Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars168
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2001
There is NO DOUBT that these are some of the greatest songs ever written, and The Police can be judged on a par with The Beatles and Queen. They have a unique sound and each track has intelligent lyrics with great vocals from Sting, while Summers and Copeland also do a great job....BUY!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2001
Bad puns aside, I really recommend this CD, it's packed with simple, true rock songs. I can't believe I'm the first person to write a review of this-The Police were the biggest band in the entire world at one point, undoubtedly one of the best singles bands ever a la The Kinks, Slade et al. Sting is pretty boring as an artist today, and not to everyone's tastes as a person either, but he was a god at this point, especially on hits such as "Every Breath You Take" and "Roxanne". Even the titles you might not recognise straight away become part of you after a while. They really were that good, and a such a value price here you'd be mad to not get it. Top CD.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
From about 1979 to 1983 The Police were one of the biggest bands on the planet and here's why, their fusion of New Wave pop sensibilities and white boy Reggae laid the foundations for their success, gradually developing into a more sophisticated AOR sound. The skank of "Roxanne" mixes with the (for 1984 anyway) cutting edge of "Synchronicity" by which time Andy Summers was practically redundant and ego clashes ended the band. The Police did have some interesting album cuts showing their quirkier side but these hits are what the band are remembered for and rightly so. A good reminder that the early '80s wasn't all about cross-dressers and New Romantics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
No complaints here - this is quite simply all the Police's classic singles, plus the lovely 'Tea In The Sahara' from the 'Synchronicity' album as well. It seems unfair to highlight any of the 16 tracks here but 'Wrapped Around Your Finger' is a beautiful, slow number whilst the rumbustious 'Synchronicity 2' is an absolute belter. The stark 'White Reggae' sound of the early hits juxtaposes nicely with the sophistication of the middle/latter hits. Definitely worth adding to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
possibly the best collection of their early hits around that you can buy.
good value for your money
add it to your collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
If like me you were never a 'fan' of the Police but enjoyed the singles then this is without doubt the only CD you will need. Avoid the others as like so many compilations they contain the usual fillers and allied rubbish that often spoil the essence of what they should actually be. This CD contains all the hits and is a great sing-along disc which is exactly why it was bought. It is exactly what it is - Greatest Hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 1999
Every song on this album is a superb hit from the vocal Roxanne to So Lonely - a personal favourite as it's just such a brilliant and moving song. This album is a combination of get-up-and-go numbers such as Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic to much slower and thoughtful tracks such as Every Breath You Take - a classic number. Go and buy this CD if you want a good reminder as how great a band The Police were.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
I try to educate my 16 year old daughter with 'good music'. I bought The Police Greatest Hits after hearing Goyte on the radio and thinking how much he sounded like Sting in his Police days - my daughters new favourite tune is Roxanne, it brings back great memories of my youth and the selection of tracks include all their great tracks - well worth a listen :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2002
The Police were an excellent band in their time. Between 1978 and 1983 they put out some excellent songs, the singles among here some of the best of the time. I like the late 70s jazzy stuff here, "Roxanne", "Can't Stand Losing You", "So Lonely", "Message...", "Walking On The Moon" and "The Bed...", all excellent tunes from 1978 and 1979. After that I think they get a bit poppy and the 80s sound affects the quality of the songs for this band, I think. The choppy guitars are lost beneath the big echoing drums that are associated with 80s music. "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" from 1981, and 1983's sinister "Every Breath You Take" are still two excellent pop songs here.
The Police's music have clearly been enjoyed by a diverse number of artists, obviously Puff Daddy's lame "cover" of "Every Breath..." in 1997, whilst metal gods Machine Head and Fear Factory have made no secret of their admiration for this band. At your local pub the covers band are more than likely to play at least one Police tune in their set. So don't feel embarassed about buying this excellent collection of songs by an excellent band.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
If you like the Police (and you don't already have all their albums), then this is a great a CD. I've always quite liked the Police, but have never got round to buying any of their stuff. This is perfect as it has all the best songs on and will be a great addition to my iPod.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)