Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Brilliance
I've been lucky enough to hear a preview of this album, and am simply stunned. It is the best thing I've heard this year by by miles. Actually for several years. Every track is superb. It really demonstrates what peerless songsmiths Killing Joke are. It is up there with the very best of their previous output and as a complete work is probably their finest. Buy this as...
Published on 12 Sept. 2010 by mike32514

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars absolute dissent
A band i've loved for years and an eagerly awaited new album. The songwriting is up there as always but the one thing that surprised and dissappointed me was the production.The original line up and some echos of the 'old Joke' in here which is brilliant but why does the drum sound like an old shoebox? Also some of the chord sequences just do not have enough audible...
Published on 23 Nov. 2010 by Templar


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. A. B. Jordan "Andy Jordan" (Rugby, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
Incredibly,this completely 'undiscovered' band of 30 yrs will remain so for eternity.Such is the fickle nature of the masses that cannot,will not see genius in their midst.More fool them.This work is no less than a masterpiece of controlled brutal intelligence that leaves everything else in its wake.This is the greatest KJ album since their other masterpiece-Whats This For,30 yrs ago.There were moments of brilliance on KJ03 and Hosannas to keep me listening,but this latest offering is just in a league of its own.I can honestly say that every single track is a joy to behold.I can never understand why KJ are always seen as negative doomongers by the uninitiated,as i always find their music to be totally uplifting and euphoric.If this is the last album,then it will bookend a quite unique,influential career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best release by anyone band in a long time, 2 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
Best release by any band for a long time -- Not very useful? Well, it's all been said in these other excellent and insightful messages. Never been moved to write a 'review' for anything before, but needed to add my recommendation to this brilliant piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strangled beauty, 30 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
Awesome album, with the worst production I've heard in years. I cannot bring myself to lower it from a 5 star as the album merits it, but the production is so poor it made me angry. How could the lads to this to themselves? They're seasoned musicians who are savvy, so why accept this production?

Back to positives. Although a couple of tracks are good rather than great, the album is so powerful I was blown away from the first play. I actually think the title track is the weakest track on it. Also I miss Geordie's distinct guitar sound, which is a tad hidden on this recording, but it is Killing Joke for sure. They go from beautiful to brutal with the randomness of a bi-polar schizophrenic. When it is brutal though, it is more brutal than ever. The heaviness in this selection is unsurpassed in previous albums. However and in keeping with Jaz' ethos, they always produce stunning melody delivered in such a way you don't know whether to strip naked, throws daisies up in the air and dance til you drop or rush out and sacrifice something on a hill top, laughing manically all the way.

"The Raven king" is so beautiful, it outshines their very best "anthemic" songs by a country mile. "The Great Cull" and "Depthcharge" are my favourite heavies and "European Super State" just oozes fun. Some reviewers say it belongs on other albums, but what is wrong with an album rich in diversity? It's a pint-in-hand arm-linking and dance-like-a-bellend track that you cannot resist playing again and again and again and......oh well you get my drift. "Ghost Of Ladbroke Grove" is one of those weird tracks that KJ ambush you with and I adore it. Very much in the Reggae-esque vain of "Nervous System". Astounding album in all....

If only this had the production to match the tracks, this would be the finest KJ album ever by a zillion morish, juicy, lush, psychopathic miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beast is back!, 6 Oct. 2010
By 
C. Welsh "Twisting Man" (Midlothian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
Well I have had this album for over a week now and I am still playing it constantly. 11 of the 12 tracks are just so damn good that my heart is thankful that these 4 individuals can still produce such a glorious noise. Still not convinced about This World Hell but maybe it will grow on me eventually. There have been great KJ albums that neither Youth or Big Paul have played on but the original 4 have an almost faultless ability to produce great music with seemingly effortless ease. This could very well be their finest release yet. It sounds different and yet the same at every turn, almost like a great KJ mix tape. This album deserves to be heard by the masses but it will be largely ignored as usual I suspect which is criminal. Buy this album, you wont stop smiling for weeks. Let the Joke educate and smother your senses. Once again WE HAVE JOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 1 Oct. 2010
By 
Miles Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
In 1982, when Killing Joke dramatically fragmented during the production of Revelations, I thought, quite naturally, that this was the end for Britain's most exciting, dynamic and downright terrifying band. Back then no one, least of all myself, would have believed that 28 years later, not only would the original line up be back together but that they would be putting out an album which seems such a natural successor to their early output. In between, of course, there have been bust ups, breakdowns, confrontations, changes in personnel and a truly epic output that puts all other bands to shame. Throughout, however, there has been little deviation from their chosen, and rather singular, path, warning anyone who cared (or dared) to listen about the apocalypse, the corruption of society and general political bad practice. This album is quintessentially Killing Joke, and definitively self-referencing, evoking memories from their original release Turn to Red / Almost Red (Ghosts of Ladbroke Grove) to the more eclectic pummellings of 2006s Hosannas from the Basements of Hell. I defy anyone who knows the 'Joke' not be moved by The Raven King, their tribute to lost bassist Paul Raven (RIP). It may have been four years since their last release, but with back catalogue this epic, frankly who cares? Look upon their works ye mighty and despair, Killing Joke are back - Vae Victis !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most vital band in the world return with a classic., 30 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (MP3 Download)
The fact that the average review of this album is 5 stars may well have the casual observer simply assuming that the usual plethora of rabid fans have been on the site delivering their biased verdict. And they're probably right.

However, this album is THAT good. Killing Joke are THE most important band on the planet. They sing of what is actually happening in the world right now, which is not therefore about the contents of Simon Cowels pants or Jordans bra, it is about environment, European super states, the takeover of just about everything by big business and how the normal folk of the world are now simple commodities.

Of course, Jaz and Geordie have been doing this for years with consistency, but since Big Paul and Youth have rejoined the fold, the heat on the meting pot has reached incendiary levels.

Put simply, this is amongst the best work they have ever done. It is musically in tune with this time with monstrous riffs, thunderous rhythms, with hints of dub, trance and industrial metal thrown in.

Effectively it is the result of doing this job for 30 years, except unlike most other survivors of that era, Killing Joke have remained totally influential, totally necessary and should be heard by everyone.

WIthout doubt, this is THE most important album you will buy all year and believe me, you must, to not do so is to deprive yourself of a critical life experience that may help you in the troubled times to come.

The gospel for our times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, disturbing and uplifting., 1 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
The effect of playing this through for the first time has left me with a lingering disturbed feeling, some of the tracks open up the state of the times we live in, and get under my skin making the subject matter unsettling. Other tracks are stunningly beautiful and uplifting. Either way, it is genius and a beautiful piece of work.
It just demands to be played again and again. And i will be playing it over and over (studying every lyric Jaz). It's already loaded on my pc, my phone, and copied in my cars cd stack - the original tucked into my hifi in the lounge for home listening. Sit down, open a bottle of red, put on your headphones and travel through it. You never know what you are going to get from one track to the next first listen so enjoy the surprise experience.
I simply cannot describe how important and relevant this album is. It will be a perfect snapshot of our time now when looked back upon in the uncertain decades to come.
Read the lyrics, it means something, we are not all asleep. As long as some of us out there are buying music like this then there is hope...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to believe they are STILL so good!, 16 Sept. 2010
By 
Carsten Doig (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
There is nothing tired or dull about this new album. It's quite simply a brilliant Killing Joke album with everything you expect from them as a band, especially the individual elements of each member, together for the first time in years.

Big Paul's drumming is steady, Youth's bass roars and Geordie's guitar grinds.The first three tracks are my favourite with plenty of anthemic and intense vocals from Jaz. I couldn't help singing the chorus' of 'The Great Cull' and 'In Excelsis', even on the first listen, because it they just suck you in.

I suspect 'The Raven King' is a tribute to erstwhile bass player Paul Raven. Starts off with gentle keyboards, like a track from 'Brighter Than A Thousand Suns (Restored Mixes Version) before building up to a triumphant chorus.

I'm less keen on 'European Super State' because of the dance beat but because it's surrounded by such brilliance I quickly forgot about it. By the time the last track plays out you will be wishing for more....... so just put it on repeat and feel your brain melt!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars absolute dissent, 23 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
A band i've loved for years and an eagerly awaited new album. The songwriting is up there as always but the one thing that surprised and dissappointed me was the production.The original line up and some echos of the 'old Joke' in here which is brilliant but why does the drum sound like an old shoebox? Also some of the chord sequences just do not have enough audible clarity to know where the song is going. A good album on the whole but guys, change the production next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best ever album, and one of my favourite albums of all time, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
P. Dorey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Dissent (Audio CD)
Like other reviewers have said, Killing Joke's last couple of albums especially have been patchy, with brilliant tracks (Total Invasion, Walking with Gods, Invocation) interspersed with stodgy fillers. Also, Jaz Coleman's preference for growling the lyrics rather than singing got a bit tiresome at times.

But Absolute Dissent is an absolute masterpiece; a rock classic. There's only one below par track on it (the poppy single, European Super State), but every other track is astounding. Geordie's guitar-playing - he is one of the best, but most under-rated guitarists ever - is sublime: crunchy, fuzzy riffs that bludgeon you into submission (he reminds me a little of Black Sabbath's Tony Iommi, who similalrly played a deceptively simple riff over and over again, but which somehow drew you in). Jaz also sings more on this allbum - there's a couple of tracks where he resorts to Rammstein/Laibach style growling, but most of the time, he sings - but with pure anger and passion - Jaz's 'conspiracy theories', rage against corporate/political corruption and fears of coming global catostrophe are evident in many of the lyrics.

One of the most striking things about this album is the anthemic character of many of the songs, with rousing, stirring, soaring choruses that convey anger and energy (well, John Lydon did say 'anger is an energy'!)- I defy anyone not to be moved, emotionally or physically, by the choruses to 'In Excelsis' or 'The Great Cull', two tracks which also have blistering guitar riffs.

There's also one of the most melancholy and emotional songs Killing Joke have ever written - a eulogy to the late and lamented bassist 'Raven', who died a couple of years ago. Entitled 'The Raven King', it combines sorrowful verses interspersed with soaring choruses. It takes your breath away.

Some of my all-time favourite albums are: Bowie's Ziggy Stardust, Led Zep's 'Physical Graffiti', Manic's 'Journal for Plague Lovers', REM's 'Automatic for the People', Hawkwind's 'Space Ritual', Muse's 'Black Holes and Revelations', and the Rolling Stones' 'Exile on Main Street' - this Killing Joke album has now joined these. It is absolutely superb. It is not only Killing Joke's best album, it is, I believe, one of the best albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Dissent
Absolute Dissent by Killing Joke (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews