Customer Reviews


301 Reviews
5 star:
 (246)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous reminder of what the BBC does best
If you've never seen Jonathan Creek, you don't know what you're missing. Easily one of the BBC's best comedy-dramas of the last 20 years, this series combines mystery, magic, humour and some quite superb acting performances from Alan Davies, Caroline Quentin and latterly, Julia Sawalha. A number of guest stars also add to the talent on view, notably in the regular...
Published on 4 Nov 2006 by Phil Robertshaw

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, not too impressesed with the DVDs
There's no doubting the quality of Jonathan Creek the series. Written by the genius David Renwick, it's an often ingenious, always enjoyable series of who-dunnits with a clever twist.

However... this DVD set is disappointing due to the quality of the transfer. It's simply awful. For a 1990's series it looks terrible; blocky, jumpy and full of digital...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by M. Phippen


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

137 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous reminder of what the BBC does best, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you've never seen Jonathan Creek, you don't know what you're missing. Easily one of the BBC's best comedy-dramas of the last 20 years, this series combines mystery, magic, humour and some quite superb acting performances from Alan Davies, Caroline Quentin and latterly, Julia Sawalha. A number of guest stars also add to the talent on view, notably in the regular appearances of Stuart Milligan as Adam Klaus.

This box set combines the four series and the Christmas specials. Even having seen them all before, I still had to rack my brain to remember just how some of these complex storylines eventually resolved themselves (on many occasions, forgetting altogether). This series is a reminder of just how brilliantly Caroline Quentin, in particular, can adapt to any acting challenge. The chemistry between the leads is perfect and it all adds up to a hugely enjoyable series.

If there's any gripe at all, it is that the extras, while good, are few and far between. Surely an outtakes section for each series wouldn't have been too much to ask? All we really get is a brief discussion of how the series was conceived, a commentary on a single episode, the original screen tests of Davies and Quentin and a few deleted scenes. All but the latter of these appear on the first disc. So if you're looking for a lot of bonus materials here, you'll be disappointed.

That aside, this still gets the full five stars because it's a brilliant series and one that every fan must own. Magical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific series, 12 Sep 2005
This is the complete collection of unedited episodes (apparently there are some cuts to series 4 in the two individual box sets).
A really great series which offers something different from your standard detective stories. Writer David Renwick clearly has a gift of thinking "outside the box" and has come up with 26 lovely stories where his lead character has to do likewise to solve some devilish crimes.
The first two series plus the two excellent Christmas specials are the best of the bunch, things went a bit downhill towards the end. But a lovely set nonetheless.
There is a featurette on the disc which features interviews with most of the major players in the first two series. This was a little dry, which was a shame as with some more judicious editing it could have been a nice piece. Still, it's better than nothing and helps wrap up a nice set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy for Creek!!!!!!!, 3 Oct 2005
By 
Lorraine S. Middleton "Rainy0318" (Brandon, Mississippi) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am totally addicted to Jonathan Creek. The acting and writing of this program is excellent. Alan Davies is brilliant as he solves all the insoluable cases. It far eclipses other mysteries here in the States. But then, it IS British and that alone makes it a superior product to me. Please make plans to release it for our region. Even though zone free players are available, it would be nice to simply use the one I already own.
You'd be surprised to know of the popularity of this program in the US. Remember how Doctor Who took off??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Creek, 27 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek Complete Series 1 - 4 & The Christmas Specials Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This box set contains the first four series of Jonathan Creek and Christmas specials featuring Alan Davies (also best known as a panelist on QI) in this highly successful murder mystery drama series. Jonathan, magic expert and scruffy amateur sleuth extraordinaire. teams up with investigative crime writer Maddy Magellan (Caroline Quentin) in Series 1-3, and theatrical agent-turned-TV presenter Carla Borrega (Julia Sawlha) in Series 4, to solve a string of seemingly impossible cases. The characters are wonderful, and they evolve greatly over time.

All the episodes from Series 1 and 2: 'The Wrestler's Tomb', 'Jack In The Box', 'The Reconstituted Corpse', 'No Trace of Tracey' and 'The House Of Monkeys' and from Series 2 are: 'Danse Macabre', 'Time Waits For Norman', 'The Scented Room', 'The Problems At Gallows Gate' and 'Mother Redcap'.

All the episodes from Series 3 and 4: 'The Curious Tale of Mr Spearfish', 'The Eyes of Tiresias', 'The Omega Man', 'Ghost's Forge', 'Miracle in Crooked Lane', 'The Three Gamblers', 'The Coonskin Cap', 'Angel Hair', 'The Tailor's Dummy', 'The Seer of the Sands', 'The Chequered Box', 'Gorgons Wood', 'Black Canary', 'Satan's Chimney'.

Fantastic crime drama, with a great twist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Care when Ordering, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Glen Satour (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is offered so that you can purchase both the box set and the Charistmas specials - be aware that the christmas specials are included in the box set - so if you click to order both you will recieve 2 christmas specials,and waste money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC's Best Ever, 6 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. J. J. Niland (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This collection is quite simply brilliant. I've been an avid fan of the Jonathan Creek series since the first ever episode, 'The Wrestler's Tomb', was aired.
It's clever, it's funny, and just incredibly entertaining. Alan Davies plays Creek brilliantly, and both Caroline Quentin and later Julia Sawalha are both fantastic as side-kicks.
There isn't really much that I can say about the series that will will come close to doing it justice- it is THAT good. Buy it, enjoy it, and see if you can solve any before Jonathan does. Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual murder mystery series, 1 Sep 2005
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like this series; it is weird, funny and has a brilliant theme tune. One of the main reasons that I like Jonathan Creek is because it isn't always a murder that has to be solved, with the characters having to solve anything from the disappearances to thefts and premonitions this show is a breath of fresh air compared to many other mystery programs. Replacing Caroline Quentin with Julia Sawalha for the forth series is good as it introduces a bit more conflict and tension that was missing from the tail end of the third series. Another great thing about this series is the number of guest stars that are involved, especially Bill Bailey as a bumbling magician. This is a must buy for any fans of mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but wipe the DVDs clean first to prevent freezing, 30 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The reviewer who commented about the digital artifacts has a point, but the problem is very easily put right. For some reason, the DVDs in my set often have a small splash or squirt of a very light oil, something resembling clock oil, towards the outer edge. Presumably this arises somehow from the manufacturing or copying process. This splash of oil, if present, should be wiped off carefully with a lint-free cloth. Otherwise there will indeed be annoying artifacts and the DVDs may freeze in mid-episode. But if you clean the oil off the problems disappear. You may need to examine the disc carefully in light reflected from a lamp, to find the splash on a disc. The splash may be tiny, but it will still stop the DVD. Some discs may not have this problem.

The writer of this series is a genius. I would recommend the Creek series to any student doing a university course on scientific method. Creek's comments on the need to get rid of prior assumptions and keep an open mind are the very essence of the best of the scientific approach. The whole series is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, clever writing and a genius cast!, 27 April 2009
By 
C. J. Larner (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Jonathan Creek series is simply brilliant - brilliant writing, brilliant cast and brilliant storylines. I found myself watching the entire box set within a few weeks as I was hooked from beginning to end. I thought that I had seen all the episodes on TV but I had missed quite a few so not only did I get to revisit past favourites but I also discovered new thrills!

The additional disc of Christmas Specials is the icing on the cake and I cannot recommend this box set enough. It is genuinely delectable and I would recommend any fan or those new to Jonathan Creek to try this. If you are bored of the reality, celebrity fuelled TV we are currently faced with then opt for Jonathan Creek and rediscover intelligent TV.

Pure genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy christmas special as stated on frequently bought together., 19 Dec 2008
By 
The box set is great but you already know this if you have ever saw any episode of Johnathan Creek, so I would definetly recommend buying this box set. However what I wouldn't recommend doing is buying the Christmas specials, which amazon says is frequently bought with this item, as the Christmas specials are included in the box set so there is no need. A lesson I learned much to my cost, due to the fact amazon told me they are frequently bought together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews