Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Consistency
Incredible. I love every track on this album; pure listening pleasure. This is the only album I have that is truly consistent - I adore every track. I would never press skip to hear the next track because they are all equally superb!! Now how many of you reading this can say the same about any other album in your possession?? Every track is pure gold on this CD.
Published on 14 Oct 2001 by Christopher Steele

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good tunes
I like old school tunes so this police album was very much the music I find great. Also the service provided by Amazon in dispatching the cd was prompt & in perfect condition. Thanks Amazon.
Published 7 months ago by Mote


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Consistency, 14 Oct 2001
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Incredible. I love every track on this album; pure listening pleasure. This is the only album I have that is truly consistent - I adore every track. I would never press skip to hear the next track because they are all equally superb!! Now how many of you reading this can say the same about any other album in your possession?? Every track is pure gold on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the best Police compilation out there, 12 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
There are quite a few Police/Police-Sting compilations doing the rounds at the moment. Avoid all of them and buy this ! Greatest Hits is just that, a sixteen-track, chronologically correct retropsective which provides us with all the big hit singles, plus a couple of classic album cuts such as Beds To Big Without You, Tea In The Sahara and the utterly brilliant power-pop of Synchronicity II (a US single). With Sting's ever-thoughtful lyrics, Andy Summers' sublime muscianship (he was the real cornerstone of the band) and Stuart Copeland's brilliantly tight percussion, there is something here for everyone. From the reggae-esque Roxanne (1978), the gorgeous simplicity of the bass-line on Walking On The Moon (1979), the pure pop joy of Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic (1981) to their all time classic single Every Breath You Take (1983), you can really begin to appreciate the musical evolution of the band over the years, with the quality control never letting-up throughout.
They probably had another classic album or two in them after 1983 but by then they were all fist-fighting in the studio, couldn't stand the sight of each other and Sting was being rapidly lulled by the A&M money men into his solid if not a little dull solo career. They briefly reformed in 1986, and as a prequel to a new album, cut a poor remake of their 1980 single Don't Stand So Close To Me, which the compilists have thankfully not tagged onto the end of this collection. Once again the punch-ups and musical differences prevailed and The Police were finally and lamentably laid to rest.
Between 1981 and 1983, The Police were deservedly the biggest band in the world and much of their best material was produced during this period (especially on their Synchroncity album), but this is not to criticize their first three albums from 1978-1980 which were also brilliant in their own right. All of their key material between 1978 and 1983 is present and correct.
Thus, The Police Greatest Hits is by far the best compilation out there and will probably not be bettered, so go out and get it now before the record company deletes it from their catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great blend of rock & reggae, 27 Oct 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a superb collection of Police singles, from the early days of Roxanne and Can't Stand Losing You - both of which were considered controversial songs because of their subject matter. The Police very successfully integrated reggae rhythms into their sound, as demonstrated by the aforementioned and by later smashes like Message In A Bottle and Don't Stand So Close To Me. My other favourites include Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic, Spirits In The Material World and Every Breath You Take. Not everything here has stood the test of time well - De Do Do Do is one those irritating novelty numbers that I skip when listening to this album. These songs, although mostly simple and catchy, are a cut above simple pop because of their clever lyrics that often contain a twist or two, innovative rhythmic patterns and the band's professionalism. This greatest hits album is perfect for the casual listener although hardcore fans might want to get all the band's output on CD. There is also the 1997 collection The Best Of Sting And The Police with a slightly different track listing, containing more of Sting's ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collection, 8 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Police are, in my opinion, a very underrated band. OK, its not as if they weren't successful in their time, but nowadays, everyone seems to have forgotten how good they were. Sting is an excellent vocalist and a songwriter of tremendous imagination and variety- just look at the contrast between the earlier slick reggae sounds of "Roxanne" and "I Can't Stand Losing You" and the later darkly storming effort of "Syncronicity II". If you are not a fan, or would never have really considered purchasing this album, why not give it a try? Here's a little carrot: "Every Breath You Take" is not the best song on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Police. Hits. Greatest, 23 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
I can honestly say, without any shadow of a doubt that this album is made up of the Greatest hits of the Police! ;-p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite must for your CD collection, 2 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Police are perhaps one of the greatest bands and their greatest hits album illustrates just that. Sting's vocals are only to be described as 'truly sublime'. What is so special about this collection of songs however is the different influence one and each has on the listener. Its almost like they are sang by a number of different bands. From the 'reggae-ish' Walking on the Moon, to the up-tempo 'So Lonely' and early rock 'Invisible Sun'. The best track (and my favorite is 'Don't stand so close to me'. Dont miss a once in a lifetime opportunity...buy this CD now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to play it!, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I've got an awful lot of albums I'm playing through at present. Bought this coz it's got Spirits In The Material World, which wasn't on my other Police/Sting compilation. Love all the songs here. Originally had the album on tape, and WE ALL KNOW what happens to tape, eventually, hahahaha!

So glad to see this collection was also released on CD. I gobbled up a copy while I still could. If you like the Police, maybe you should consider doing the same! This really is a stunning album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retro fun, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Brought this item as part of an attempt to recreate a collection of some of the music from my youth - so be warned I am biased!

I like the balance of tracks, and the quality of the recordings, and listening to it transported me back to the days when Sting (and I) had hair. So no complaints at all. Basically, if you like this style of music then this album will not let you down - go on, relive that lost (mispent?) youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Career spanning best of, 5 July 2010
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Near perfect compilation of the late 70's/early 80's new wave/pop reggae trio who dominated the charts. Just look at the track listing. Its up there with "1" by The Beatles. Its interesting to note that there are 7 songs from their debut + rapid follow up, only 5 from Modatta + Spirits and 5 from swansong Synchronicity. Cant really disagree with that and shows what a strong finish they had after a couple of relative under performers. Roxanne, Losing You & So Lonely fall straight from the sweaty stages of the punk era into the top of the charts. Message & Walking showcase Andy Summer's propensity for chorus & delay driven extended chords. Every Little Thing & Spirits do their best to shine in the fallow patch leaving the epic Synchronicity II & Finger to raise the bar again before signing off with the under-rated balladTea In The Sahara. Only Bring On the Night is sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treat your lobes to intense oral pleasure!!!, 2 May 2001
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
There is NO DOUBT that these are some of the greatest songs ever written, and The Police can be judged on a par with The Beatles and Queen. They have a unique sound and each track has intelligent lyrics with great vocals from Sting, while Summers and Copeland also do a great job....BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by The Police
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews