Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son, Grab this album and Take it home.
As a 16 year old fan I can't review this from the viewpoint of someone who saw P.Gs transition from Genesis to Solo but i can review it from the viewpoint of someone who has grown up with two teenage sisters listening too chart music and has sought refuge in his parents music.

I love this album. Moribund the Burgermeister could almost be a missing Lamb Lies...
Published on 6 Feb 2011 by Greg Boyd

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs - bad production
Lyrically and musically, Gabriel is on excellent form on this, his debut solo effort. Unfortunately, the album is hampered by a muddy mix, with far far too much reverb, paricularly on Gabriel's voice. Gabriel is backed by a talented, but wholly inappropriate group of AOR musicians, many of whom - along with producer Bob Ezrin - were more famously associated with...
Published on 29 Jun 2007 by John Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son, Grab this album and Take it home., 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: Peter Gabriel 1 (Audio CD)
As a 16 year old fan I can't review this from the viewpoint of someone who saw P.Gs transition from Genesis to Solo but i can review it from the viewpoint of someone who has grown up with two teenage sisters listening too chart music and has sought refuge in his parents music.

I love this album. Moribund the Burgermeister could almost be a missing Lamb Lies down on Broadway track. Solsbury Hill has become an very famous live piece along with Here Comes the Flood. Peter seems to try and cover every music genre he can in this album. He does some blue, some rock, some pop and some world music along with Jazzy instrumentals and prog lyrics. Perhaps he was just finding his feet.

Something that you get from Peter Gabriel that you don't get from other ex-genesis solo artists (apart from Steve Hackett whose music i recommend) is songs that tell a very interesting, funny or even moving story through powerful and well thought out lyrics fused with music that the artist has spent a lot of time working on. There really isn't any comparison between this music and most modern offerings. (Im thinking Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber etc)

But before I start sounding like too much of a music snob, i would like to end by saying that this album represents the beginning of one of the most exciting and creative solo careers of any artist i have ever listened to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not moribund at all, 16 Aug 2002
By 
Jean-Marc Lantz (Bettembourg , Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Gabriel Vol.1 (Audio CD)
At the time of its release many people were hoping for Gabriel to carry on the torch that Genesis and others had dropped in the face of punk, but his first album disappointed at least as many original fans as it astonished others. In retrospect, there is quite a lot of the old prog-spirit in this although that was less apaparent in 77 when it sounded modern and diverse at best or directionless at worst. Nothing needs to be said about Solsbury Hill and Here comes the Flood, two "hits" which rightfully cemented Gabriel's reinvention as a star in his own right. He keeps the experimental playfulness of old up in Moribund.... tries Rock in Modern Love and the Blues (!) in Waiting for the Big One. Excuse me is barbershop whimsy, while the best of the other tracks, Humdrum and Slowburn have a kind of old-fashioned dignity about them that wouldn't have seemed amiss on a good new Genesis album, although that was certainly not the credit Gabriel was looking for, and with his second LP he eliminated these tendencies. Still looking for the style that would propel him to superstardom with "so", Gabriel delivered a wonderfully personal record with, among others, Robert Fripp, whose own "Exposure" includes Peter on an even better version of "Flood". Get both of these records !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow-burner, 20 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Gabriel - 1st LP (Audio CD)
An album that takes a little while to get into, but gradually the songs will -one by one - filter into you consciousness and then you'll be in love with it. Beyond 'Salisbury Hill', there are othercatchy rockers like 'Modern Love', but it's the more contemplative material like 'Humdrum' and the superlative 'Here Comes The Flood' that really hits home. 'So' was bigger, 'PG3' is more accessable, but this might well be the best of the lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flying Solo, 12 Nov 2014
By 
Containing his first big hit song after leaving Genesis, PG1 also known as Car is a great album, although maybe not as strong as what was to follow.

The single Solsbury Hill is a true modern classic, yet manages to sound ancient and timeless at the same time - the work of a true genius.

Here Comes The Flood is a work of sheer beauty - but what is it actually about - Nuclear War? Individualism versus the State? Post modern alienation and loneliness in a capitalist society? Who knows, and frankly who cares - maybe that's the point - Gabriel leaves his lyrics open enough to allow each listener to put their own spin on the meaning of the songs.

A work of sheer genius, although his later albums are even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, odd and beautiful, 31 July 2008
This review is from: Peter Gabriel 1 (Audio CD)
my favorite line must be: "...and I'm hovering like a fly, waiting for the windshield on the freeway... " The album is so original, beautiful and odd that for me it's one of his best. "SO" is more commercial, but still does not dretact from its greatness, but this first one, stands apart. Nothing like anyone had ever done before. His slightly cracked, yet perfect voice along with magical, humorous lyrics makes it a jewel. You need to listen to it a lot to appreciate it. The guy is a genius! And still is. His latest, "Down to Earth" (Wall-E sound track) is wonderful, and even more so once you've seen the movie. And for trivia buffs, he did not give titles to his first albums and also did not want to show his face clearly, and this to spite his mother (for fun!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter breaking out of Genesis, 27 Oct 1999
This review is from: Peter Gabriel - 1st LP (Audio CD)
This is the first album after Genesis and its obvious. The stories are there but there is a great sense of freedom, away from the pressures of band life. This album is worth getting just for Solsbury Hill alone but there are other classics that are well worth mentioning - like here comes the flood - I saw him perform this live in the early 1980's and its what made me a PG convert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slice of genius, 28 July 2012
By 
Iain (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Gabriel 1: Car (Audio CD)
There was much anticipation around the release of this, mainly among Genesis fans but in the music press generally. The first I heard of it was "Solsbury Hill" on the radio which had us running to the record shop. As another review noted, there is a sense of release on this album, Gabriel can do whatever he wants. The creative genius was unleashed. Some of the experimental stuff is not exactly easy listening and there is a continued desire to stay away from straight 4/4 rhythms. But even if that is not your thing, the quality of some of the songs is simply stunning. That's the composition and the performance. And now years later this CD re-package delivers the lyrics and other details for the collector and to my ears excellent remastering of the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album of rock, 27 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Peter Gabriel 1 (Audio CD)
This work from PG is one of the greatest works of rock of all times.
It's a must have and a reference for all rock music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Gabriel - 1st LP (Audio CD)
Though it was a big shame that Peter left Genesis, both for personal reasons and for his personal feeling to make his own career, I think that he carried out his way and this first solo album is extremely powerful. At the age of 24, Peter has left the band with six great albums, different one from the others. I think that in this way, he did something similar as he did with the band: every work has been different and in every one you can see he has an evolution. You can reflect this in his last album OVO, which is the demostration of his big improvement. IN PG1 he is got rock style. I admire this album, because the music and because doing it with 26 years, but it sounds very mature, maybe as when he sang with 18 years old in "Trespass" and he seemed 40. I like the opening song "Moribund the Burgermeister" wich sounds energetic and original; is not a song for what you'll remember Gabriel but I'm sure that there's no artist can make a song like this. Peter's strength and rock-power continues in "Modern Love" and "Down the Dolce Vita" where Peter demostrates how his music can get in every style. "Solsbury Hill": I don't think we have to talk about this song...because is not a song, is an hymn; your heart will really go "boom, boom, boom" when you listen to it and will continue in this romantic way when you listen "Humdrum" and "Here comes the flood", which is much more stronger that the realise in "Shaking the tree" though you may like more the last one, is more authentic the first and original version. This album is better than PG2 and he has joined Robert Fripp and Tony Levin to make both jobs. PG3 is part of Peter's evolution and he gets under some techno-rock style that ne didn't experiment in PG1 and PG2. But, if I have to get one of his first three albums I will choose the first one. Thank you always, Peter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1, 15 Aug 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Gabriel 1 (Audio CD)
`Peter Gabriel' is Gabriel's first solo album after leaving Genesis and although that bands influence is still evident here, you can also hear Gabriel finding his own voice. Obviously `Solsbury Hill' is a stand out track here but it is surprising just how fresh it sounds after all this time, I truly never tire of hearing it. I also love `Here Comes the Flood' which has the most amazing poetry and although some of the lyrics seem confusing at first take, they sit together perfectly and weave a pattern of beauty every time I hear them. This is a slightly confused album and it feels less coherent than later releases but it shows how he was beginning to emerge from a band situation and find his own feet in the musical world. Some tracks are easily discounted, but others still sound rich and relevant now. Maybe don't come to this album for your first taste of what Gabriel has to offer (a best of compilation, `So' or `Us' may be a better first album) but definitely add it to your collection at some point and see where his solo work started out and track where it subsequently lead to.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Gabriel 1: Car
Peter Gabriel 1: Car by Peter Gabriel (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews