Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for Fletcher
Seven Of One: This must be a show to go down in history, purely because it sparked Porridge and Open All Hours. Effectively a series of 7 pilots, with possibilities for further series with each episode, Ronnie plays 7 completely different characters with perfect ease.
Porridge: Clearly one of the greatest comedies of all time. Fletcher captured our hearts with Ronnie...
Published on 24 Nov 2005 by sue

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
if you like barker its all here most of his stuff sitcoms ect and cheaper than buying the sitcoms separate the porridge the full movie is not in this boxset but most of his otherstuff is there is no the two ronnies stuff in this box set
Published 7 months ago by stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ultimate Ronnie barker collection, 20 Jun 2010
By 
i absolutely enjoyed this collection he was a fantastic entertainer, i never stopped laughing its a shame they dont make programmes like this anymore xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 15 Dec 2009
By 
N. Cogdell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ronnie Barker is a comedy genius, I am loving spending time sat watching this one man wonder. ALthough I am not all the way through yet, I have been close to tears at the humour.

Brilliant harmless classic humour.

Only shame is the box would look better if it had a front cover and the DVD's inside are a bit jumbled, because not all programs were produced by the same company. But that is just me being picky.

Buy it. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 of One! Ronnie Barker must haves, 18 Aug 2009
By 
Archbold Jake "Archie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Ultimate Ronnie Barker Collection : Seven Of One / Porridge / Going Straight / Open All Hours / Clarence / The Magnificent Evans (12 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD]

It goes without saying that most people will buy this for the complete collections of Porridge and Open All Hours. They were, are and will continue to be the very best of situation comedy performed with the very best of comedy actors.

The remaining discs may be regarded as an added bonus. although they are not comparable in terms of comedy or endurability as the main fare.

May I put in a plea, however for Porridge the Movie. Much better than many sniffy critics have suggested and a must, really, to complete the Porridge saga. It is also a very reasonably priced purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must buy, 31 May 2009
By 
L. McCafferty (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
was only looking to buy open all hours boxset but saw this and thought it might be worth the extra few pounds. boy was i right the other series are amazing never heard of most of them, except porridge. utterly amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 24 Dec 2010
By 
Michael GILCHRIST (Creswick, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ronnie Barker Ultimate Collection [DVD] (DVD)
For those who haven't already acquired the individual DVD releases of Porridge and Open All Hours, Ronnie Barker's two all-time classic comedy series, this 12 DVD box budget-priced set is an ideal way of catching up. Ronnie Barker was one of Britain's all-time great comedians and anything he did is worth a look. However, The Magnificent Evans and Clarence, while having their occasional moments, are generally forgettable. The earliest series in the package, Seven Of One, is a mixed bag, with two of the seven episodes being bases for the later Porridge and Open All Hours. Overall, the big package is a mixed bag, but well worth owning if you don't have Porridge or Open All Hours. The other parts will probably not be watched more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Classic Comedy from a Genius, 1 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought this from Amazon in early August, I would firstly like to say how great the price was compared to other websites and also high street stores ( well done Amazon !) Secondly, the box set arrived in perfect condition, unmarked/ undamaged and well packaged along with my other DVD's which I ordered. This has always been the case with Amazon that they provide quality delivery and packaging, and I will certainly use them again. As for the box set, anyone who does not buy this will have been robbed of a comic genius. Porridge is 10 star pure classic comedy as is Open All Hours, before we move along to the other series in this box such as Going Straight and Clarence that are a gem to watch at such a great price. You will never tire of this series and even my wife in Taiwan loves to watch them with the subtitles of course! Well done BBC for releasing this set and well done Amazon for your brilliant customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ultimate ronnie barker, 22 Jan 2010
By 
what a great buy so many memories came back when i watched these dvds. amazon is a great place to buy could not buy as cheap in australia saved heaps. will be buying much more in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magnificient comedian, sorely missed..., 6 Jan 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Well, this is a wonderful boxset, containing - as stated:-

Seven of One - single serials which went on to spawn two of our best loved comedies - Open all Hours and Porridge itself.

Porridge - All three series' and the Christmas specials are here as well. What can be said about Porridge that hasn't already? Not much, it's simply fantastic - an iconic masterpiece, funny and touching and highlighted Richard Beckinsdale's talent, a man who died well before his time.

Going Straight - only one series of this, due to Beckinsdale's early passing - follows Fletcher's antics when he's released from Slade prison.

Open all Hours. Arkwright and David Jason are fantastically paired in this timeless comedy. Tighfisted skinflint Arkwright, and sexually undernourished Granville are dynamite in these four brilliant series'

Also included are Clarence and the Magnificent Evans. I must say, I haven't watched these, as I brought the set for Porridge and Open all Hours alone.

Simply put - this is a boxset which showcases one of Britains greatest comics, why he's so sadly missed, and launched David Jason's career. It also showcased Beckinsdale's considerable comic talent as well.

So buy this collection and revel in the memories of a great comic - and brilliant television.

Comedy has rarely been this good since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Barker, 3 Mar 2010
We haven't watched Clarence or Magnificent Evans yet but Porridge was still absolutely magnificent and Open All Hours was still gentle enjoyable humour. The Seven of One disc was very interesting as it was 7 pilot episodes for comedy series - 2 of them became Porridge and Open All Hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a Ronnie Barker fan!, 19 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a Ronnie Barker fan I don't think you will be disappointed with this boxed collection. I would class myself as an admirer, and considering the set includes all episodes of Porridge, Open All Hours and Clarence, it is extremely good value for money.

I haven't laughed so much in such a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ronnie Barker Ultimate Collection [DVD]
The Ronnie Barker Ultimate Collection [DVD] by Ronnie Barker (DVD - 2010)
21.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews