Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Donna Summer 'Best of'
There have been many, many Donna Summer compilations released over the years but at last it's good to see one that has actually had some thought put into it. Finally we have Down Deep Inside, a top 5 hit for Donna that has been mysteriously absent from all her other hits packages with the exception of one or two import collections. Rumour Has It makes a welcome...
Published on 24 Jun 2004 by Philip J. Marshall

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Take The High Road
Surprise surprise. Nothing new here except it was released with a bonus CD.

The limited edition CD featured two new recordings for the UK (on the CD 2). The two new tracks only worth a listen if you are a true hard core fan and the selected tracks have been remastered to a greater sound. This compilation was marketed along side Summer's book. That's the selling...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by CLEAVER


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Donna Summer 'Best of', 24 Jun 2004
There have been many, many Donna Summer compilations released over the years but at last it's good to see one that has actually had some thought put into it. Finally we have Down Deep Inside, a top 5 hit for Donna that has been mysteriously absent from all her other hits packages with the exception of one or two import collections. Rumour Has It makes a welcome appearance too. As a die-hard fan though, I'm bound to have one or two niggles and there are still a few areas that bug me about this CD. First how COULD they edit I Feel Love? It's nothing short of sacrilege. The running order of the tracks is obviously chronological, so why stick Rumour Has It after Heaven Knows when it was Donna's next hit after I Love You? The sleeve notes are virtually identical to the US release of The Journey which is fair enough, but seeing as they mention that Donna's most recent hit (albeit not a big one in the UK) was I Will Go With You couldn't they have added it to the bonus disc? Would have been nice to include You're So Beautiful on the bonus disc too like they did for the US version, seems such a shame that casual fans will miss out on such a great track. Anyway, I'm still giving it full marks because I love her and this CD contains some stunningly good music and as we all know, when do the record companies ever get it totally right? :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Donna Summer Greatest Hits UK has ever seen, 5 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Of course it depends on which versions of some of the hits are included, but this is the best Donna Summer collection the UK has seen. Both Theme From The Deep and Dinner With Gershwin are here. Worth the price alone. Forget the other Summer collections recently released. THIS IS THE ONE!!!
CD1:
1. Love To Love You Baby (#4)
2. Could It Be Magic (#40)
3. I Feel Love (#1)
4. Theme From The Deep (Down Deep Inside) (#5)
5. Love's Unkind (#3)
6. I Love You (#10)
7. Last Dance (#51)
8. MacArthur Park (#5)
9. Heaven Knows (#34)
10. Rumour Has It (#19)
11. Hot Stuff (#11)
12. Bad Girls (#14)
13. No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) (#3)
14. On The Radio (#32)
15. Love Is In Control (Finger On The Trigger) (#18)
16. State Of Independence (#14)
17. She Works Hard For The Money (#25)
18. Dinner With Gershwin (#13)
19. This Time I Know It's For Real (#3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop & dance music with personality, 20 Feb 2009
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
It's Summer's disco music that has best withstood the passing time in my opinion. The dance anthem I Feel Love and the soaring fast-paced MacArthur Park are representative of her versatility in the middle to late 1970s, whilst rock guitar infuse Hot Stuff and Bad Girls with an urgency & gravitas that disempowered the foes of disco. The 1979 album Bad Girls was a triumph with its electro-pop tracks Our Love, Lucky & Sunset People plus moving ballads like On My Honor & There Will Always Be A You.

The greatest hits on The Journey include the plaintive ballad On The Radio, the up-tempo albeit tuneless duet with Streisand as well as a variety of pop songs in different styles. She Works Hard For The Money is a mid-80s stomper; the then-famous producers Stock, Aitken, Waterman gave Donna a well-deserved hit with the breezy This Time I Know It's For Real at the end of that decade. The most interesting are the two Quincy Jones produced tracks Love Is In Control & even more so, State of Independence with its complex yet appealing arrangement & sublime vocals.

