Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


433 of 434 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but a little frustrating!
When my ip3000 started to show its age, I spent spent months trawling through reviews of printers and came to the conclusion that almost all printers get aboout 20% telling you it's brilliant and about 20% that say buying it was the worst decision of their lives! When I finally made a decision I found that the printer I'd chosen (Canon MP640) had been superceded by the...
Published on 13 Nov 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expensive printer
Print quality is very good. Cartridges are tiny and very expensive about 1/3 of my previous Epson printer) and only last a few weeks even though I use a B & W Samsung laser most of the time. Don't buy this printer ort any Canon if they are the same.
Published on 4 Oct 2011 by K. Rothwell


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

433 of 434 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but a little frustrating!, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Fernhurst, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
When my ip3000 started to show its age, I spent spent months trawling through reviews of printers and came to the conclusion that almost all printers get aboout 20% telling you it's brilliant and about 20% that say buying it was the worst decision of their lives! When I finally made a decision I found that the printer I'd chosen (Canon MP640) had been superceded by the MG6150 so I went for that.

As you'd expect, it arrives in a large box containing the printer itself and a selection of bits that have to be connected to or inserted into it. I've done this sort of thing many times both at home and at work but I still found it necessary to consult the instructions as some of the assembly is far from intuative. Fitting the print head is probably the most demanding (but still quite easy) as you have to be very careful not to damage it as you put it into place. It's worth reading the instructions and studying the diagrams first. It took me about half an hour to get it all done bu the result was a good looking machine which appears to be well made with no flimsy bits that might break off as soon as you start using it.

Loading the software was easy on my PC and my wife's laptop. I wanted to use the printer wirelessly (it's got LAN & USB connection too) so I had to spend a few more minutes setting that up on the printer itself. You'll need to dig out your router's id and password to allow the printer to connect but it still only took a few minutes. The slowest part of this process is entering the password as there is no keyboard as such and you have to select the various letters and numbers using the up, down left and right buttons. It's a little time consuming but you only have to do it once.

The top of the printer has a pop-up screen built into it as well as about a dozen touch sensitive buttons to control it. These all work very well and I've found that you don't even have to actually touch them; just getting a finger very close will do.

Once you have worked through all the setup, printing is as easy as you could expect. Just press the PC's print button and the printer will automatically lower the output tray door ready to receive the printed paper. There are two input trays: a cassette under the printer which slides out at the front and another on top which can be used for envelopes or photo quality paper. The printer will select the appropriate paper if you select it from the print dialogue.

You'll find that the first print of the day (or after an hour or so's break) will take quite some time while printer goes tharogh all the processes it considers necessary. I find this frustrating but I haven't found a way to prevent it happening so frequently. The print quality is excellent. Black and white documents are crisp and colour illustrations come out pretty much as you'll see them on screen. Colour photos also come very well, albeit a little slowly. The colours are crisp with no noticeable bleeding into areas whre they don't belong. The printer is capable of producing borderless prints which are of excellent quality right up to the very edge.

Apart from printing documents are photos from the PC, the MG6150 has three main functions all selectable by using the just one of the buttons: scan, copy and photo.

Copying is simple; just lift the very top of the printer to insert the document to be copied, lower it again and press the Copy button. You can select up to 99 copies, magnify from between 25% and 400%, lighten or darken the output and choose colour or greyscale output as well as which paper to use.

Scanning is just as easy and gives a choice of output file type (JPEG, TIFF or PDF), the size to be scanned (A4, Letter, 15 x 100mm or auto)and the scan resolution as well as several other options. Scanning an A4 document to TIFF at 600 dpi took a total of about 30 seconds to arrive on the PC.

The Photo function allows you to print JPEG files directly from a memory card. The Photo function is selected automatically when you insert the card and by using the buttons and the on-screen display you can select which images to print as well as cropping them, choosing output size, format etc.

Ink consumption seems to be quite high but that goes for almost all inkjet printers. A complete replacement set of six genuine Canon inks will cost you about 50. I don't use compatable inks as their quality is very variable and I've even damaged a printer by using them in the past. It's worth the extra cost to get the genuine article.

Pros: Excellent print quality, easy to set up even if the assembly is a bit fiddly. Apart from the first print of the day it's fast enough for most users. Lots of different functions all of which are easy to use. Wi-fi connectivity makes using it from a laptop so much easier. User interface takes a little getting used to but becomes very easy, very quickly. Prints on both sides of paper without having to turn it over. Prints on CDs. It's quiet enough for me to use late at night at home without fear of waking my wife!

Cons: Very slow to get going when it's first swiched on. Only reads JPEGs from memory card. Wastes ink by cleaning itself so often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


155 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Office Printer Par Excellence, 20 Dec 2010
By 
LegendaryMrDude (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
This has been my first printer from Canon and I've been extremely impressed. After years of Buying Epson, I switched to HP about 6 months ago and, when that broke (within the first month) I tolerated it until my stock of inks ran out before looking around for a replacement.

ON paper, the MG6150 ticked all the right boxes, separate ink tanks for economical replacement, all-in-one functionality, built in WiFi. And at a reasonable price too.

It arrived exceptionally well packaged and with clear setup instructions. It was up and running on 2 PCs at home within 30 minutes, with configuration being simplicity itself. The light-guided setup with a really clear screen on the device made configuring the wireless and every other aspect extremely straightofrward, The INstallation CD (one for PC and a separate one for Macs) auto-ran when I put it in and selecting the default installation options had everything working in very short order.

The quality of photo output is outstanding, easily the best I've seen. It also seems pretty economical with the inks considering the quality of printing. It's extremely quite in operation and doesn't make the table wobble either. With it's piano-black finish it looks the part and the build quality is very good as well.

Paper storage is neat too, regular paper gets tucked away in a drawer under the printer body so takes up minimal additional desk space. Photo paper is fed in from a loader at the rear. You can even print direct to CDs using the caddy supplied. The real bonus is that it does double-sided printing - a feature often missing from home printers... it saves on effort and it also saves on paper and it works really well.

All the main memory card formats are supported, COmpact Flash, Memory Stick, and SD, ith the slot being discretely located behind a panel on the front.

The scanner is also quick and quiet in use, and the copy function is a treat to use compared to my old HP device.

It's a fantastic printer for the money and, while ink cartridges are around 8 each, so nearly 50 for a full set, the fact that you only replace the ones that need replacing means that it won't usually be an "all at once" cost. I'm extremely glad that I bought it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon MG6150, 16 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
All round great machine but a positive word of warning. This machine does NOT come with a "USB printer" lead so unless you are connecting by WI-FI order one at the same time. Also ink cartridges supplied have just enough to print a few A4 photos so would suggest you order them as well.
I have been a Epson fan for many years my last being the PX700W which gave what I thought was excellent results until the scanner unit twisted giving me distorted pictures. A lot of searching & comparison tests led me to the Canon 6150. Having used it & comparing it my previous Epson pictures the results are outstanding. Colours & detail are deep & vibrant. Yes there are a few niggles, why do you have to wade through a 30 page manual when it could easily have been condensed into a 2 page "quick start" sheet & intial start up to first print takes a good minute while it seems to have to go through a test & clean process.
Amazon was best price & now the machine has been out a few months original replacement inks can be sourced at a fair price.
Buy, you won't be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 20 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
Quality of photos from this printer are excellent. For those special pics make sure you use the best photo paper you can get. It really makes a difference. Does use the ink quickly and is a bit pricey for refills but you will struggle to find a printer that produces better results in this price range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and brilliant, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
A wonderful piece of kit and a very straight forward installation. Adding it to my wireless network went through easily - just select the network, enter the password and press enter.

All the functions are easy to select and the touch controls are very sensitive. The pop-up screen is very clear. Great print quality, duplex printing is easy. I am pleased to have changed to Canon after years with Epson.

The only drawback is that the beautiful black gloss exterior shows every piece of dust in the world, especially under bright lights! Apart from that I am delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannon Pixma MG6150, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
After searching the internet and trawling through hundreds of reviews I decided to go with canon after previously having an Epson Printer. The Epson printer did produce good quality prints for my design work however the ink only lasted about 5 minutes and I had a number of problems with the print heads jamming all the time, and was constantly having to clean the heads. The print quality on the Canon is perfect and the extra grey cartridge required, results in perfect black and white photos. I would say anyone getting into photography would be happy with this printer as the colours are rich and the images are always sharp. The printer was extremely easy to set up as it basically does everything itself and there were no problems fitting the print head and inks. The Printer's other functions are also great, although I haven't used them to the full potential yet. I have been extremely happy with the quality and quickness of the scanned images.

I think If you are not happy with this printer you need your head testing :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speed, quality, and ease of use., 27 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
The Canon Pixma MG6150 all-in-one printer does everything that it states in the description. The quality of printed items are top class and the wireless system of data transfer is faultless. The copy function is so easy and quick to use as it simply requires one to press the copy button and the copy appears even if no computer is available or switched on. All input controls are highlighted in blue on the front of the case and so easy to understand. All in all this is a top class printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Printer must have item for your Home Office, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
I have had this product know for two months. What can i say EXCELLENT. I am a Mac user, easy set up, wireless a doddle, no problems. The scanner and print quality are second to none. Great many functions, a piece of equipment that leaves the others behind. I have always used Epson, so after reading the reviews i took the plunge and have never looked back. WELL DONE CANON. A 5 Star Printer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cannon MG6150, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
Very good looking printer, really easy to set up WiFi great signal strength two rooms away from G type router.
Print quality is really good especially photo's, Good scan speed and quality, good software package included.
Normal paper A4 to A5 is tray loaded out of sight and print output drawer auto opens (manual close).
Photo paper is input via rear feed which folds away neatly when not in use but the rear of the printer needs to be 90mm away from wall due to the bulky flap that covers the opening when closed (flap design could be improved)if you don't intend using the rear input printer can be positioned against wall, It would be nice to have a spare front tray which would accept photo paper (Maybe the printer is not capable of loading photo paper from the front tray).
I could not place the printer as originally intended due to the extra 90mm space requirement so it's worth being aware of this.
Having printed about 6 A4's and 5 7x5 photo's the Gray inks half full, Magenta & yellow three quarters full, I'm a bit surprised by the gray useage (not sure if cartridges supplied with printer are filled with the full ammount of ink).
Other than the rear tray design and very expensive inks it's a great printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expensive printer, 4 Oct 2011
By 
K. Rothwell (West Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MG6150 All-In-One Wi-Fi Colour Photo Printer (Print, Copy and Scan) (Electronics)
Print quality is very good. Cartridges are tiny and very expensive about 1/3 of my previous Epson printer) and only last a few weeks even though I use a B & W Samsung laser most of the time. Don't buy this printer ort any Canon if they are the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews