Customer Reviews


349 Reviews
5 star:
 (261)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
"The greatest thing you'll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return..."

This film is amazing and even before the end it was apparent that this film was fast becoming my favourite of all time.
Under superb direction from the genius that it Baz Luhurmann, 'Moulin Rouge' is a riot of colour and music with a beautiful plot.
Ewan McGregor and...
Published on 5 Oct. 2009 by Aimee Topham

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Let me down.
I was really let down by this movie!

I had high hopes for this movie but boy it let me down. I am a massive fan of musicals but, i guess you could call this a comedy musical.
I was also looking forward to this as it had great actors in it. The comedy in this movie was all lardy dar and was trying to act dim and funny,
but, I found the comedy stupid...
Published 1 month ago by lisa


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 5 Oct. 2009
"The greatest thing you'll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return..."

This film is amazing and even before the end it was apparent that this film was fast becoming my favourite of all time.
Under superb direction from the genius that it Baz Luhurmann, 'Moulin Rouge' is a riot of colour and music with a beautiful plot.
Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman were perfect for the roles of Satine and Christian, and they led the cast with fantastic performances. The music is brilliant; many famous names are included in the soundtrack (P!nk, David Bowie, Christina Aguilara, Rufus Wainwright, Beck & Timbaland) as well as outstanding performances from the two leads.
Overall, one of the best films I've EVER seen.... I congratulate Baz Luhurmann on yet another masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, Spectacular!, 1 Dec. 2002
I originally saw this film at the cinema because it starred the talented Ewan McGregor. My opinion of him was not let down by this film, if anthing, I am a bigger fan because of it. The film is superb. It is well written, well directed, has fanatastically choreographed scenes, stunning music and brilliant acting from the two stars (Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman) as well as the awesome supporting cast. The film is hilarious, romantic and tragic all at once. It really makes you feel is if you know the characters and are with them in the Moulin Rouge. There is a wide range of music from Nirvana to David Bowie, and no matter how reserved a person you are, you won't be able to stop yourself from singing along. After watching the film I was forced to agonizingly wait for the film to be released on DVD but luckily, I had the soundtracks to keep me going. The DVD is excellent, containing deleted scenes, commentary, interviews and a look in at the costume designs and dance rehearsals as well as hidden extras for the devoted fan. Moulin Rouge is a must for anyone, anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 8 April 2005
By 
Break (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
If you dismiss the premise behind Moulin Rouge (a love story set in Bohemian Paris, told largely through song with scant regard for the restraints of reality) as improbable and almost absurd, you may miss one of the best films of recent years. Only in the skilled hands of Baz Luhrman could such a feat be pulled off: it IS pulled off, and spectacularly so. The film flickers from the hilarious to the dark and tragic, and despite the unashamed flamboyance and craziness of the world of the Moulin Rouge, no character (except possibly the naïve Christian - Ewan McGregor) is at all simplified. Behind the scenes and beyond the façade of garish physical pleasure that makes up the Moulin Rouge, we see the human face of the buffoon-like Harold Zidler (Jim Broadbent), the secret hopes and dreams of Satine (Nicole Kidman), the giggling courtesan, and the dark and dangerous core of jealousy behind the apparently absurd and utterly ridiculous Duke (Richard Roxburgh.)
The story itself is extremely powerful, and the use of some of the most famous songs of the last thirty years simply gives it wings. The hilarious take on Madonna's Like a Virgin provides one of the funniest moments of the film, and the declaration of love through Elton John's Song, and the following famous love medley (set in and on a giant jewel encrusted elephant, no less, in which the two lovers dance around a miniature Paris to the crooning of a singing moon) must be one of the most romantic declarations of love in any film, ever. This most powerful scene, however, must go to the 'Roxanne' tango number: the kind of stuff that gives you goosebumps up the back of your neck. McGregor and Kidman actually singing always threatened to be a weak link, but they get away with it, and their acting is solid throughout. While Broadbent gives an excellent comic performance two of the best showings are from Caroline O'Connor, as Nini, and John Leguizamo, as Henri Toulouse-Latrec. The fact that neither of these two are in starring roles demonstrates the depth and consistency of talent that make up the fabric of the film.
Most of all, Moulin Rouge is special because of its cinematography: totally lavish colours and lights make up a surreal kaleidoscope of wealth and depravity. At its heart, yes: it's a story about love, overcoming all obstacles. But it's the storytelling itself that makes this among the most memorable films of recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 28 Jan. 2002
I bet that many others who went to see Moulin Rouge at the cinema had mixed expectations of what this film would be like. I was one of them. Before I saw it, I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it, but oh how wrong I was!! This film took me on a rollercoaster ride of emotions, with some extremely funny and sad bits set in Bohemian Paris and made it the best musical on the big screen...ever!! Yes, even beating Oklahoma! :)
The gorgeous Ewan McGregor is fantastic in his role as Christian (what a singing voice!) as is Nicole Kidman. The entire cast help to make this an unforgetable film (good example is the "El Tango De Roxanne" scene!)
I really enjoyed this film (went to see it 4 times at the cinema!), have pre-booked my copy and would encourage those who haven't seen it to do the same!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bohemian bazaar, 15 Nov. 2004
By 
Miss N Jhumat (Wolverhampton, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a fantastic, weird and wonderful musical. The songs are just brilliant and the story line itself is so beautifully romantic. This film is recommended for people who like something out of the ordinary and is a softy deep down.
Great film, very well made with a fab soundtrack. Highly recommended.*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luhrmann magic, 9 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Wow - I've just read all the reviews below. Boy, does this film polarise opinion! Basically, if you loved Luhrmann's Romeo & Juliet and Strictly Ballroom, you'll probably love this. Also, if you enjoy fast-paced, visually sumptuous, humourous, melodramatic films with an in-your-face soundtrack, you'll definitely love this. If you're looking for 'polished drama' (as one reviewer was) you won't find it here. The acting is superb and it's SUPPOSED to be over the top!

As for the use of contemporary, well-known songs...well this is Luhrmann's trademark, isn't it? Half the fun is finding out which track he's picked for which situation. This film has the added flavour of virtual amateurs singing the songs - and they don't do too badly at all. You could only be disappointed if you were expecting them to do as well as the originals (and what would be the point of that?).

I think Baz Luhrmann has achieved exactly what he set out to do, and he's done it extremely well. If you don't like this kind of thing, you'll think the film is rubbish. If you enjoy this kind of escapism occasionally then you'll think it's the best thing since sliced bread.....like I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy, fiction, fabulously breathtaking!, 28 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
I would have to recommend this film to all the cynics out there who haven't yet fallen under the spell of the Moulin Rouge. I watched in utter bewliderment at first at the madness that stunned my fellow cinema goers! I was then swept away in the fairytale like world that Moulin Rouge creates. Both Nicole and Ewan were every bit the entertainers they portrayed, Nicoles voice was strong and etheral, Ewan shocked me in so much as I never knew he could even sing! I was crying like a baby by the end of the film and praying it would not take long for the release of the Dvd! Thankfully I will not have to wait long as America has already released it! If you haven't already seen it go enrich your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not subtle but effective., 8 April 2006
By 
**** (Pleasant Hill, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
How to describe Moulin Rouge? - opera? - cabaret? - a campy parody? The opening minutes of the film feel like a chaotic aural and visual assault, almost like a psychedelic collage of MTV video fragments. As the scenes lengthen a story in song actually develops through the use of familiar pop tunes. I particularly enjoyed the send ups of "Like a Virgin" and "Roxanne". The lyrics of familiar songs take on new meanings in an unfamiliar context. To really enjoy the film, one has to suspend judgement and just yield to the director's vision, and this director is obviously not familiar with the concept of "Less is More". I can only describe the experience as a combination of "La Traviata"/"Blade Runner"/"Rocky Horror"/PT Barnum/and even "Umbrellas of Cherbourg." Yet, in the end, the performances were poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film, 18 April 2006
By 
Daftbear (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Most films you see have at least something wrong with them. But this film to me is perfect. The atmosphere, pace and story are all brilliant. It is like a theatre production, but it isn't a play that has been filmed, it is more clever than that. It has the heightnend sense of drama that you have when watching a live performance. I don't thing I have ever seen a film that has recreated that theatre performance feel and this is what makes it a unique film.

When so many movies these days chose to use CGI to try and fool us that we are watching the real deal, at least it is used in Moulin Rouge for magical effect. And this is not a children's story, but it captures a type of naivety of first love, first time in a big city and first drugs. If you have ever found yourself in all three of these situstions at the same time, you may enjoy this film more than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, Spectacular!, 4 Jun. 2006
This is my favorite film by far. With the camera reeling all over a french nightclub with enhanced colours you can't go wrong! The story line with well known songs is a good mix, though you either enjoy the madness, or are confused how it is enjoyable.

This is also a very good copy, with another CD full of extras that will actually amuse you for hours. Quality at it's best at a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moulin Rouge [Blu-ray] [2001]
Moulin Rouge [Blu-ray] [2001] by Baz Luhrmann (Blu-ray - 2010)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews