Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Remastered For The Digital Age
Never before has an Elvis album been remastered with such care. BMG has found the original masters and session tapes of 30 songs which made the top of the pop charts in the US and the UK between 1956 and 1977, remixed and remastered them, and added the JXL remix which recently topped the charts in fourteen countries. Similar to the ground-breaking Beatles Number Ones...
Published on 29 Sep 2002 by Mr. John Dodd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
As expected. Genuine CD, good value
Published 2 months ago by Vulcanalia


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Remastered For The Digital Age, 29 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. John Dodd "John Dodd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elv1s: 30 #1 Hits (Audio CD)
Never before has an Elvis album been remastered with such care. BMG has found the original masters and session tapes of 30 songs which made the top of the pop charts in the US and the UK between 1956 and 1977, remixed and remastered them, and added the JXL remix which recently topped the charts in fourteen countries. Similar to the ground-breaking Beatles Number Ones album in that Elvis' greatest songs aren't included if they didn't get to No.1, this therefore excludes songs like 'That's All Right', 'If I Can Dream' and 'Always On My Mind'. But it does include great songs like 'Heartbreak Hotel', 'Don't Be Cruel' and 'Suspicious Minds', all remastered to perfection. Some songs have sounded rather flat in the past, paarticularly 'Hound Dog', where they didn't have the master tape at hand, but now they've found it in a vault and used it for the first time since 1956.Two songs are noticably different, in that they've used a different version for this release. 'A Fool Such As I' is a different, earlier take of the song, and 'The Wonder Of You' is an undubbed version from an evening Vegas show, here replacing the overdubbed version recorded at the afternoon show the same day. Both lack the finesse of the master versions, but add to the collectability of the CD.These are the greatest hits of the worlds greatest entertainer ever. Therefore this has got to be the greatest album ever released by anyone, and should be in everyone's collection, along with 'The Sun Collection', 'Elvis Is Back' and 'From Elvis In Memphis'. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELV1S will always be the K1NG, 24 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elv1s: 30 #1 Hits (Audio CD)
The 31 songs on this album do not neccessarily give a complete picture of the enormous talent of the greatest recording artist of all time, but they are better than anything anyone else has to offer. All these songs are classics, many have already sold tens of millions of copies as singles and on albums.
With this cd there is the added bonus of the songs being remastered from the origonal tapes so that the sound quality is excellent. You can really hear ELV1S' voice crisp and clear, much better than on any earlier cd. It is almost like hearing the K1NG for the first time.
If you are an ELV1S fan then you have probably already decided to buy this album. If you are not yet a fan, listen to this cd. You will quickly realise why the Legend lives on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live the King!, 14 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elv1s: 30 #1 Hits (Audio CD)
When JXL remixed the '68 hit 'A Little Less Conversation' and got it to number one, it brought Elvis to a whole new generation of fans, including me. My parents are both Elvis fans and I've grown up with his music, but I bought this cd for myself, and to all young fans - it shows why Elvis is the King!
Most of the hits are from the 50's and early 60's, and the infamous tracks 'Heartbeak Hotel', 'Hound dog' and 'All Shook Up' are featured, as well as some lesser-known ones like 'too much' and 'hard headed woman'. What is great about this cd is that it shows Elvis' versatality - no other artist (not even Jacko, who many kids today think is better than Elvis, as if!) could change from rock (Jailhouse rock, burning love) to beautiful ballads (love me tender, don't, can't help falling in love) to gospel (crying in the chapel).
This cd also features 'suspicious minds' which puts Gareth Gates' recent cover to shame. And for newer or younger fans, the sleeve includes information on each track. Once you have this cd, you will want more. And remember:
Before anyone did anything, Elvis did Everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars antastic elvis cd, 14 May 2009
By 
Ms. Roxanne Gillie "Roxanne Gillie" (Borders, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elv1s: 30 #1 Hits (Audio CD)
I actually bought this cd for my 4 year old son. When he was watching the film Lilo and Stitch he always got up to dance when the elvis music came on so i bought the cd for him to dance to in the house with his sister. They absolutelly love it, another generation of Elvis fans coming through !! :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elv1s: 30 #1 Hits (Audio CD)
Came back from a visit to Gracelands and needed a quick fix of Elvis !! Cant stop listening to cd love it ,all the hits on this !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE KING !, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis 30 #1 Hits (MP3 Download)
THE KING AT HIS BEST ! A SELECTION OF SOME OF HIS BEST KNOWN SONGS SUNG AS ONLY HE CAN !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wife loved it, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elv1s: 30 #1 Hits (Audio CD)
we didnt have any elvis in our collection this is the only one needed old to new its all there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elv1s: 30 #1 Hits (Audio CD)
Although not a massive Elvis fan, he is a must for the ipod, as a lover of all types of music the king had to be included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only 'ONE', 20 April 2008
By 
Derek D. Hume - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elv1s: 30 #1 Hits (Audio CD)
Here on 'one' cd are most of Elvis Presleys greatest hits. Starting with Heartbreak Hotel we get the early rock 'n roll hits. Jailhouse Rock, All Shook Up, Hound Dog etc etc. Next we move onto Elvis's change in style as he leaves the army and we get a 'new' Elvis. It's Now Or Never, Surrender, Are You Lonesome Tonight plus the movie hits of Wooden Heart, Can't help Falling In Love, Return To Sender. And the early 60's had Elvis releasing pure pop gems like 'His Latest Flame, Good Luck Charm' & She's Not You.
Then, as everyone believed Elvis would never have another #1 we get the mid 60's #1 hit 'Crying In The Chapel'. To round of this great Cd Elvis proves he can still reach the top of the charts as he does so with more gems. Suspicious Minds, Wonder Of You, & Burnin' Love to name a few. And to round of the #1's on the Cd 'A Little Less Conversation (Remix).
It's a pity time available on this 'ONE' Cd did not allow space for the other #1's like 'I Want You, I Need You, I love You, Little Sister, Rock a Hula Baby, I Need Your Love Tonight, I Got Stung, and Party to name a few.
So if you like to listen to pop music from the 50's right into the 2000's this Cd is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only 'ONE', 20 April 2008
By 
Derek D. Hume - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 30 #1's (Audio CD)
Here on 'one' cd are most of Elvis Presleys greatest hits. Starting with Heartbreak Hotel we get the early rock 'n roll hits. Jailhouse Rock, All Shook Up, Hound Dog etc etc. Next we move onto Elvis's change in style as he leaves the army and we get a 'new' Elvis. It's Now Or Never, Surrender, Are You Lonesome Tonight plus the movie hits of Wooden Heart, Can't help Falling In Love, Return To Sender. And the early 60's had Elvis releasing pure pop gems like 'His Latest Flame, Good Luck Charm' & She's Not You.
Then, as everyone believed Elvis would never have another #1 we get the mid 60's #1 hit 'Crying In The Chapel'. To round of this great Cd Elvis proves he can still reach the top of the charts as he does so with more gems. Suspicious Minds, Wonder Of You, & Burnin' Love to name a few. And to round of the #1's on the Cd 'A Little Less Conversation (Remix).
It's a pity time available on this 'ONE' Cd did not allow space for the other #1's like 'I Want You, I Need You, I love You, Little Sister, Rock a Hula Baby, I Need Your Love Tonight, I Got Stung, to name a few.
So if you like to listen to pop music from the 50's right into the 2000's this Cd is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis 30 #1 Hits
Elvis 30 #1 Hits by Elvis Presley
Buy MP3 Album£8.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews