Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY YOUNG JAZZ SINGER WHO IS GOING TO GO FAR
I came across Nikki on YouTube where she has many clips of her performing at various venues.

For a young girl she has exceptional rhythm and feel to her voice. Sometimes she is just a little loud and could perhaps quiten some parts of her songs a bit more. But hey, she is only a young teenager and still has lots to learn.

I think Nikki will be a very...
Published on 2 Jun 2011 by Ted

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!
I bought this disc after reading a 5 star review. What a mistake! Nikki has a powerful voice but subtlety isn't her strong point. She belts out the standards with a competent studio band but.....really put the marketing/PR guys back in the box!

D
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by Denys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY YOUNG JAZZ SINGER WHO IS GOING TO GO FAR, 2 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikki (MP3 Download)
I came across Nikki on YouTube where she has many clips of her performing at various venues.

For a young girl she has exceptional rhythm and feel to her voice. Sometimes she is just a little loud and could perhaps quiten some parts of her songs a bit more. But hey, she is only a young teenager and still has lots to learn.

I think Nikki will be a very well-know and loved artist over the next few years. She has already got a tour of Japan lined up.

Would recomment this album to any jazz lover. Having said that you do not have to be in to jazz to really enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikki (Audio CD)
brilliant ! I will definitely be buying Nikki Yanofsky again, so young but so talented. A joy to listen to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikki (MP3 Download)
A jazz artist new to me but not any more; a singer with a great future that I shall follow with great interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous voice, 29 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikki (Audio CD)
Almost unbelievably mature voice for such a young person. The "You'll have to swing it" track sounds like Ella herself. Canada continues to produce great singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nikki Yanofsky "Nikki", 25 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikki (Audio CD)
I love these tracks from Nikki. a good listen-while-you-drive and I keep it in the car for this very reason. Find my passengers also agree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nikki Yanofsky, 16 Mar 2011
This review is from: Nikki (Audio CD)
For a 16 year old she oooooozes confidence and talent, her voice is exceptional, she does covers of quite a few of the songs, I wish she sang more of her own lyrics, but as I said she is only 16, her voice is of great quality and I will follow her progress as she is a rising star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Talent for Now And The Future, 25 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Nikki (Audio CD)
This is a terrific album by a great emerging artist. You will likely be pleased with the album and seeing Nikki in person if you get the chance. There is a positive, uniform response worldwide to this album. No artist or piece of work can please everyone. She recently sang solo for Barbara Streisand at the Musicares Grammy Awards in Los Angeles. Backing her on piano was no less than Herbie Hancock, who commented that she "came through with flying colours.". Quincy Jones loves her and Tony Bennet said Nikki is the most talented singer since Judy Garland. This U.K Amazon site right now seems to present a small minority viewpoint that "Nikki" somehow offends jazz traditionalists. The paragraph review above from Amazon has some good things to say, but is critical of Nikki as "grating," "over-coached," and "succumbing to scatting" and a mash-up version of Sunny Side of the Street. These are just the things that endear her to many. Her scatting is impeccable, and in the finest tradition of Ella Fitgerald, whom Nikki idolizes. Scatting in jazz is a wonderful use of the human voice and few have ever had the talent to do it. For a better take on Nikki, look at the reviews for this album and her DVD "Live in Montreal" on the USA Amazon site-pretty much all 5 stars. Nikki is a pivotal figure for the future generations of jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 25 Feb 2011
This review is from: Nikki (Audio CD)
I bought this disc after reading a 5 star review. What a mistake! Nikki has a powerful voice but subtlety isn't her strong point. She belts out the standards with a competent studio band but.....really put the marketing/PR guys back in the box!

D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikki
Nikki by Nikki Yanofsky (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews