Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9/10. 'Just Like Heaven'
While some of The Cure faithful may feel aggrieved by the absence - 'A Forest' notwithstanding - of tracks from their gloomiest period (Faith, Seventeen Seconds, Pornography), the more casual listener will find much to enjoy here. Having had a big Cure phase in my teens, I might quibble that the Boys Don't Cry/Three Imaginary Boys era is under-represented. 'Jumping...
Published on 21 July 2007 by Demob Happy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing spectacular
Not the best album I have heard. One of those where initially starts off well with boys don't cry but not my best decision to purchase this.
Published 6 months ago by Paul Batty


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9/10. 'Just Like Heaven', 21 July 2007
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
While some of The Cure faithful may feel aggrieved by the absence - 'A Forest' notwithstanding - of tracks from their gloomiest period (Faith, Seventeen Seconds, Pornography), the more casual listener will find much to enjoy here. Having had a big Cure phase in my teens, I might quibble that the Boys Don't Cry/Three Imaginary Boys era is under-represented. 'Jumping Someone Else's Train' and 'Killing An Arab', for instance, would have been preferable to some of the relatively non-descript material post-'Friday I'm In Love'. It seems odd also given how fashionable angular post-punk has been in the 00s to skimp on this early period, but ultimately you can't fault this as an introduction to the band.

What is great about this colllection is that The Cure had a habit of reinventing themselves and releasing their most resonant and accessible material as singles. This is not to say that they were a singles band - far from it, your next purchase ought to be 'Disintegration' if you don't own it already - but that this captures the band at their most varied, eccentric best. Whereas some Best-Ofs can seem fairly by-the-numbers, soulless experiences, 'Greatest Hits' is a joy for its vivid eclecticism.

Despite their reputation (not always unfounded) for bleak introspection, 'Greatest Hits' reveals Robert Smith to be one of the best pop songwriters of his generation. 'In Between Days', 'Close To Me', 'Just Like Heaven' are pop perfection, while 'A Forest' and 'Lullaby' harnesses the band's predilection for acid-spiked paranoia in a universably accessible form. Meanwhile the deranged, off-kilter pop of 'The Lovecats' and 'The Caterpillar' straddles the unlikely territory somewhere between these two poles: too saccharine to be goth, too bonkers by most pop tastes. Then you have the raw energy of 'Boy's Don't Cry' and the comparatively lush and expansive pop sensibility of 'Lovesong' and 'Pictures of You'. Thankfully, the collection is also chronological, so you get (almost) the whole Cure story - and a fantastic journey it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had appreciated them back in the '80s, 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It's funny how musical tastes change over the years. When I was at school, The Cure seemed to be a little left-of-field, and their fans had a demeanour that wasn't me. Looking back, I was into other things at the time which excluded me from fitting in with them. But not necessarily fitting in is what The Cure were about I have subsequently learnt.

"Boys Don't Cry, A Forest, The Lovecats, The Caterpillar, Inbetween Days, Close To Me, Why Can't I Be You?, Lullaby, Pictures of You" and "Friday I'm In Love", are exceptionally beautiful songs, and some still evoke the thoughts and feelings that I had as a teenager.

Belatedly, some 30 odd years later, I feel that I am only now entering the 'left-
of-field' world that I mentioned earlier - just wish I had been part of it in the 80's. Where did all that time go? Anyway, enough of reminiscing about the long and distant past...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something For Everyone, 24 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Every rock fan will be able to pick this album up and find at least a couple of songs that appeal to them. Ever a versatile band, Robert Smith's voice and the underlying bass guitar riffs are the only real constants throughout this greatest hits package. 'Never Enough' is pure guitar stomp, 'Lovecats' the grooviest of white jazz, and 'Love Song' the most poignant example of Smith's lyric-writing.
What more can I say that hasn't already been said in previous reviews? Even for established Cure fans, this is a very handy condensed package which I would genuinely recommend to anyone around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits: The Cure - Just like heaven..., 7 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Excellent best of compilation from The Cure. Covering the greater part of their career, and showing just what they were capable of from the breezy catchiness of Lovecats through the full gamut of experimentalism and pop through to the moody A Forest. A great place for beginners (such as myself) to start with their music, though it has left me wanting more fo their actual album releases. To be honest, at this price it's worth getting just for the classic that is Lovecats.

Mastering and production are good, with a decent sound and good liner notes. An excellent release, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits: The Cure - Just like heaven..., 7 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Excellent best of compilation from The Cure. Covering the greater part of their career, and showing just what they were capable of from the breezy catchiness of Lovecats through the full gamut of experimentalism and pop through to the moody A Forest. A great place for beginners (such as myself) to start with their music, though it has left me wanting more fo their actual album releases. To be honest, at this price it's worth getting just for the classic that is Lovecats.

Mastering and production are good, with a decent sound and good liner notes. An excellent release, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure thats for sure!, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Aaron J. Law "Aaron Law" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Look, you cannot say this is what The Cure is all about 100%, merely the commercial side of the group that spans multiple genres. This album is exactly what any radio friendly fan should want and a great collection of the most popular singles. They are the greatest band of all time and this portrays the singles and pop tunes which everybody knows. This is the stepping stone for any budding cure fan!
Excellent tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners!, 31 Aug 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This classic 2001 compilation showcases The Cure's most successful and radio friendly hits. It is an excellent introduction to the band.

You will probably recognise many of the tracks already, and with 19 to listen to, you are almost guaranteed to like some of them (and how could you not?). Robert Smith (the band's lead singer, guitar player and principle songwriter) chose all of them himself.

The compilation spans twenty-five years of electric rock music, and showcases what a versatile band The Cure are. The CD has all of the essentials to please new fans, including the incredibly catchy 'Love Cats', the always guaranteed to lift your mood 'Friday I'm In Love' and 'Close To Me'. If you are don't already own an album by the band, this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits: The Cure - Just like heaven..., 7 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Excellent best of compilation from The Cure. Covering the greater part of their career, and showing just what they were capable of from the breezy catchiness of Lovecats through the full gamut of experimentalism and pop through to the moody A Forest. A great place for beginners (such as myself) to start with their music, though it has left me wanting more fo their actual album releases. To be honest, at this price it's worth getting just for the classic that is Lovecats.

Mastering and production are good, with a decent sound and good liner notes. An excellent release, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent highlights package of a varied carreer, 13 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This compilation offers excellent coverage of the Cure's 23 year career and illustrates that although there are only a few genuine 'hits', there has been ample enduring quality in the bands history to make this a worthwhile venture. The standout tracks are easily apparent, ranging from the quirky alt-pop brilliance of 'Close To Me' to their biggest hit, the anthemic 'Friday I'm In Love' which sounds just as good today as it ever did. Aside from the true 'hits' we can still find real gems in the shape of the melancholic yet heartfelt lo-fi confessions of 'Love Song' and 'Pictures of You' as well as the relatively more upbeat 'Never Enough' (including Robert Smith's trademark squealing). Overall the LP strikes a good balance between the more accessible, yet utterly brilliant pop songs ('High', 'Friday I'm in Love') and the more angst driven tracks off of the less commercial LP's. This is an ideal compilation for new fans of the band and devotees alike, though those who have followed the band for a while may feel these 'Greatest Hits' represent the glossier side of an often darker overall sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're new to The Cure, this is the place to start., 1 July 2002
This review is from: The Cure Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
As with the majority of bands, if you are new to them and they've got a greatest hits album that's usually the best place to start, and with the myriad of styles displayed here this is certainly true of The Cure.
The album kicks off with The Buzzcocks-esque Boy's Don't Cry (1979), a song which seems to be gaining in popularity again due to being continually namechecked by bands such as The Strokes and The Hives. A Forest (1980) comes next and is arguably the song that created the goth movement, although The Cure would not thank you for saying so. It has easily the most memorable bassline of any song ever, one which has been stolen by quite a few bands such as Fields Of The Nephilim, and is an appropriately spooky tale of being "lost in a forest all alone...".
That A Forest should be quite a scary affair makes the following song, Let's Go To Bed (1982) all the more peverse. Basically think Master And Servant by Depeche Mode, think Mad World by Tears For Fears (sped up a bit) and you have Let's Go To Bed. It's pure pop for the next 6 songs, through The Lovecats (1983) a fantastic jazz singalong which REALLY should be picked up by Disney someday if they ever make another Aristocats-type movie, The Caterpillar (1984) which is a Marc Bolan-esque accoustic ditty without the cheesy glam edge, Inbetween Days (1985) which is 100% pure New Order (not them again!!!) although for a couple of years it was hard to tell who was ripping off who, Close To Me (1985) which to me is a bit of a pop parody of a sped-up Green Onions (Booker T and the MG's) !!!! which features Robert's craziest singing yet, Why Can't I Be You (1987) is another mad slice of pop with crazy trumpets and funky guitars and they even stole the drumbeat from "I'm Walking On Sunshine" (or whatever it's called), Just Like Heaven (1987) is another return to the New Order sound (not them again!!!!) although this time it was actually The Cure who were ripped off when the guitar riff from this track was used on a 1989 New Order song.
Lullaby (1990) is a return to the early goth sound with it's plain spooky orchestral sounding keyboards and lyrics about being eaten by a giant spider ! Lovesong (1990) is driven by a catchy organ riff and a complicated bassline (Lovesong shot to number 2 in the US singles chart, kept off number 1 only by Janet Jackson which was quite an acheivement considering her popularity at the time, and it won an award for being the most played song on US radio in 1990), Pictures Of You (1990) is an edited version of the album track and brings a bit of extra energy and urgency to the song although it's at the expense of the much longer album versions emotion. It still gives you a good idea of the bands ability to sound quite poppy and breezy even when tackling serious subject matter and the three singles of Lullaby, Lovesong and Pictures Of You should be enough to convince you to immediately purchase Disintegration, the album they are taken from (and described by one of the South Park characters as "the greatest album ever made" !!!).
Never Enough (1990) was at the time of it's release the heaviest track the band had released. It's got a very similar feel to Jimi Hendrix's Purple Haze, the whole song is loose and funky with some well cool wah-wah guitars.
High (1992) took the band back to the jangly pop of the Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me album and was neatly followed up by Friday I'm In Love (1992) a Beatles-esque piece of great songcraft which became their highest charting single (to date at the time of writing this). Mint Car (1996) does not follow on very well after Friday I'm In Love as it is essentially the same song with different lyrics and not quite as good ! If you have never heard Friday then you'd probably like this song a lot, but it really should have been left off as Friday serves it's own purpose quite well enough, plus Mint Car wasn't a "hit" anyway......
Keeping up that theme, after Friday I'm In Love there aren't anymore "hits" on this album.
Wrong Number (1997) was a stab at what Americans like to call "electronica", which features some quite tough guitar by special guest Reeves Gabrels (ex-David Bowie band). Unfortunately it has been subsequently revealed (in the sleeve notes) that Robert Smith (vocals) and Jason Cooper (drums) are the only Cure members to play on this song. It was okay on it's release but it already sounds really dated. It's alright as a bit of a different style on here but it's easily one of The Cure's weakest songs. My advice to them would be to erase all of the drum machines and sequenced bass on this song and play some real instruments on it, then we'd be in business.
The last 2 songs Cut Here (2001) and Just Say Yes (never released - which again means it doesn't qualify as a "hit"....) are another attempt at returning to their classic pop days and while Cut Here is very good, both are a bit worn and Just Say Yes sounds like a Black Grape tribute band !!!
Anyway, start your Cure collection here !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by The Cure
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews