Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars59
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£10.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2010
The fact that the average review of this album is 5 stars may well have the casual observer simply assuming that the usual plethora of rabid fans have been on the site delivering their biased verdict. And they're probably right.

However, this album is THAT good. Killing Joke are THE most important band on the planet. They sing of what is actually happening in the world right now, which is not therefore about the contents of Simon Cowels pants or Jordans bra, it is about environment, European super states, the takeover of just about everything by big business and how the normal folk of the world are now simple commodities.

Of course, Jaz and Geordie have been doing this for years with consistency, but since Big Paul and Youth have rejoined the fold, the heat on the meting pot has reached incendiary levels.

Put simply, this is amongst the best work they have ever done. It is musically in tune with this time with monstrous riffs, thunderous rhythms, with hints of dub, trance and industrial metal thrown in.

Effectively it is the result of doing this job for 30 years, except unlike most other survivors of that era, Killing Joke have remained totally influential, totally necessary and should be heard by everyone.

WIthout doubt, this is THE most important album you will buy all year and believe me, you must, to not do so is to deprive yourself of a critical life experience that may help you in the troubled times to come.

The gospel for our times.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 1 October 2010
In 1982, when Killing Joke dramatically fragmented during the production of Revelations, I thought, quite naturally, that this was the end for Britain's most exciting, dynamic and downright terrifying band. Back then no one, least of all myself, would have believed that 28 years later, not only would the original line up be back together but that they would be putting out an album which seems such a natural successor to their early output. In between, of course, there have been bust ups, breakdowns, confrontations, changes in personnel and a truly epic output that puts all other bands to shame. Throughout, however, there has been little deviation from their chosen, and rather singular, path, warning anyone who cared (or dared) to listen about the apocalypse, the corruption of society and general political bad practice. This album is quintessentially Killing Joke, and definitively self-referencing, evoking memories from their original release Turn to Red / Almost Red (Ghosts of Ladbroke Grove) to the more eclectic pummellings of 2006s Hosannas from the Basements of Hell. I defy anyone who knows the 'Joke' not be moved by The Raven King, their tribute to lost bassist Paul Raven (RIP). It may have been four years since their last release, but with back catalogue this epic, frankly who cares? Look upon their works ye mighty and despair, Killing Joke are back - Vae Victis !
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 6 October 2010
Well I have had this album for over a week now and I am still playing it constantly. 11 of the 12 tracks are just so damn good that my heart is thankful that these 4 individuals can still produce such a glorious noise. Still not convinced about This World Hell but maybe it will grow on me eventually. There have been great KJ albums that neither Youth or Big Paul have played on but the original 4 have an almost faultless ability to produce great music with seemingly effortless ease. This could very well be their finest release yet. It sounds different and yet the same at every turn, almost like a great KJ mix tape. This album deserves to be heard by the masses but it will be largely ignored as usual I suspect which is criminal. Buy this album, you wont stop smiling for weeks. Let the Joke educate and smother your senses. Once again WE HAVE JOY!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Highly underrated and their most consistently brilliant work yet. My favourite previously was Pandemonium, but this is even better in my opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 2 October 2010
Best release by any band for a long time -- Not very useful? Well, it's all been said in these other excellent and insightful messages. Never been moved to write a 'review' for anything before, but needed to add my recommendation to this brilliant piece of work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Great album. Been a fan of these guys for over 30 years & barring a couple of dodgy albums have never failed to deliver the goods. Go Jaz.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 1 October 2010
The effect of playing this through for the first time has left me with a lingering disturbed feeling, some of the tracks open up the state of the times we live in, and get under my skin making the subject matter unsettling. Other tracks are stunningly beautiful and uplifting. Either way, it is genius and a beautiful piece of work.
It just demands to be played again and again. And i will be playing it over and over (studying every lyric Jaz). It's already loaded on my pc, my phone, and copied in my cars cd stack - the original tucked into my hifi in the lounge for home listening. Sit down, open a bottle of red, put on your headphones and travel through it. You never know what you are going to get from one track to the next first listen so enjoy the surprise experience.
I simply cannot describe how important and relevant this album is. It will be a perfect snapshot of our time now when looked back upon in the uncertain decades to come.
Read the lyrics, it means something, we are not all asleep. As long as some of us out there are buying music like this then there is hope...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 16 September 2010
There is nothing tired or dull about this new album. It's quite simply a brilliant Killing Joke album with everything you expect from them as a band, especially the individual elements of each member, together for the first time in years.

Big Paul's drumming is steady, Youth's bass roars and Geordie's guitar grinds.The first three tracks are my favourite with plenty of anthemic and intense vocals from Jaz. I couldn't help singing the chorus' of 'The Great Cull' and 'In Excelsis', even on the first listen, because it they just suck you in.

I suspect 'The Raven King' is a tribute to erstwhile bass player Paul Raven. Starts off with gentle keyboards, like a track from 'Brighter Than A Thousand Suns (Restored Mixes Version) before building up to a triumphant chorus.

I'm less keen on 'European Super State' because of the dance beat but because it's surrounded by such brilliance I quickly forgot about it. By the time the last track plays out you will be wishing for more....... so just put it on repeat and feel your brain melt!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 2 October 2010
Like other reviewers have said, Killing Joke's last couple of albums especially have been patchy, with brilliant tracks (Total Invasion, Walking with Gods, Invocation) interspersed with stodgy fillers. Also, Jaz Coleman's preference for growling the lyrics rather than singing got a bit tiresome at times.

But Absolute Dissent is an absolute masterpiece; a rock classic. There's only one below par track on it (the poppy single, European Super State), but every other track is astounding. Geordie's guitar-playing - he is one of the best, but most under-rated guitarists ever - is sublime: crunchy, fuzzy riffs that bludgeon you into submission (he reminds me a little of Black Sabbath's Tony Iommi, who similalrly played a deceptively simple riff over and over again, but which somehow drew you in). Jaz also sings more on this allbum - there's a couple of tracks where he resorts to Rammstein/Laibach style growling, but most of the time, he sings - but with pure anger and passion - Jaz's 'conspiracy theories', rage against corporate/political corruption and fears of coming global catostrophe are evident in many of the lyrics.

One of the most striking things about this album is the anthemic character of many of the songs, with rousing, stirring, soaring choruses that convey anger and energy (well, John Lydon did say 'anger is an energy'!)- I defy anyone not to be moved, emotionally or physically, by the choruses to 'In Excelsis' or 'The Great Cull', two tracks which also have blistering guitar riffs.

There's also one of the most melancholy and emotional songs Killing Joke have ever written - a eulogy to the late and lamented bassist 'Raven', who died a couple of years ago. Entitled 'The Raven King', it combines sorrowful verses interspersed with soaring choruses. It takes your breath away.

Some of my all-time favourite albums are: Bowie's Ziggy Stardust, Led Zep's 'Physical Graffiti', Manic's 'Journal for Plague Lovers', REM's 'Automatic for the People', Hawkwind's 'Space Ritual', Muse's 'Black Holes and Revelations', and the Rolling Stones' 'Exile on Main Street' - this Killing Joke album has now joined these. It is absolutely superb. It is not only Killing Joke's best album, it is, I believe, one of the best albums of all time.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 1 September 2010
last lp not so hot, real return to form here though. and with original bass player youth, although he seems to be quite low in the mix, except ironically `the raven king` , about the previous second and LONG STANDING BASSIST,its a beautiful song, some slow traks some moody speedy types with uber cool guitaring from geordie great drums from big paul and jaz colemans`s wicked vocal style , intelligent lyrics, and awesome melodies,i cannot stop playing this cd, fav trks `the great cull`, `in excelsis`,`european superstate`,`honor the fire` and `ghosts of ladbroke grove, as someone said a brilliant evocative closer.roll on oct 16 @ hammersmith apollo!!!!!!!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Pylon by Killing Joke (Audio CD - 2015)

MMXII by Killing Joke (Audio CD - 2012)

Killing Joke
Killing Joke by Killing Joke (Audio CD - 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.