Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon Selphy Photo Printer
Bought this Canon CP800 photo printer to replace my Kodak Printer-dock Series 3 that gave up the ghost. So far I'm really pleased with the purchase, it works well and the consumables are cheaper than Kodak (that incidentally are now obsolete by Kodak). The Canon software driver works perfectly on my Windows XP system, which could not be said the same for the Kodak. The...
Published on 15 Nov. 2010 by chrissaf

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work with Windows 8 - WARNING
This is actually a great little printer but it doesn't work with Windows 8. I checked around the internet, including on the Canon website and there are no upgrade drivers that will make it work with Windows 8 either - there are various forum threads about the problem. One person phoned Canon about it and was told yes, it would work with Win 8 if there was a driver, but we...
Published 16 months ago by J. S. Clark


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon Selphy Photo Printer, 15 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
Bought this Canon CP800 photo printer to replace my Kodak Printer-dock Series 3 that gave up the ghost. So far I'm really pleased with the purchase, it works well and the consumables are cheaper than Kodak (that incidentally are now obsolete by Kodak). The Canon software driver works perfectly on my Windows XP system, which could not be said the same for the Kodak. The Kodak driver was ropey to say the least. Overall, very impressed and highly recommended. These dye sublimation photo printers are becoming hard to find at under £100. I'm assuming that the availability of high street automated photo booths are killing the demand for these kind of printers. The C800 has only been released by Canon late this year (about Aug 2010) so ongoing support and availability of paper and dye cartridges (unlike Kodak) should not be a problem, at least for a while yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 8 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
Good product which does what it is intended to. the cost per picture is .22 pence for ink and paper which is acceptable the print quality is very acceptable and the four pass print process seems to deliver every time. You only know quality after hundereds of prints and at this time I have only done 20 but all of these are good. A dedicated 6 by 4 printed is what I wanted and what I got. Instalation was so simple anyone could do it, just by following instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent photo printer., 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. C. D. Grossart "Colin" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
This printer specifically prints 6x4 photgraphs, but can do 1,2, or 4 photos per sheet. It's easy to set up and use. Quality is excellent.
There are only two down sides: 1) the pack of paper and cartidges is relatively expensive, buy 4 and you have exceeded the price of the printer.
2) It works well from the camera or a USB memory stick. However if you want load photos from a computer, the software supplied only lets you select from one directory. If you switch directories, you lose any photos selected in the other directories. Despite playing around with this for a while, I found the best solution was to transfer the selected photos onto a USB stick and go from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars things you should know, 29 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
The actual printer was fine but I was disapointed that it did not come with at least a start up cartridge and paper kit, luckily I checked before wrapping and was able to get a pack before christmas.That said it does a good job and takes up little space, which is what it was brought for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top draw - can't fault it, 18 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
There was a time when taking photos meant having to take the roll of film out of the camera, making a journey to local photo lab shop and then waiting AGES for them to be developed. Not any more! This machine ensures that those days are gone, and does the job in next to no time.

Have had mine for now nearly a year-and-a-half, and I can honestly say it's one of my best purchases ever. Simply download the easy-to-install software that comes with it onto your PC (this takes a few minutes in easy steps), and you're ready to instantly print pictures that are in your online photo gallery. Or if you prefer just connect your camera to the printer via a USB cable and print them off straight away - there's also the option of inserting a memory card into the slot at the front and creating prints from here.

When the photos are printed they are superb quality and can take as little as a minute (or even less) to print. Be warned, though - no ink cartridges or photo paper are supplied with the product, but these are fairly easy to buy from either Argos or John Lewis, so no problems there.

All in all a superb product, and a must-have for photography enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Likes and Dislikes, 13 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
I am quite pleased with the printer itself, it is neat, compact and produces good pictures. What I didn't like was that I didn't find out until after I had bought it, was that it didn't come with an ink cartridge included. When I wanted to buy a cartridge, I then found that you had to buy the cartridge and paper together.
I am now not able to use any paper that I have in stock. The reason for that is that Canon have slightly altered the size of the paper so that the standard 6x4 paper won't fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic little photo printer. Beats inkjets hands down!, 22 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
I bought this printer to run off photos from my PC. Print speeds in this mode are better than 40 seconds and the colours are spot on. The software setup is easy, but not the quickest. (Windows 7 64 bit)

Paper can be bought for less than £20 for 76 sheets, so print cost is not too high compared to other home printing, but is much more than nipping them down to the supermarket! The dye sublimation process means the prints are dry and touch proof as soon as they emerge and unlike inkjet, are colour fast and water resistant.

If you need a photo printer for home or low volume events work, there is simply nothing else on the market to touch this.

Please note, you do not get a USB cable, so if you intend to print from your PC instead of directly from camera you will need to buy an A-B type cable. I bought the Blue Tooth version and this includes a plug in dongle.

The CP900 is due out soon, but only adds WiFi. The print spec is exactly the same, so buy this one with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black, 15 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
I brought this for my wife who coudn't be done with setting up with all the settings involved with our larger printer.
Its great she happy in the other room printing endless mormentoes of our distant passed and I'm on the main computer scouring Auto-trader!everyones happy.
Very good product if you just want to print general snaps, good qaulity although the paper & ink kits are a little exspensive. Would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars canon selphy, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
very compact looks good also looks easy to use.Thought it would come with paper and ink, had to order these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent prints in combination with Canon 350D., 8 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Canon SELPHY CP800 Compact Photo Printer - Black (Electronics)
Using this printer to print images taken with my Canon 'Digital Rebel II', typically JPEGs 8 Megapixels each at max quality setting.

Most notably:

1. The printing process takes a while but the quality produced is better than any of the
lab prints I've seen. Vivid colors and very crisp images.

2. Image browsing and selection from CF is very fast (will depend on CF speed too of course).

3. No more dried up ink and clogged up nozzles because of the technology it uses.

It's a perfect companion for my Digital SLR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews