not the only villains. I found the author brought the story across in a easy to read way & would recommend to anyone interested in the Krays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews