Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moments of genius hidden in a thundering rock record
On the surface this is a very strong rock record, packed with memorable tracks bearing QOTSA's loud, chugging hallmark sound. The album flows smoothly from one song to the next, helped by short intermissions between tracks by spoof radio DJs. It's hard to find one duff moment on this CD. What makes it truly worthy of all five stars, however, is the moments of...
Published on 22 Mar. 2006 by B. James

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER POOR QUALITY AUDIO DOWNLOAD FROM AMAZON !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THIS IS JUST DREADFUL QUALITY. Another terrible digital download from Amazon.......... Bass is too loud music distorted and fuzzy vocals can hardly be made out this seems to be a regular poor quality control feature of downloads these days whoever was the engineer on this shouldnt be allowed to get any where near a pro tools audio mixing machine again because their...
Published 18 months ago by matwalgromski


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moments of genius hidden in a thundering rock record, 22 Mar. 2006
By 
B. James (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
On the surface this is a very strong rock record, packed with memorable tracks bearing QOTSA's loud, chugging hallmark sound. The album flows smoothly from one song to the next, helped by short intermissions between tracks by spoof radio DJs. It's hard to find one duff moment on this CD. What makes it truly worthy of all five stars, however, is the moments of genius that stick in the mind after repeated listenings; a sound here, a chord there, that reveal attention to detail and diverse influences that lift the record into a class of its own.
I would recommend this CD to anybody who appreciates unique, engaging rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best rock album in years..., 26 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
I've only recently started listening to 'Queens of the Stone Age'. After purchasing the exceptional 'Rated R', I thought I'd give their new album a listen... and I was amazed. This really is the best rock album in years. I don't mean nu-metal, i mean rock album. Queens of the stone age are tight, loud and catchy as hell. I read some reviews on this album which say the album needs a few listens, but I personally found this album instantly addictive, AND I'M NOT EVEN A 'ROCK' fan, prefering the likes of Jeff Buckley. Another thing to note is Dave Grohl's outstanding drumming. I always considered him to be 'average' but from this album you'll see he is far from. Finally, ignore reviews which say the album recording is 'flat' and 'compressed'. The first 10 seconds of track 1 sounds that way, but that soon changes... you'll see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving to the top of the pile..., 11 Mar. 2003
By 
I. Bullen (Wigan, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
Queens Of The Stone Age have seen their stock rise steadily over the last few years and with 'Songs For The Deaf' it seems set to reach new heights, the steady increases multiplying into an unstoppable force.
Recruiting Dave Grohl and Mark Lanegan certainly helps. What band wouldn't be improved by these two talents. Grohl is back doing what he does best, adding a light and shade to the overall sound that isn't witnessed often enough from the drumming in most rock groups (including his own, overrated, Foo Fighters). Lanegan adds his considerable songwriting talent to three of the tracks on offer, including the superb single, 'No One Knows' with its jaunty guitar motif and all-too-hummable refrain.
'No One Knows' forms the centrepiece of the opening triumvirate of tracks, all three swept along on the kind of riffs most bands would kill for. 'First It Giveth' in particular gets the pulse racing and some consideration to likely speeding fines should be given by anyone planning to play this song whilst driving.
The album takes on many moods after its high voltage opening, evoking 60s surf music ('Another Love Song'), 70s glam ('Gonna Leave You' and 'Do It Again'), Zeppelin-esque mystique ('The Sky Is Falling' and the awesome 'Mosquito Song') and the obligatory Black Sabbath homage ('God Is In The Radio'). There's even a Kinks cover version in there ('Everybody's Gonna Be Happy').
This may all make it sound like a record from another age. And in a way it is, no-one out there is making records like this at the moment. Yet there is still a very contemporary feel to the overall sound of the album.
It's also refreshing to hear a band using influences to do just that - influence - rather than copying them wholesale. It adds a layer of texture to the sound that ensures you can't help but be drawn in. Nowhere is that more in evidence than on 'Mosquito Song', Josh Homme's warm yet weary vocal eating into your mind and soul with an intimacy most vocalists can't even imagine.
The Queens Of The Stone Age: the kings of a new era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing!, 15 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
If, like me, you heard of QOTSA through the fact that Dave Grohl is drumming in this record. you actually wont be dissapointed. fair enough it doesn't immediatley get you on the first listen but if you perservere you will be rewarded with some brilliant songs.

I've had this record for about four years now and its still in heavy rotation in my stereo. That can only really prove how good it is.

Unlike the other reviewer on here that stated he didnt like the pretend radio station intros to a lot of the songs, i think it makes the cd a bit more fun and i dont find them anoying in any way, shape or form. It would be really strange if they werent there and i dont think it would be quite as entertaining in the long run.

The best way to describe the album itself is a mixture of Kyuss and say early Screaming Trees with a bit of Black Sabbath thrown in for good measure. If you've never listened to the bands I mentioned this CD is best described as sort of sludgey, dry "stoner-rock" for want of a better term. Kinda like if Motorhead had lived in the middle of a desert for their careers writing music that fit the landscape. Not necessarily heavy. More grungy and dirty. F****ng awesome!

This is kind've a concept album - in that the album plays through as a companion for the drive from LA to Joshua Tree, tuning in to radio stations along the way. In that aspect it works perfectly as it does feel like you could make that drive, listen to this album and have it fit perfectly.

I do think that it is more of a summer record, perfect cd to put on when it is sunny outside, and it will make you want to jump about and go mad - especially the first song "you think i aint worth a dollar but i feel like a millionaire" which admittedly does take a few listens to appreciate fully.

Although i'm maybe a bit biased concidering i have had it for so long already and it does remind me of some good times i had a few summers ago it really is a worthwhile addition to your cd collection.

I'd recomend it if you like Mark Lanegan (solo or with Screaming Trees), Kyuss, Mondo Generator, Black Sabbath, Motorhead, even early Nirvana/Foo Fighters... etc

A very worthwhile purchase especially at the price its at now, you really cant go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget other reviews, forget other bands..., 16 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
Songs for the deaf is quite frankly, the culmination of nearly a decade and a half of hard work and experience in the business, and a group of musicians fulfilling their exciting potentials. Josh Homme has never sounded more confident vocally, alot of the tracks on QOTSA's third album being all over his range - whilst combining genial riffs. With the support of Dave Grohl of Nirvana and Foo Fighters fame, Nick Oliveri supplies the meanacing, creeping bass sounds that linger in the air only to be pummled just in time by Daves agressive, hard-hitting yet complex drumming style. Mark Lanegan returns for this album adding vocals to 'A song for the dead' 'hanging tree'and 'a song gor the deaf'. Songs for the Deaf is an instant classic that, although taking a darker, more melodic twist from 'Rated R' (previous QOTSA album) fulfills all of its promise. Troy Van Leeuw from A Perfect Circle supplies rhythm guitar and some excellent mandolin work when the haunting wails of songs like 'No One KNows' and 'The Sky Is Falling' are put into play. The album uses alot of different instruments to create their unique sounds, such as the mandolin, keyboards, effects and even a backing orchestral set at times. Queens Of The Stone Age fans will not be dissapointed. This album has done very well without losing that drug-induced QOTSA vibe, and new listeners will surley be hooked for good. I was. Having taken Black Sabbaths formations of stoner rock, and developed it through Kyuss, it is this incarnation of Josh Homme and Nick Oliveris work that stands out abopve all others. With the rest of the band playing an important part, Queens Of The Stoneage is becoming a household name - if your household is the dark rock fortress on the corner of Rock st. and Drugs ave. This band have definatley made their name and will forever go down in alternative rock history for THIS album. if you dont own it, your record collection is null and void.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2002's album of the year- no doubt, 10 Oct. 2006
By 
Dafydd Jones "MetalliManic" (Aberystwyth, Ceredigion United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best modern-day rock albums. Whether it's Dave Grohl's amazing drumming, or Josh Homme's genius, or just the Homme-Grohl-Lanegan-Oliveri musicianship, something makes this album rock. And rock hard it does.

So, it's based completely on a radio station format. It opens up with the curiously titled 'You Might Think I'm Only Worth A Dollar But I Feel Like A Millionaire'- sung, or rather screamed by the unique Nick Oliveri (who has, by now left the band). And probably for the best as well. The music is absolutely brilliant. Credit needs to be given where credit is due, and even though Oliveri is a complete nutter, his music playing skills are not in question. He screams his way through the opening track, with some hammering riffs behind him. 9/10.

Track two, and the excellent 'No One Knows'. This time, Homme takes charge of vocals, and at least things calm down in that sense. The musi steps up a gear though. It's an absolute blinder, and one of the best rock tracks of the decade so far. 10/10.

Track three is the brilliant 'First It Giveth'. The chorus really makes this song, simply with the lyrics 'First it giveth then it taketh away'. Homme sings very well here, and it's another corker. 10/10.

Track four, 'A Song For The Dead' is, dare I say it, a 'Dave Grohl' song, more than anything. The music covers up his mesmeric drumming skills, especially the last 80 odd seconds. It's dark, and it's super. Mark Lanegan takes over on vocals here. But the main focus of the song is Grohl, and the song deserves 10/10 simply for his talents alone.

Track five, 'The Sky Is Fallin'', is a rather drift-away song, until the unforgiving guitars shoot through like proverbial arrows. The song is brilliant, and the chorus is excellent (Homme on vocals this time). 10/10.

Track six, unfortunately, is one to forget. 'Six Shooter' is a barrage of screaming and swearing for all of one minute and 18 seconds. One minute and 18 seconds too long in my opinion. Needless to say, it's Oliveri's turn on vocals, and he does himself no favours as it's the last time for him to feature on vocals on the album. Dreadful. The music is super as always, however the howling drowns it out so it can seldom be heard. 5/10.

Track seven, is a return to form (thankfully). 'Hangin' Tree' is a great track (Lanegan on vocals). Deserves a solid 8/10.

Track eight then takes things up a notch again. Homme sings on 'Go With The Flow'- a rip-roaring riff with super musicianship. A definite 10/10.

Track nine, means that Lanegan is back on vocal duties, as he sings 'Gonna Leave You'. Nothing stands out, but a solid track nevertheless. 8/10.

Track ten is 'Do It Again' has a strong 70's feel to it for some reason. The guitars, the vocals at the beginning (the 'Hey's), maybe. A solid track. Homme is back on main vocals. A super track, and merits 10/10. Humour at the end where the radio bit is played. 'This is Tom Sherman. Here we're promoting a blood drop.' Then some various other bits get played.

Track eleven is the brilliant 'God Is In The Radio' (Lanegan on vocals). The musicianship is brilliant again, and probably the best track since 'No One Knows' overall. A bit creepy at the end, where some random noises are played, with an echo behind them. 10/10.

Track twelve is 'Another Love Song', again, with Lanegan on vocals. Has a rather dark, haunting feel to it, with super lyrics and a solid riff. 9/10.

Track thirteen is the title track, and what a riff it is. Rip-roaring. Best riff in years. Just turn it up to 11 and rock out. It is an absolute corker, combining heavy riffs and Homme's rather spooky voice (in the quiter parts), it makes for a super finishing track. 10/10.

Track fourteen, the first of the bonus tracks, the rather haunting 'Mosquito Song'- combining rather cringeing lyrics with actually a more than decent tune. 9/10.

Track fifteen, 'The Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret (Live)' is superb. The Queens are on top form here. The chorus riff is absolutely rip-roaring. Brilliant. 10/10.

Track sixteen, 'Everybody's Going To Be Happy' is a short song to finish off proceedings. Has a slight old-fashioned feel to it (if the Beatles wre hard rock this is the kind of music they'd probably produce). Excellent song, but not at the standard of most of the previous offerings.

So, overall, a really excellent album, better than the critically-acclaimed 'Rated R', and in my opinion, better than 'Lullabies To Paralyze.'

Overall, this is a super album, and full credit to the Queens for creating the album of their career so far. 9.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review for the blind, 5 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
The very first thing that must be said about this album is the level of expectation behind it: As well as the high profile of Messrs Homme and Oliveri, there is of course the fabulous voice of Mark Lanegan and the powerhouse that is Dave Grohl playing drums… yada yada yada. So far so interesting, we’ve heard all this before as well as the allegations of being a ‘supergroup’ that only serve to set up bands for a fall. The thing is, that no matter who recorded this album, it would be excellent, the guitars switch between hardcore punk and psychedelic blues as well as everything in between, the lyrics are powerful, emotive and all delivered in the voice Ian Astbury wishes he had… Oh yeah and they have a naked bassist and some bloke on drums called Grohl, who seems to play with such energy you wonder what they’ve been doing to him to make him this pissed off.
‘Songs for the Deaf’ delivers fascinating, brilliant rock music that will stay in your head and on your CD player for weeks after the first rush of enjoyment. Although some songs don’t seem to fit with the standard ‘Queens…’ songs, (‘six shooter’ and opener ‘millionaire’ are pure screaming punk) this only adds to the diversity of the record and make it even more fascinating. Possibly the most interesting track is the hidden track ‘Mosquito song’ with it’s a hauntingly dark lyrics and string arrangement contrasting the gentle acoustics of Homme’s guitar to provide an epic rock track that ebbs and flows leaving the listener simultaneously exhilarated and drained.
A stunning rock album from four stunning musicians with bonus tracks, hidden tracks (rewind from the very first track, see what happens) and a DVD. Superb.
Try also:
The Cult - Love
QOTSA - Rated R/ QOTSA
Kyuss - Welcome to Sky Valley
Any of Led Zepplins early material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Stoner Pop ever, 24 Aug. 2002
The amazon reviewer obviously misses the point in this album. It's suppossed to sound like your hungover in a hot desert with nothing but tequila and sand around you. Its good that that is what it represents. Queens follow the tradition of Kyuss where they sing and they love the place they orginate from (the California desert). Therefore this album is brillant on that reason alone. However to make it the amazing album which it is, it also has tons of melody and songs. This is stoner rock with a twist of pop. For some this maybe be tedious and boring (a point which the amazon reviewer makes) however no one is telling you to buy this album. If you enjoy stoner rock you obviously don't find it boring and therefore this is an eagerly awaited album, and you know more or less what to expect ie the briallance of josh hommes and co.
In short buy this album, but not because NME tells you because for them its a flavour of the month thing. They don't know and understand the history and feeling behind stoner rock. Buy it to appreciate and to get into stoner rock, the only true non-fad music out there, and because its a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked 'No one knows' buy this album!!, 4 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr. R. Legg "leggster" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
What can I say about this album other than the fact it is one of the best of last couple of years.
I bought it purely on the strength of the single 'No one knows' and I'm glad I did. It maintains such a pace throughout the entire album, complemented by excellent drumming from Dave Grohl (on loan from Foo fighters). Broken now and then by short, mock radio pieces which remind me of the Reservoir dogs soundtrack. The tracks themselves are very well written and are full of great technical prowess from all three members. It's stoner rock at it's finest! The best tracks, in my opinion, are Go with the flow and No one knows in that order. There is also a great live track at the end which is from previos album Rated R (also worth a look). It has also made me check out older QOTSA albums, like Rated R, and previous band Kyuss. Although not many singles were taken from this album (2 or 3, I think) viewed as a whole it is great album and one I'll be listening to for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'secret' band you'll hear, 7 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs For The Deaf (Audio CD)
I came to hear of QOTSA by accident, hearing a snippet of 'No One Knows' liking it a lot and wanting to hear more. This album will not disappoint - as long as you give it a couple of listens! It starts off harsh and then roars along at a pace that stutters and strums between rock and melancholy and never seems to lose its' way. Standouts are 'No One Knows', 'Go With The Flow' and 'I'm Gonna Leave You' - the more poppy songs.I must admit I'd never heard of QOTSA at all until 2 years ago and then I bought this alubm.I now own all of their albums, and cannot wait til the next - a recommendation if ever you'll get one. Buy this album even if you are half thinking about it, buy it if you're not sure. They truly are the best band that you've never heard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs For The Deaf (UK Version)
Songs For The Deaf (UK Version) by Queens Of The Stone Age
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews