Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars142
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 14 October 2001
Incredible. I love every track on this album; pure listening pleasure. This is the only album I have that is truly consistent - I adore every track. I would never press skip to hear the next track because they are all equally superb!! Now how many of you reading this can say the same about any other album in your possession?? Every track is pure gold on this CD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
on 12 March 2002
There are quite a few Police/Police-Sting compilations doing the rounds at the moment. Avoid all of them and buy this ! Greatest Hits is just that, a sixteen-track, chronologically correct retropsective which provides us with all the big hit singles, plus a couple of classic album cuts such as Beds To Big Without You, Tea In The Sahara and the utterly brilliant power-pop of Synchronicity II (a US single). With Sting's ever-thoughtful lyrics, Andy Summers' sublime muscianship (he was the real cornerstone of the band) and Stuart Copeland's brilliantly tight percussion, there is something here for everyone. From the reggae-esque Roxanne (1978), the gorgeous simplicity of the bass-line on Walking On The Moon (1979), the pure pop joy of Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic (1981) to their all time classic single Every Breath You Take (1983), you can really begin to appreciate the musical evolution of the band over the years, with the quality control never letting-up throughout.
They probably had another classic album or two in them after 1983 but by then they were all fist-fighting in the studio, couldn't stand the sight of each other and Sting was being rapidly lulled by the A&M money men into his solid if not a little dull solo career. They briefly reformed in 1986, and as a prequel to a new album, cut a poor remake of their 1980 single Don't Stand So Close To Me, which the compilists have thankfully not tagged onto the end of this collection. Once again the punch-ups and musical differences prevailed and The Police were finally and lamentably laid to rest.
Between 1981 and 1983, The Police were deservedly the biggest band in the world and much of their best material was produced during this period (especially on their Synchroncity album), but this is not to criticize their first three albums from 1978-1980 which were also brilliant in their own right. All of their key material between 1978 and 1983 is present and correct.
Thus, The Police Greatest Hits is by far the best compilation out there and will probably not be bettered, so go out and get it now before the record company deletes it from their catalogue.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
This is a superb collection of Police singles, from the early days of Roxanne and Can't Stand Losing You - both of which were considered controversial songs because of their subject matter. The Police very successfully integrated reggae rhythms into their sound, as demonstrated by the aforementioned and by later smashes like Message In A Bottle and Don't Stand So Close To Me. My other favourites include Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic, Spirits In The Material World and Every Breath You Take. Not everything here has stood the test of time well - De Do Do Do is one those irritating novelty numbers that I skip when listening to this album. These songs, although mostly simple and catchy, are a cut above simple pop because of their clever lyrics that often contain a twist or two, innovative rhythmic patterns and the band's professionalism. This greatest hits album is perfect for the casual listener although hardcore fans might want to get all the band's output on CD. There is also the 1997 collection The Best Of Sting And The Police with a slightly different track listing, containing more of Sting's ballads.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 8 February 2000
The Police are, in my opinion, a very underrated band. OK, its not as if they weren't successful in their time, but nowadays, everyone seems to have forgotten how good they were. Sting is an excellent vocalist and a songwriter of tremendous imagination and variety- just look at the contrast between the earlier slick reggae sounds of "Roxanne" and "I Can't Stand Losing You" and the later darkly storming effort of "Syncronicity II". If you are not a fan, or would never have really considered purchasing this album, why not give it a try? Here's a little carrot: "Every Breath You Take" is not the best song on this album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2015
15 big hit singles in not quite chronological order and a popular album track make for a genuine Greatest Hits package of top quality covering the hit singles from all five of their studio albums. For any casual fan of The Police you would be hard stretched to find a better compilation unless you wish to have some of Sting's solo hits included too - and probably that's just the market this is designed for. It's easy to forget how big this group were, and how much they did to help popularize reggae amongst a punk audience, with breakthrough track "Roxanne" kicking off proceedings.

There are plenty of classic radio staples here, with "Can't Stand Losing You", "Message In A Bottle" and later hit "Every Breath You Take" all present and correct. Stylistically there's development of the sound to a more polished product over time. It's a fine reminder of how much time The Police spent in the charts and how many excellent songs they produced. An essential addition for any fan of the post-punk era, and a superb introduction for anyone born too late the first time around.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 July 2010
Near perfect compilation of the late 70's/early 80's new wave/pop reggae trio who dominated the charts. Just look at the track listing. Its up there with "1" by The Beatles. Its interesting to note that there are 7 songs from their debut + rapid follow up, only 5 from Modatta + Spirits and 5 from swansong Synchronicity. Cant really disagree with that and shows what a strong finish they had after a couple of relative under performers. Roxanne, Losing You & So Lonely fall straight from the sweaty stages of the punk era into the top of the charts. Message & Walking showcase Andy Summer's propensity for chorus & delay driven extended chords. Every Little Thing & Spirits do their best to shine in the fallow patch leaving the epic Synchronicity II & Finger to raise the bar again before signing off with the under-rated balladTea In The Sahara. Only Bring On the Night is sadly missed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 March 2000
The Police are perhaps one of the greatest bands and their greatest hits album illustrates just that. Sting's vocals are only to be described as 'truly sublime'. What is so special about this collection of songs however is the different influence one and each has on the listener. Its almost like they are sang by a number of different bands. From the 'reggae-ish' Walking on the Moon, to the up-tempo 'So Lonely' and early rock 'Invisible Sun'. The best track (and my favorite is 'Don't stand so close to me'. Dont miss a once in a lifetime this CD now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 January 2013
I've got an awful lot of albums I'm playing through at present. Bought this coz it's got Spirits In The Material World, which wasn't on my other Police/Sting compilation. Love all the songs here. Originally had the album on tape, and WE ALL KNOW what happens to tape, eventually, hahahaha!

So glad to see this collection was also released on CD. I gobbled up a copy while I still could. If you like the Police, maybe you should consider doing the same! This really is a stunning album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 February 2011
Brought this item as part of an attempt to recreate a collection of some of the music from my youth - so be warned I am biased!

I like the balance of tracks, and the quality of the recordings, and listening to it transported me back to the days when Sting (and I) had hair. So no complaints at all. Basically, if you like this style of music then this album will not let you down - go on, relive that lost (mispent?) youth.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 October 2011
I can honestly say, without any shadow of a doubt that this album is made up of the Greatest hits of the Police! ;-p
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Police
The Police by The Police


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.