Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terribly underrated... buy the album!, 2 Oct 2010
By 
A. S. Tatton-reid (Wales,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (Audio CD)
Having been fortunate to catch Fenech Soler do a small intimate gig locally this June i was blown away by the bands energy. I immediately scoured the internet for all the material i could find on them, the 12 or-so tracks i found stayed on repeat in my MP3 player for the rest of summer. Their mix of 80's inspired synth and pounding electro made for a fantastic backing to a very talented lead singer. Tracks like 'Airbrushed', 'Format Disco', 'The Fight' and 'Fashion' are really worth seeking out!

Skip forward 3 months and I arrive home to find the self titled album on the doormat... Slap it in the car stereo and take a drive... the album doesn't disappoint at all! The guys seem to have dropped a lot of their harder electro riffs of old, but added layers of silky smooth vocals and a great range of percussion sounds in the new tracks. The use of Battlefields as an opener is perfect, its good to see LA love on there also.

Of the New tracks the immediate stand out is the fantastic Golden Sun, which has to be the next single. Also worthy contenders are Stonebridge and Contender.

in closing, I feel this band are standing on the edge of greatness, and if they keep their heads in the indie media spotlight its bound to come.. Radio 1 is giving them a lot of love and now i encourage others to support them.

Fans of Klaxons, Friendly Fires, even Daft Punk + Justice... you'll find something to love on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighting Up The Sky, 11 Jan 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (Audio CD)
Fenech-Soler made me sit up and listen! (Frankly more than
anything else from Northamptonshire has ever done before!)

This fine quartet play scintillating electronica with
good humour and buckets full of unbridled enthusiasm.

The band boasts a pair of Duffys, Ben (who sings) and
Ross (who plays guitar); Daniel Soler, who plays bass and
Andrew Lindsay, who manages the drums and judging by their
forthcoming tour schedule they would appear to be working
hard and doing rather well for themselves. They deserve to.
They also dress agreeably and have very serious haircuts!

Their debut album is chock-full of good tunes and addictive
beats. Sparkly synths and jangly guitars abound. That their
heart has been touched by the spirit of the eighties is
immediately evident but rather than drag them down into a
mire of metronomic, nostalgic navel-gazing it serves as
a launching pad for some truly splendid cutting edge pop.

There are ten tracks in the collection and the energy hardly
lets up for a moment. Two more measured and reflective songs
('Stonebridge' and 'Walk Alone') deliver a little respite
(both are fine inventions) but truth-be-told what we're really
here for is the party! 'Demons', for example, has got one of
those perfectly formed and uber-catchy choruses which it is
virtually impossible to sit still to. Opening track 'Battlefields'
also has an irrisistibly ribald rhythm enlivened by Mr Duffy's
light and limber falsetto and a silly synth giving it large like
an angry elephant with a sore foot!

Some of the finest musical moments, however, are to be found in
'The Great Unknown' (Hall and Oates might well have been smiling
in the wings!) It is a song so sure of itself and brimming over with
palpable joy that it had Mrs Wolf reeling round the cave in wild
abandon as though she were at least twenty years younger! (A truly
wonderful sight; I wish you could have been there to share the moment!)

An album to light up the night sky with fireworks and shooting stars.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fell in love with this band the first time I've heard them., 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (Audio CD)
I'm surprised that this is their debut album and that they're underated. I've first discovered this band while listening to Demons which lead me to listening to the entire album which is brilliant, every track is simply amazing. I would love to catch them live! Buy this album! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best debut albums ever!, 2 Dec 2011
By 
S. Small (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (Audio CD)
I'll be honest i never heard of these guys until last week while at an example concert (ALSO CHECK OUT HIS ALBUM!)Playing in the Shadows - The Album and they were supporting him, i was AMAZED i never heard of this band before, their music was amazing.

After the show i went on itunes and bought the album from start to finish, pure gold!

BUY IT!

Looking forward to their next album which they confirmed on twitter would be recorded in the new year and would be followed by a tour :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (Audio CD)
I discovered these guys on a sky+ recording of Lovebox 2011.
I instantly liked them which is unusual with me. I would put myself in the rocker catagory but also like dance music.
This is the fusion of the two electro/ rock. The songs 'lies' and 'stop and stare' were the ones they played live and they're performance was electric. After buying the album to go on holiday I was sat on the beach listening to it and found myself smiling at each track thinking that they would turn boring but they change the beat and feel of each track to keep you interested. If these guys don't make it there's something wrong!
I'm so pleased to have a 'new' band and 'new' avenue of music to explore.
Definitely explore this album yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dance pop perfection, 8 July 2011
By 
A. Jackson (Stonnall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (Audio CD)
Title of review says it all really; not as much depth as Delphic, but joyous fun from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why havent these guys hit the big time yet?, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (Audio CD)
I first heard a fenech Soler track on radio about a year ago. It was a record called stop and stare that seemed to be played once and never again. I had the track going through my head for ages and after hearing their other material finally heard them getting some good recognition.

This album does not disappoint. The singles stand out but the rest of album is of no lesser standard and is great for having in car on those long drives. The synthy epicness to tracks is refreshing and wonderful to listen to.

Anyone who likes friendly fires, Klaxons, Two Door Cinema Club, Everything Everything should get Fenech SOler in their lives ASAP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars F-ING BRILLIANT, 2 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. M. AYRES "mayres1975" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (MP3 Download)
If your a fan of bands like Friendly Fires, Groove Armada, Cut Copy or Everything Everything then this is for you. Or better still, if your a fan of good old fashioned synth pop. Yes they do sound familiar but that adds to their addictiveness. I can't help feeling like I recognise them but don't know how. I know one thing though, I can't stop listening, and unfortunately for my wife, singing to it. Great stuff :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year!, 27 April 2011
By 
S. G. Jardine (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (MP3 Download)
First heard Fenech on kitsune with 'stop and stare' which is a really great tune but barely scratches the surface of what these guys are about. They have created a bridge between pop and electro which deserves greater appreciation. I cant wait to see them in sept. Sadly gig was delayed due to a band member having cancer but as I understand it hes on the road to recovery now :). Defo worth a listen, best track - Lies, Demons, Golden Sun. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tuneage!, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Fenech-Soler (Audio CD)
I'd heard a couple of the singles from this album on the radio ('Lies' and 'Stop and Stare'). Really liked them and was debating whether to purchase these singles online... Luckily and on a complete whim, went for the traditional CD album instead and have come away very, very impressed. Each and every track on here is great.

Basically, if you liked the singles, the album is an essential purchase. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fenech-Soler
Fenech-Soler by Fenech-Soler (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews