Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars27
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2012
This game just works so well. The UI is clean and intuitive. The tutorial is short, allowing you to master the simple controls quickly - freeing you to focus more on strategy.

It merges action and RTS beautifully; each unit has two special abilities, for example a small tank which can fire anti-tank missiles or drop smoke canisters for an escape.

One of the best RTS games I own and I count Homeworld, Company of Heroes, Dawn of War, Darwinia etc among the best.

The voice acting is top notch - the story is suitably dramatic.

This game includes the biggest explosions my screen has ever seen! More artillery, air-strikes, tank blasts all the way up to nukes I've seen. Beautiful carnage!

The multilayer is epic fun too - you control one of four branches of the army; Armor, Infantry, Air, Support - only by working together and use the map will you get anywhere.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
This game, even today, needs a top end PC to run with all settings at ultra and for it to run smoothly. The graphics, if you have the pc for it, are excellent. Imagine being able to zoom in on the turret on a T-80 and to see wear and tear on the paint!
The gameplay itself if excellent, but sometimes a little repetitive. However, ignore this and you will take part in top notch battles. The storyline is very well done. Best of all perhaps is that the online multi-player is still very much in use today. I have never had to wait for enough people to start an online game, tons of players always there kicking ass.

10/10
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
WiC is really great game! It will provide hours of fun for everyone that likes strategy genre. It requires player to often make fast decisions to achieve victory! It works well on older computers and looks beautifully on better ones, It is certainly worth the money!
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
I am a huge fan of RTS games and because I have recently bought a new computer to replace my laptop, I have been on a spree of RTS games and out of the couple I have Nothing compares to this!
If you're looking for an action based RTS and something to really get your adrenaline going then this is one for you! Also what more could you ask for as it's cheap and you get the expansion pack (Soviet Assault) included! Who doesn't like large airstrikes, tank battles and nukes, with every aspect of an RTS thrown in for good measure? However if you're looking for an RTS which includes base building and maintaining supplies then this may not be the game for you. Stricktly warfare with this one.
I you want to have a look at the game and some of the missions then I have some posted on youtube. (...)
However this is a game not to be missed or forgotten!
Hope this helped in your decission.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2011
This is a brilliant new RTS. Theres no annoying base building or super elite unit which equals instant victory.
The gameplay is realistic. All sub classes (Air Support Infantry and armor) are balanced well.

The campaign is good albeit a tad repetitive (Capture this in order to attack there and beat the hell out of the russians/nato/US).

There are many mods out there for this game. Ranging from the not yet finished "Modern warfare" to some funner mods which ennable the use of more nukes and unbeleivably powerful units.

Overall this is a novel RTS experience and i recommend you should at least spend 5-10h playing it before saying its bad just because it is different.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
I just don't really enjoy this game.
I really don't see what the fuss is about.
I'm a big Company of Heroes fan, and was recommended this (by a guy who refuses to play company of heroes because he thinks this is all he needs for his strategy war games).
... And I feel so sorry for that guy.... Because if this is all he knows, then he's missing out.

There just doesn't seem to be much strategy, or perhaps I'm just not "getting" the "subtle nuances".
It just seems like you spawn a bunch of units and then send them all in.
It's just an entirely dull and uninteresting game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
I had expected more from this game, seeing some of the the rave reviews. Not much storyline and the missions are basically move there and blast everything, now move over there and blast everything. I've completed 2 missions and there doesn't seem to be any way of upgrading or getting new units.
Two major issues that potential buyers should be aware of; the game comes with a bug that means it crashes to black screen before you can do anything. A mooch around the internet gave a solution that involved changing a text file. Not everyone will be comfortable doing that... The other issue is that, although the pack says it is the "Complete Edition", it is, in fact only the "Soviet Invasion" expansion pack - a mere 6 missions. I completed 2 in under an hour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
What if the Soviet union attacked the US and you had to Control US forces against the soviets...this game answers that, The idea is that the soviets have landed on the US and because the us wont use nukes on their own country(at first;)) they have to fight them off.

the game is as good as any i have played and very similiar to games like company of heroes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
very fun zone of control rts
decent story
missions intermixed - the russian missions are expansion
units learn and grow
you choose what to get against point earned in combat
no building
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
Didn't know anything about this game before I bought it. Absolutely great fun. Easy to use and lots to do! No trouble installing and highly recommended, especially at this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.