The bonus disc on the Import Edition contains more magic, particularly the original long version of Love to Love You Baby and two striking mixes of I Feel Love & Hot Stuff. This compilation is just a sampler of Donna Summer's huge contribution to popular music since the 1970s, but still a good showcase of some of her most memorable moments. There's a variety of Best Of & Greatest Hits collections; fans that prefer her disco phase might be more interested in The Dance Collection that contains the entire MacArthur Park Suite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all the moods..., 15 Nov 2004
I bought this cd and put it on after a hard days work. I found myself unwinding in the beginning and then jumping for joy with all the great tracks that are included in this "best of" Donna Summer. A great voice, fantastic tracks that just about covers any mood you are in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!!, 2 July 2009
By 
I have been a Donna Summer fan since the 70's, although I haven't seen her in concert I do have quite a few of her albums, (that gives you an indication of how long I have been following her!!). I bought this cd because it has most of her best songs, I read the other reviews before buying it and knew that I would not be sending it back. This is oh so true! I absolutely love it!! I play it all the time, I dance around to it (not a pretty sight!), and I will be purchasing another one for the car, and perhaps a third one, just in case something happens to the other two!! This is a must have for any body who loves to relive the days of disco!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a shock, 18 May 2012
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best Of Donna Summer (MP3 Download)
Just to say we have lost another true legend.

I love the Bad Girls Album but this is a fitting album to get.

Donna R.I.P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Take The High Road, 21 Feb 2012
Surprise surprise. Nothing new here except it was released with a bonus CD.

The limited edition CD featured two new recordings for the UK (on the CD 2). The two new tracks only worth a listen if you are a true hard core fan and the selected tracks have been remastered to a greater sound. This compilation was marketed along side Summer's book. That's the selling point of this compilation. The album was a success and was in the Top 10 album charts in the UK, still if you are thinking of purchasing this album make sure you purchase the limited edition CD. If it is the single format... I'll say "Take The High Road". However if it is the US standard CD version do consider it, because the compilation featured the two new tracks on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the 2-disc edition., 21 Jan 2011
By 
D. Singh-Hulass "Derek22464" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is already a better compilation of Donna's work elsewhere ("Gold"), which is broader and covers a longer timespan, but this one is worth getting in its 2-disc guise.

Disc One does feature a few rarities that don't appear elsewhere such as "Theme From The Deep" and "Rumour Has It", but mainly I don't think it's worth having this collection compared to "Gold" in its 1-disc form.

However, it completely comes alive on Disc Two: the original, astounding 17 minute mix of "Love To Love You Baby", the hypnotic and mesmerising 15 minute Patrick Cowley remix of "I Feel Love" and the joyful and euphoric David Morales remix of "Melody Of Love" are all essential listening, and it's great to have the first two finally on CD.

There are people out there who are happy to take Donna's work in its shortened and abbreviated form, and the 1-disc version of this collection will satisfy that need very successfully. But if you're looking for a supplement to her marvellous "The Dance Collection" 12" mixes compilation, then this is definitely worth owning as well, but mostly for Disc Two of the 2-disc edition.

Derek
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Donna Summer Greatest Hits UK has ever seen *****, 31 May 2004
By A Customer
Of course it depends on which versions of some of the hits are included, but this is the best Donna Summer collection the UK has seen. Both Theme From The Deep and Dinner With Gershwin are here. Worth the price alone. Forget the other Summer collections recently released. THIS IS THE ONE!!!
CD1:
1. Love To Love You Baby (#4)
2. Could It Be Magic (#40)
3. I Feel Love (#1)
4. Theme From The Deep (Down Deep Inside) (#5)
5. Love's Unkind (#3)
6. I Love You (#10)
7. Last Dance (#51)
8. MacArthur Park (#5)
9. Heaven Knows (#34)
10. Rumour Has It (#19)
11. Hot Stuff (#11)
12. Bad Girls (#14)
13. No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) (#3)
14. On The Radio (#32)
15. Love Is In Control (Finger On The Trigger) (#18)
16. State Of Independence (#14)
17. She Works Hard For The Money (#25)
18. Dinner With Gershwin (#13)
19. This Time I Know It's For Real (#3)
CD2:
1. Love To Love You Baby (#4)
2. I Feel Love - Patrick Cowley Mega Mix (#21 - 1982)
3. Hot Stuff - 12" Version (#11)
4. No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) - 12" Version (#3)
5. On The Radio - Long Version (#32)
6. Melody Of Love (Wanna Be Loved) - Classic Club Mix (#21)
7. That's The Way - Album Version
8. Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love) - Album Version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another collection, 19 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey:Very Best (Audio CD)
A nice collection of Summer hits covering (almost) the full span of her career, trouble is most of them have been included on loads of other collections.
What's good about this one, though, is there are are three brand new songs, best of which is "That's The Way", so there's at least something different for Summer fans who'll already have all the old greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews