Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9/10. 'Just Like Heaven'
While some of The Cure faithful may feel aggrieved by the absence - 'A Forest' notwithstanding - of tracks from their gloomiest period (Faith, Seventeen Seconds, Pornography), the more casual listener will find much to enjoy here. Having had a big Cure phase in my teens, I might quibble that the Boys Don't Cry/Three Imaginary Boys era is under-represented. 'Jumping...
Published on 21 July 2007 by Demob Happy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing spectacular
Not the best album I have heard. One of those where initially starts off well with boys don't cry but not my best decision to purchase this.
Published 8 months ago by Paul Batty


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9/10. 'Just Like Heaven', 21 July 2007
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
While some of The Cure faithful may feel aggrieved by the absence - 'A Forest' notwithstanding - of tracks from their gloomiest period (Faith, Seventeen Seconds, Pornography), the more casual listener will find much to enjoy here. Having had a big Cure phase in my teens, I might quibble that the Boys Don't Cry/Three Imaginary Boys era is under-represented. 'Jumping Someone Else's Train' and 'Killing An Arab', for instance, would have been preferable to some of the relatively non-descript material post-'Friday I'm In Love'. It seems odd also given how fashionable angular post-punk has been in the 00s to skimp on this early period, but ultimately you can't fault this as an introduction to the band.

What is great about this colllection is that The Cure had a habit of reinventing themselves and releasing their most resonant and accessible material as singles. This is not to say that they were a singles band - far from it, your next purchase ought to be 'Disintegration' if you don't own it already - but that this captures the band at their most varied, eccentric best. Whereas some Best-Ofs can seem fairly by-the-numbers, soulless experiences, 'Greatest Hits' is a joy for its vivid eclecticism.

Despite their reputation (not always unfounded) for bleak introspection, 'Greatest Hits' reveals Robert Smith to be one of the best pop songwriters of his generation. 'In Between Days', 'Close To Me', 'Just Like Heaven' are pop perfection, while 'A Forest' and 'Lullaby' harnesses the band's predilection for acid-spiked paranoia in a universably accessible form. Meanwhile the deranged, off-kilter pop of 'The Lovecats' and 'The Caterpillar' straddles the unlikely territory somewhere between these two poles: too saccharine to be goth, too bonkers by most pop tastes. Then you have the raw energy of 'Boy's Don't Cry' and the comparatively lush and expansive pop sensibility of 'Lovesong' and 'Pictures of You'. Thankfully, the collection is also chronological, so you get (almost) the whole Cure story - and a fantastic journey it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had appreciated them back in the '80s, 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It's funny how musical tastes change over the years. When I was at school, The Cure seemed to be a little left-of-field, and their fans had a demeanour that wasn't me. Looking back, I was into other things at the time which excluded me from fitting in with them. But not necessarily fitting in is what The Cure were about I have subsequently learnt.

"Boys Don't Cry, A Forest, The Lovecats, The Caterpillar, Inbetween Days, Close To Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Lullaby, Pictures of You" and "Friday I'm In Love", are exceptionally beautiful songs, and some still evoke the thoughts and feelings that I had as a teenager.

Belatedly, some 30 odd years later, I feel that I am only now entering the 'left-
of-field' world that I mentioned earlier - just wish I had been part of it in the 80's. Where did all that time go? Anyway, enough of reminiscing about the long and distant past...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something For Everyone, 24 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Every rock fan will be able to pick this album up and find at least a couple of songs that appeal to them. Ever a versatile band, Robert Smith's voice and the underlying bass guitar riffs are the only real constants throughout this greatest hits package. 'Never Enough' is pure guitar stomp, 'Lovecats' the grooviest of white jazz, and 'Love Song' the most poignant example of Smith's lyric-writing.
What more can I say that hasn't already been said in previous reviews? Even for established Cure fans, this is a very handy condensed package which I would genuinely recommend to anyone around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits: The Cure - Just like heaven..., 7 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Excellent best of compilation from The Cure. Covering the greater part of their career, and showing just what they were capable of from the breezy catchiness of Lovecats through the full gamut of experimentalism and pop through to the moody A Forest. A great place for beginners (such as myself) to start with their music, though it has left me wanting more fo their actual album releases. To be honest, at this price it's worth getting just for the classic that is Lovecats.

Mastering and production are good, with a decent sound and good liner notes. An excellent release, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Showcase for a Band that dares to be Different, 14 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
An excellent collection of tracks from the band's career - hearing them together on one album, you're reminded of just what a talented and underrated crew they are. It's all too easy for your main opinion of the The Cure to be shaped by their frankly bonkers videos - and you forget what a great songsmith and vocalist Robert Smith is. The album brings you the twisted pop brilliance of Boys Don't Cry, Lovecats, Close to Me and Just Like Heaven, contrasting with the gothic gloom of A Forest, Lovesong and Lullaby; and Why Can't I Be You is an unsung barnstorming gem in my view. With the exception of Friday I'm in Love, the last 8 tracks are pretty unremarkable (hence 4 not 5 stars), but it's what has gone before that really counts - and the sum total is a truly memorable set. If you're not yet a Cure fan, this cd is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits: The Cure - Just like heaven..., 7 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Excellent best of compilation from The Cure. Covering the greater part of their career, and showing just what they were capable of from the breezy catchiness of Lovecats through the full gamut of experimentalism and pop through to the moody A Forest. A great place for beginners (such as myself) to start with their music, though it has left me wanting more fo their actual album releases. To be honest, at this price it's worth getting just for the classic that is Lovecats.

Mastering and production are good, with a decent sound and good liner notes. An excellent release, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure thats for sure!, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Aaron J. Law "Aaron Law" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Look, you cannot say this is what The Cure is all about 100%, merely the commercial side of the group that spans multiple genres. This album is exactly what any radio friendly fan should want and a great collection of the most popular singles. They are the greatest band of all time and this portrays the singles and pop tunes which everybody knows. This is the stepping stone for any budding cure fan!
Excellent tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits - plain and simple, 1 Sep 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Cure have always been one of these bands that I've only ever half been aware of - I've fully appreciated the impact they've had on the music scene, but I've never really known any of the songs as well as I should have. Which is why I bought this - their Greatest Hits.

People that bleat on and complain about Greatest Hits being too predictable by certain artists miss the point - Best Of compilations are not for the die hard fans - if you're a die hard fan, you should already have all the albums. Best Of's are a great starting point for people just getting into an act. And this is exactly what this does. All the classics are here - Friday I'm In Love, Boys Don't Cry, In Between Days....and that's exactly what people want.

Everybody should have heard of The Cure - use this Greatest Hits as an excuse to finally buy one of their CD's and get to learn how great these tunes that have been played to you over and over again over the past 20 years really are.

To everybody else - stop complaining about Greatest Hits compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good pop songs, 12 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a good selection of pop songs...

But those seeking 'what the cure are really all about' should either by the albums or get join the dots (because some of those B-sides are amazing).
The Cure were about long atmospheric pieces of music which conjure up images in your head and evoke moods without even hearing the lyrics. When the lyrics do come they are usually delivered in a despairing hopeless way, or wailed, by Robert Smith and his masterfully unique voice, in the world of Pop/Rock.

Best songs suited for this are all the tracks on 'pornography', and charlotte sometimes, none of which included here.

This is the lighter bouncier commercial side of the Cure. Songs you WILL have heard before but didn't know who it was. Except everyone knows 'Friday I'm In Love' - National Student Anthem.

Staring at the Sea and Galore are better compilations, this skims over too many songs, but If you are going to get anything get disintegration. If you want pop hits, get Head on the door. And go from there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview, 24 Aug 2007
By 
Cuban Heel "Neil Schiller" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I'm not a Cure purist, I never really thought of myself as a real fan of the band. But this is a great collection of songs. Maybe not a fully representative one in terms of their overall goth agenda, but for those non-goths of us out there, it's just a great set of indie classics.

For the casual listener (like me) there are a couple of tracks that detract from the overall quality. I don't really like 'Caterpillar', 'Lovecats' was never their greatest song, and the cd tails off a little bit after 'Mint Car'. But the bleak brilliance of 'Forest', the jangly guitars of 'In Between Days' and the joyous build-up of melody in 'Close to Me' represent real class, the like of which is just too rare these days. And who can forget 'Just Like Heaven' which has become my firm favourite for the intro alone.

The acoustic cd is not really worth much attention. I think I've listened to it twice. There's no real variety or inventiveness evident on this - the tracks sound like exact replicas of the studio versions played on acoustic instruments, slightly less enthusiastically than they were the first time around.

If you're a die hard Cure fan I'm sure there's a whole lot more out there for you and this will probably just leave you wanting. For the rest of us, it's a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by The Cure
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews